12/18 Webster AMPS=469+2=407+4=348

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Webster's seemed to stay in the 300's for most of the day yesterday. His ketone readings were 2.7 in the morning and 2.0 in the evening.

I moved his shot back 1 hour last night so had to shoot 1 hour early this morning. Unfortunately, my alarm clock volume was somehow turned down so low that I couldn't hear it.

Luckily, I woke up on my own at exactly 7am, rushed into the kitchen, fed him, filled the syringe and shot all within a couple mins. That was a close one!

I'm about to check with the vet see about getting Webster some Subq Fluids. Yesterday Jill commented that I should ask for the Lactated Ringers Solution. Is this what everyone else is using?

Update: Just spoke with receptionist at vet. The vet that I most recently met with (who seemed to a bit dated with his advice) has left town for the holiday. :smile: I'm now back to dealing with the first vet who has a diabetic cat and seems to be more knowledgeable when it comes to FD. What a relief.

Right now the doc is in surgery. I'm headed up there in 5 hours to pick up my supplies and to speak with him. I'm still really nervous about giving the fluids but its going to happen... today :-|
 
Re: 12/18 Webster AMPS=469

Yes, get the LRS. Don't get Normosol or they try to sell you that. It can and did really sting Tiffany and may be why it took so long for her to accept fluids. If done IV Normosol isn't bad and for some cats it might be okay but I know too many that had the same problem and even vomited. None of that happens with the ringers.
 
Re: 12/18 Webster AMPS=469

tiffmaxee said:
Yes, get the LRS. Don't get Normosol or they try to sell you that. It can and did really sting Tiffany and may be why it took so long for her to accept fluids. If done IV Normosol isn't bad and for some cats it might be okay but I know too many that had the same problem and even vomited. None of that happens with the ringers.

Thank you. Ringer it is! :smile:
 
Re: 12/18 Webster AMPS=469

It looks like Webster wants to hang out in the 300's once again today. I really want to get these numbers down soon. I'm thinking that he's ready for the 1.25u dose this evening. Any thoughts?

Also, looking at his SS in recent days, I've noticed that he has a pretty nice Lantus curve going on with limited drop offs. While his numbers are still high and unacceptable, does this nice curve somehow indicate that we are making progress? Just a thought that crossed my mind.
 
Hi there :cool:
Websterthecat said:
I'm thinking that he's ready for the 1.25u dose this evening. Any thoughts?
Yes on the increase, as long as high numbers and ketones persist and provided you can closely monitor. As always, see what others think as well.
You know from the additional overnight testing you did on 12/16 that at this dose he is seeing green but not bottoming out - important information. However the persistence of ketones requires an aggressive approach. No worries - experienced folks here will guide you and help you safely navigate.
Make sure your supplies are well stocked - test strips, plenty of HC food, karo.
Time to roll up your sleeves, take off the gloves and 'take no prisoners'. \M/
You can do this.

There is a saying here, maybe the most important one of all - Know Thy Cat.
Since the ketones have thrown you into 'intensive care' mode right out of the gate, you've not had much chance. Instead you've been been thrown into a cyclone of sleep depriving activity, scrambling to do and learn things above and beyond the 'basics' without the comfort knowing thy cat can provide. Those are some tough circumstances and require a certain leap of faith-trusting strangers on the internet with the well-being of your kitty.

You are doing great. Hang in there - it won't always be this intense. :cool:


eta- 'as long as high numbers and ketones persist and provided you can closely monitor. As always, see what others think as well.' to "Yes on the increase"
 
Thanks for the ss info about shooting early last night. What you did works just fine and is right there for anyone to see. Good job on that.

I agree on the increase tonight. Look again at the ss ketone test results for today. There is an @ symbol instead of a time, but i'm thinking that might mean +2. Just flagging it for you.
 
i'm glad sandy and julie were able to weigh in on dose. i've been slammed with work all day and won't be done for several hours.

i agree with sandy and julie about increasing the dose to 1.25 unit bid with the usual caveats... "'as long as high numbers and ketones persist and provided you can closely monitor" and "you are well stocked - test strips, plenty of HC food, karo".

question: webster's ss says "Going to admin sub-q fluids today."
how much (how many mLs) was given and at what +hour was this done... if it was done?

some cat's BG numbers will drop considerably after receiving fluids. fluids did not affect alex that way, but ECID. i doubt i can get back here before your shot time tonight, but the answer will help those offering dosing suggestions... especially if his numbers continue to drop into pm shot time.
 
