12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +7:243 Shed Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 BBK:0.1 Keto

oh, Marilyn...

that can't feel good, girl...

love to see you lower, Little lady.

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 BBK:0.1 Keto

Hmmmm......if she doesn't do anything today/tonight, I think I'd give her more insulin tomorrow.....increase by .25u. What do you think??
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 BBK:0.1 Keto

As always...thanks Celi & Binks!

Marje: Thanks for checking in. I don't know what to think. Marilyn saw "blues" on 1.50u, and also on 1.75u. Can you, or anyone, explain whether the low numbers are "actual" for a dose, or if the high "bouncy" numbers can cause kitty to then show lower numbers than they normally would on any particular dose? I guess, "what I think", would depend on the answer to this question regarding the previous "blues".

After midnight tonight EST, she starts her 3rd Day, 5th Cycle, on 2.0u. If I can't wrap my head around answers to the above...I might hold-off on a dose increase until she completes her 3rd Day, 6th Cycle. That would move a dose increase to post-midnight 12/21/11.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 Dose Questio

The highs don't cause the lows. The lows, however, cause the highs.

When Marilyn drops into lower numbers than she's used to, her liver panics. When this happens, the liver releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones all of which cause the spike in numbers (aka a bounce). The reason we discourage increasing a dose during a bounce is because it's the lower number that is the trigger -- it's real. If you increase the dose at this time, you could put your cat over what is a good dose. The high numbers are a reaction to the low.

Does that help to clarify or have I confused you even more?
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 Dose Questio

Sienne,

Thanks. Always assume that I am "confused even more". :-D

I do understand the "liver bounce". I'm questioning the lower numbers in regards to whether, or not, they could be her "real numbers" on a particular dose, once a bounce clears. If so, that puts her in blue numbers on the 1.5u, and the 1.75u. Since the 2.0u is so new, I'm thinking I should hold off. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 Dose Questio

Given that the bounce has cleared, I think you're fine to raise the dose. The blues are still high enough that you have room to increase.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 Dose Questio

Glad Sienne checked in and answered your questions. What you want to see is green nadirs....but blue is a start. So that is why I suggested an increase....to drop the overall numbers down a little more.

Good luck!! And very good questions!!!
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 +2:293 PMPS:440 Dose Questio

Alrighty ladies, thanks for all of the good input. I'll "shoot" for the 2.25u...coming up shortly. You'll know later today if I chicken-out...
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +6:302 Shed Questio

She could be in a bounce. However, I went ahead with the 0.25u increase; for a total of 2.25u. I hope I'm not sending her in the wrong direction.

Here's a crazy question: Does anyone know, when switching injection sites, if the shed has to fill at each site? In other words, does the "shed" stay-put at each location, or does it migrate uniformly, as a whole, subcutaneously? Or, is she pulling from an earlier shed site, while the latest is filling? Does that make sense...or am I losing my mind? Feel free to skip that last question...or not.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +7:243 Shed Questio

Good question, Marilyn. I'd be interested in the answer.
Hope you have a good day, today.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +7:243 Shed Questio

I would think of the "shed" more as a blood level rather than a physical location. You want to keep that level at a steady state.

.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +7:243 Shed Questio

What an interesting question. I always thought of the shed as a physical location, also. Like it is just floating under the skin, and has to migrate after the shot. I used to lightly smooth the site after a shot to help it along, until I read you're not supposed to do that. Oops.
 
Re: 12/19/2011 Marilyn AMPS:354 PMPS:440 +7:243 Shed Questio

Reading the sticky on the shed, I would assume it is a physical "thing" as well. If it isn't, perhaps the sticky needs editing because anybody reading it for the first time is going to think there's this little Lantus landmine under Kitty's skin just wait to fill up and then empty as kitty requires insulin. And if multiple locations are used for shooting, then there's lots of them all over the place.
If the shed is just a quantity of insulin that needs to exist in the bloodstream in order for the cat to get enough as needed, then it isn't all that different from any other insulin, just lasts longer than Humulin, PZI or Prozinc. OK, totally perplexed....

Sorry to intrude again.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top