12/18 Fistuk AMPS 92, +3 104, +7 77 PMPS 101, +2.25 97, +4 67

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...01-6-75-90-pmps-92-3-122.284638/#post-3133476

Good morning :)

Last night Fistuk had a rather high +3 bump to 122. But nadir was green.

Before supper last night he had a bit of vomit. I suspected the CBD but after he vomited this morning again before breakfast I thought it actually might be from the kefir. Last night it was very little and had a bit of food but this morning it was just transparent liquid.

So far, each time I introduced a new PB he had some vomit at the beginning. I'll stop the kefir for a little because I don't want to introduce two new things at the same time. It'll make it difficult to know what causes what. I'll start with CBD to ease the neuropathy pain before I continue with something else.


Wishing you all a great Monday :bighug:
 
Good morning, Shelly, that’s a great plan. Very logical. You can always add it again once you see how he handles the CBD.
Wishing you a very stable day today for you and Fistuk :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Shelly, that’s a great plan. Very logical. You can always add it again once you see how he handles the CBD.
Wishing you a very stable day today for you and Fistuk :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci :)
Yes, I'll introduce the PB in a few day. So far it looks like CBD is helping him
I hope you're having a good start for your week:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
UPDATE

Looks like CBD is helping ease the pain. He's eaten really well today. Still mostly in bed but doesn't look like he's in agony from pain.

The poor little one, I took him to the box to pee and he couldn't get his legs to support him, he kept sliding :( I had to hold him so he doesn't slip. The positive aspect of that was that it was easier to collect some urine for a test.

NO KETONES! On the man forum, to my question about dealing with neuropathy, one answer was it could be ketones. These damn ketones. They are my worst nightmare!! But I tested and there are none.
 
UPDATE

Looks like CBD is helping ease the pain. He's eaten really well today. Still mostly in bed but doesn't look like he's in agony from pain.

The poor little one, I took him to the box to pee and he couldn't get his legs to support him, he kept sliding :( I had to hold him so he doesn't slip. The positive aspect of that was that it was easier to collect some urine for a test.

NO KETONES! On the man forum, to my question about dealing with neuropathy, one answer was it could be ketones. These damn ketones. They are my worst nightmare!! But I tested and there are none.
Whew. So glad no ketones!! Good job testing. Glad he’s eating well and seems in less pain.
You’re doing the best job, Shelly.

I’m hoping Fustuk starts to feel better. Hugs to both of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk

We're sending well wishes and hope he will feel better soon and no more pukey.

Hopefully vitB12 and CBD help with his neuropathy.
Nestle's was really bad the first time around to the point where he stopped jumping and then eventually could only walk 2-3 steps.

With daily Vit B12 and once he became regulated he gained his strength back and today he runs and jumps again.

You're doing a wonderful job caring for Fistuk. He's lucky to have a mama like you.

upload_2023-12-18_10-34-44.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-18_10-34-44.png
    upload_2023-12-18_10-34-44.png
    65.3 KB · Views: 290
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk

We're sending well wishes and hope he will feel better soon and no more pukey.

Hopefully vitB12 and CBD help with his neuropathy.
Nestle's was really bad the first time around to the point where he stopped jumping and then eventually could only walk 2-3 steps.

With daily Vit B12 and once he became regulated he gained his strength back and today he runs and jumps again.

You're doing a wonderful job caring for Fistuk. He's lucky to have a mama like you.

View attachment 68381
Thanks, Karolina.
It helps to hear of others' experience. It can be so scary.
How much B12 did you give?

Fistuk doesn't jump up anymore, since FD. I wonder what caused the retreat since he was so much better.

CBD seems to help ease the pain. He walked a bit more today but he's still very weak. At least not suffering from pain :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Karolina.
It helps to hear of others' experience. It can be so scary.
How much B12 did you give?

Fistuk doesn't jump up anymore, since FD. I wonder what caused the retreat since he was so much better.

CBD seems to help ease the pain. He walked a bit more today but he's still very weak. At least not suffering from pain :bighug::bighug::bighug:

This is the one I use. There's 5000mcg and I give it to him with his breakfast

upload_2023-12-18_16-39-24.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-18_16-39-24.png
    upload_2023-12-18_16-39-24.png
    366.4 KB · Views: 283
Thanks, Staci :)
How do you see the effect on Ivy?
I love it that your vet suggests non-allopathic solutions.
At the moment he gets B12 methyl and B complex. I'll get Cosequin for his arthritis. I'll have a look at something for immune system :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Staci :)
How do you see the effect on Ivy?
I love it that your vet suggests non-allopathic solutions.
At the moment he gets B12 methyl and B complex. I'll get Cosequin for his arthritis. I'll have a look at something for immune system :bighug::bighug:
I am not sure if I see any effects on Ivy but she felt it was good to support her system as a whole. I thought that was reasonable. Figured I’d suggest it to you since we both have so many variables going on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok thanks. I’ve been using Zobaline which has the folate. But hasn’t helped yet. :(
I think her numbers have to improve for it to help from what I understand.