Hey guys. I had last minute company showed up so I just wanted to pop in and give a quick update.

I read over all responses (Jill, Julie, & Sandy) and appreciate your input. I wanted to respond to everyone individually but have company now and I'm all tied up.

Vet gave me ringer, line set, and needles. I need to give Webster fluids but am still hesitant and now having company over doesn't help the situation. nailbite_smile

Vet told me that he looked into the TRP and still wasn't a fan. He printed off a 15 page journal published on Nov 7, 2013 from the Veterinary Information Network (will have to see if I can find a link online so that I can share) about the Roomp study and gave it to me.

In a nutshell, he said that this paper ripped the TRP to shreds and dismissed it as a proper treatment option. I am very interested in what it has to say. I thanked him for sharing it and told him that I will read over it. I really can't wait to read it and see what type of propaganda they are publishing or maybe I will learn something. :?: I doubt it's going to change my opinion about the TRP but I always like to keep an open mind and am willing to at least consider a different point of view.

BTW, Webster is up to 1.25U. Thanks for the dosing help everyone.
 
I hope you can relax and enjoy your company for a bit. Do you need to give the fluids tonight, or can you wait until tomorrow? Either way, I know you're going to do fine with it. Remember the first time you gave Webster an insulin shot? I'm sure that was nerve wracking too. Fluids are the same way. One you do it once or twice, you'll be old hat! The good thing about fluids, is that there are no fur shots to worry about. If you don't get the needle in, you'll know, because water will go everywhere. You'll do great!
 
Hi Mike

It would be interesting to see the article and if they based their opinions on science and scientific research.

On the fluids, I'm proud of you for giving it a go at home. I would think that would take some of the stress out of it for Webster. ALso, I would imagine it can get costly depending on the vet. I am helping an elderly woman give fluids to her CKD cat. She was taking him to our vet twice a week and it was getting pricey. Plus, they used 18g needles because they flow so much faster but they are like harpoons.

I used Gus in the video so people would feel calmed. But also, he was the fourth of our cats that I had given fluids to it and definitely is a learning curve. It's interesting that the cat of the lady I am helping will not sit still for her or the vet techs. But he will fo rme. I think the vet techs are in a hurry and they use large needles. His mama is too nervous and he picks up on it. But I talk to him and tell him what I'm going to do and also that I am in charge...not him. So he has to sit still, to make him feel better, and I'll let him know when it's ok to leave. He always stays :lol: :lol:

Even still, some cats are very difficult at first but, as Jill said, I think with time, they understand it's a bonding experience with their hooman. I would definitely go with a 21g needle; 18g is fast but they are like harpoons. The important thing is to stay calm; be prepared; talk to him and let him know YOU are making the decisions about this and he just needs to comply.

It's very smart to have two people do it the first thime. Dont panic. If you can't get the needle in, breath, give it another try but if it doesnt' work, don't keep poking him....everyone should take a rest and try again later. Stay calm and convince him you are the alpha cat!
 
Marycatmom said:
I hope you can relax and enjoy your company for a bit. Do you need to give the fluids tonight, or can you wait until tomorrow? Either way, I know you're going to do fine with it. Remember the first time you gave Webster an insulin shot? I'm sure that was nerve wracking too. Fluids are the same way. One you do it once or twice, you'll be old hat! The good thing about fluids, is that there are no fur shots to worry about. If you don't get the needle in, you'll know, because water will go everywhere. You'll do great!

Thanks Mary.

I just can't seem to get myself together to do this.

I've been watching his ketone levels and they have come down a little but are still borderline.

I decided to keep the fluids handy just in case thing go south really fast and the vet is not open. When picking up the fluids I asked about the cost if the vet were to do this and he said about $30 each session. To me, this may be money well spent.

Given that his ketones have been reading around 2.0 and not 3.5 as first measured and we just increased his Lantus dose, I'm hoping that the Lantus will drive his BG's down and the ketones will ultimately flush out on their own using the watered down food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top