Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. This is my first post on the Lantus TR board, but I think I'm going to need some help with Papaya in the coming days so I wanted to start posting here consistently BEFORE things get complicated!
As the spreadsheet shows, the vet started her at one unit and we kept increasing - too quickly, I believe now - to 3, and then working back down again. (Now I know to change more gradually!) I was recently starting to get good numbers at 1.5 units of Lantus, but her BG really tends to nose-dive. And she does NOT like low numbers - even if she technically hasn't been dangerously low, the fast drop seems to set her up for huge bounces. So I tried reducing the dose to 1.25, but it seemed quickly apparent that was just not going to be enough. She woke me up at 3:00 AM two days in a row, very insistent about being fed, and both times her BG was over 540. Yikes.
So I've gone back to 1.5, and happily she does come down quite quickly from the high numbers. My concern is that she is going to drop too quickly and start bouncing. I want to try to control things with food at appropriate times, possibly with varying levels of carbs, until things level out. I have the feeling that's going to need a lot of experimenting to get right, so any tips from those who have had to really play around with food to steer things will be welcome.
Maybe she's so much trouble because she's an "import" lol - she started life on the streets in Taiwan!
I look forward to getting to know everyone here better and benefiting from your experience.
As the spreadsheet shows, the vet started her at one unit and we kept increasing - too quickly, I believe now - to 3, and then working back down again. (Now I know to change more gradually!) I was recently starting to get good numbers at 1.5 units of Lantus, but her BG really tends to nose-dive. And she does NOT like low numbers - even if she technically hasn't been dangerously low, the fast drop seems to set her up for huge bounces. So I tried reducing the dose to 1.25, but it seemed quickly apparent that was just not going to be enough. She woke me up at 3:00 AM two days in a row, very insistent about being fed, and both times her BG was over 540. Yikes.
So I've gone back to 1.5, and happily she does come down quite quickly from the high numbers. My concern is that she is going to drop too quickly and start bouncing. I want to try to control things with food at appropriate times, possibly with varying levels of carbs, until things level out. I have the feeling that's going to need a lot of experimenting to get right, so any tips from those who have had to really play around with food to steer things will be welcome.
Maybe she's so much trouble because she's an "import" lol - she started life on the streets in Taiwan!
I look forward to getting to know everyone here better and benefiting from your experience.