12/18 Willie PMPS 418, +4~307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday’s Condo

Suspecting the stress of yesterday's car ride dumped some extra insulin into his system... hence the (relatively) great afternoon numbers yesterday but the sudden jump last night and the high pre-shot this morning. Just a reminder to anyone stopping by (and thanks for doing so!), I test willie with the AlphaTrack, so his numbers may be 30+% higher than most people's.

Willie seemed a bit hungrier this morning, but was otherwise very attentive. I'm going to keep him on his supplements for now but will monitor how they affect his numbers. Wish I had just stuck with the plan last night and upped his dose then, though I know that dosage changes with Lantus take awhile to take effect. My head keeps telling me all the stuff I've read here... it takes time to adjust, with the infection willie's body has a lot going on... it's a marathon, not a sprint... but I won't lie, it's hard to see a (likely artificial) good afternoon only to seemingly have it disintegrate. But I know it is early. And I know this is helping... his dandruff is gone, he has more energy, he's using the box consistently, AND he's gaining much needed weight. The Universe is reminding me that my patience needs work, and sweet Willie is going to help me work on it.
 
Re: 12/18 Willie AMPS 487

good morning! I don't think I have welcomed you to Lantus Land yet, so welcome!

I see that you decided to increase to 1.5 units. Will you be able to monitor closely this weekend? Usually with nadirs in the 200's we suggest increasing in increments of 0.25 units (see the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky). At this point, increasing by 0.5 units is a 50% increase and can pack quite a punch. Also, as his infection clears the numbers might drop naturally so watch for that. Most likely it will be fine, but do keep testing.
 
Re: 12/18 Willie AMPS 487

Welcome aboard - I too do not believe that I welcomed you to LL! So agreed on the patience thing - it has been the same for me. It is one thing that this FD journey for me and Mannie has taught me: patience...

I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 12/18 Willie AMPS 487

Just a small correction: The AlphaTrack runs about 30 points (not percent) higher than a human meter. In other words, if Willie has numbers less than 80 on the AlphaTrack, that warrants a dose reduction vs. below 50 on a human glucometer.

Like Libby suggested, please monitor carefully this morning and this evening. That big of an increase could cause numbers to drop more than what you expect.
 
Re: 12/18 Willie AMPS 487

Good morning... And welcome!!!

Yes, this journey can be crazy making for sure.

I'm still learning the trick of patience.

Sienne and Libby have good suggestions.....I've learned bunches from them both.

Hope you and Willie have a great day.
 
Re: 12/18 Willie AMPS 487, +3~489, +5~425

Thanks, all! Sorry if I was confusing on the Alphatrak comment... I had meant to say what you said! Not a morning person, so being up at 7:45 on a saturday for pokes, feeds and sticks is still an adjustment! LOL I'm still thinking yesterday's nadir was atypical, but will watch him closely. I think his infection is 80+% healed, so hopefully we won't get too much of a drop off from that. It has had me nervous too, but the vet said it wouldn't have any meaningful effect. One more thing from them that I'm not sure what to do with....

I've been keeping an eye on him this morning, and his +3 was a 489. Going to step out for an hour and a half or so, but will be around later today and this evening. The vet had recommended the 0.5 increase based on his numbers up to yesterday morning. Plan to do a curve tomorrow.

Thanks all for the warm welcome and for the advice. It is appreciated!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top