Yes once they're regulated they usually improve.
Don't get discouraged. It was a long journey for Nestle and me. If you had seen videos of him from before and now you wouldn't believe it's the same cat.
He really started to improve once he became tightly regulated.
When he was really bad I'd give him 10000 mcg/day.
After he improved I cut it down to 5000/day.

Please let me know if you have any questions (feel free to privately message)
 
Ok thanks. I’ve been using Zobaline which has the folate. But hasn’t helped yet. :(
I think her numbers have to improve for it to help from what I understand.
I agree once Ivy's numbers improve you should see a difference
It definitely helled Tyler and he was back to normal
I also use this
I've been using this for Tyler for about 2 years now only because I saw that when he was was laying down and went to get up it looked like to me he had some stiffness and it definitely helped . Never ever raised his BG and as you know he's been in remission since 1-24-21 and it definitely helped him. You can get it at any local pet store ,

I just sprinkle the capsule on his wet food, add some water and mix it up, he never tastes it in his food. Just follow the directions :cat:




Cosequin-for-Cats-Sprinkle-Capsules-60ct-Carton-Professional-Line_32f817de-13be-4ed1-bf13-1da9690d749f_540x.png


What does Boswellia do for cats?
Boswellia for dogs and cats plays an important role in maintaining healthy joint function, which can impact a pet's everyday life. Boswellia has been used forthousands of years and has over 400 independent clinical studies supporting its use.

I also used the Vitacost brand
The Zobaline got too expensive
It's a capsule just open it and sprinkle it on the wet food food
Vitacost. 14.49 for 100 capsules
If you want to add the folic acid like the Zobaline has in it which is 200 MCG , just go buy the folic acid in the supermarket 400 MCG and cut it in half ,crush it up and just add it to the vitacost brand.
I never did though

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Tyler had neuropathy , I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
 
Last edited:
I am not sure if I see any effects on Ivy but she felt it was good to support her system as a whole. I thought that was reasonable. Figured I’d suggest it to you since we both have so many variables going on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
yes, thank you for suggesting! It's a good idea. i looked it up last night, when Fistuk kept me awake and I couldn't sleep :woot: I found something interesting but I need to contact them to ask about added sugar. They tend to not really disclose what's in the tin on this side of the globe... :p
 
I use the methyl for neuropathy too but it hasn’t helped :(
How many grams did you give? It could be that you could try giving more.

Yes once they're regulated they usually improve.
Don't get discouraged. It was a long journey for Nestle and me. If you had seen videos of him from before and now you wouldn't believe it's the same cat.
He really started to improve once he became tightly regulated.
When he was really bad I'd give him 10000 mcg/day.
After he improved I cut it down to 5000/day.

Please let me know if you have any questions (feel free to privately message)
I was told that too. And Fistuk indeed became better when he got regulated with good numbers. Which is why I don't understand the sudden relapse and was trying to gather information to figure out the cause for the sudden deterioration.

I will increase his dose today to 10MG

I know that for humans vitamin B doesn't absorb if there's a C vitamin deficiency. I'll start adding this too and see if he improves
 
Yes once they're regulated they usually improve.
Don't get discouraged. It was a long journey for Nestle and me. If you had seen videos of him from before and now you wouldn't believe it's the same cat.
He really started to improve once he became tightly regulated.
When he was really bad I'd give him 10000 mcg/day.
After he improved I cut it down to 5000/day.

Please let me know if you have any questions (feel free to privately message)
Thank you, Karolina as always. That gives me hope …if we can get her more regulated!! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
yes, thank you for suggesting! It's a good idea. i looked it up last night, when Fistuk kept me awake and I couldn't sleep :woot: I found something interesting but I need to contact them to ask about added sugar. They tend to not really disclose what's in the tin on this side of the globe... :p
Wow, and here I thought there was actually more transparency over there. Shows you what I know :(
I’m glad you found something similar though. At least it’s a starting point …..:bighug:
 
How many grams did you give? It could be that you could try giving more.


I was told that too. And Fistuk indeed became better when he got regulated with good numbers. Which is why I don't understand the sudden relapse and was trying to gather information to figure out the cause for the sudden deterioration.

I will increase his dose today to 10MG

I know that for humans vitamin B doesn't absorb if there's a C vitamin deficiency. I'll start adding this too and see if he improves
I actually give it 2x daily even though the bottle suggests 1x. When I spoke with the company to order, he told me I could give 2x to see if it may help (it hasn’t but I give it anyway.)
 
I agree once Ivy's numbers improve you should see a difference
It definitely helled Tyler and he was back to normal
I also use this
I've been using this for Tyler for about 2 years now only because I saw that when he was was laying down and went to get up it looked like to me he had some stiffness and it definitely helped . Never ever raised his BG and as you know he's been in remission since 1-24-21 and it definitely helped him. You can get it at any local pet store ,

I just sprinkle the capsule on his wet food, add some water and mix it up, he never tastes it in his food. Just follow the directions :cat:




Cosequin-for-Cats-Sprinkle-Capsules-60ct-Carton-Professional-Line_32f817de-13be-4ed1-bf13-1da9690d749f_540x.png


What does Boswellia do for cats?
Boswellia for dogs and cats plays an important role in maintaining healthy joint function, which can impact a pet's everyday life. Boswellia has been used forthousands of years and has over 400 independent clinical studies supporting its use.

I also used the Vitacost brand
The Zobaline got too expensive
It's a capsule just open it and sprinkle it on the wet food food
Vitacost. 14.49 for 100 capsules
If you want to add the folic acid like the Zobaline has in it which is 200 MCG , just go buy the folic acid in the supermarket 400 MCG and cut it in half ,crush it up and just add it to the vitacost brand.
I never did though

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Tyler had neuropathy , I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
Thanks Diane, so helpful!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk

We're sending well wishes and hope he will feel better soon and no more pukey.

Hopefully vitB12 and CBD help with his neuropathy.
Nestle's was really bad the first time around to the point where he stopped jumping and then eventually could only walk 2-3 steps.

With daily Vit B12 and once he became regulated he gained his strength back and today he runs and jumps again.

You're doing a wonderful job caring for Fistuk. He's lucky to have a mama like you.

View attachment 68381
my Bailey has bad neuropathy. On all four paws. How long did it take your baby to get regulated?
 
UPDATE

Looks like CBD is helping ease the pain. He's eaten really well today. Still mostly in bed but doesn't look like he's in agony from pain.

The poor little one, I took him to the box to pee and he couldn't get his legs to support him, he kept sliding :( I had to hold him so he doesn't slip. The positive aspect of that was that it was easier to collect some urine for a test.

NO KETONES! On the man forum, to my question about dealing with neuropathy, one answer was it could be ketones. These damn ketones. They are my worst nightmare!! But I tested and there are none.
I’m dealing with the exact same thing
 
Hi Diane :)
Yes, I'm pretty sure now after two days that it helps to ease the pain. Still a bit slippery back legs and weak but he doesn't look in so much pain and that's a huge relief :bighug::bighug:
My Bailie has bad neuropathy what do you give your boy for it ? I’m so sad
 
my Bailey has bad neuropathy. On all four paws. How long did it take your baby to get regulated?

I'm sorry your sweet baby is dealing with neuropathy. Nestle's was very bad but luckily only for few months. If you look at my SS from 2022 (he was diagnosed in Dec 2021, but I joined here in feb) you will notice he had bad numbers in Feb. That's when his neuropathy started to get worse and worse and then towards the ends of April he got regulated and slowly got better. By June 26th he was in remission. He was also getting B12 every day either one of his meals.
As bad as he was he recovered and there is hope.
I wish you and Bailie best of luck :cat::bighug:
 
I'm sorry your sweet baby is dealing with neuropathy. Nestle's was very bad but luckily only for few months. If you look at my SS from 2022 (he was diagnosed in Dec 2021, but I joined here in feb) you will notice he had bad numbers in Feb. That's when his neuropathy started to get worse and worse and then towards the ends of April he got regulated and slowly got better. By June 26th he was in remission. He was also getting B12 every day either one of his meals.
As bad as he was he recovered and there is hope.
I wish you and Bailie best of luck :cat::bighug:
I’m so happy for your baby that’s amazing I sure hope it’s the same for Bailie , It’s so hard to look at him try to walk it makes me so sad . I’ve been giving him Zobaline I’m giving 2 pills going on 2 weeks now . I doubled up . I just want him to be regulated.
 
I’m so happy for your baby that’s amazing I sure hope it’s the same for Bailie , It’s so hard to look at him try to walk it makes me so sad . I’ve been giving him Zobaline I’m giving 2 pills going on 2 weeks now . I doubled up . I just want him to be regulated.

I totally understand. It was so painful for me to watch Nestle struggle while trying to walk. I have some videos of him when he was at his worst. If you'd like to see for comparison reason please let me know and I can privately send them to you. I can show you then and now so you can see the difference. But he was falling a lot and his paws were going u der him. Today he runs and jumps, it's unbelievable. It takes lots of patience and time but I trust you will also get there with Bailie.
 
I totally understand. It was so painful for me to watch Nestle struggle while trying to walk. I have some videos of him when he was at his worst. If you'd like to see for comparison reason please let me know and I can privately send them to you. I can show you then and now so you can see the difference. But he was falling a lot and his paws were going u der him. Today he runs and jumps, it's unbelievable. It takes lots of patience and time but I trust you will also get there with Bailie.
Oh I would love to see and compare that would be great.
 
Back
Top