12/18 Elsie; AMPS: 81; +1: 97; +2: 79; +3: 72; +4.5: 71; +5.5: 93; +6: 122; +7: 137; +10: 111

Kat & Elsie

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...23-limited-monitoring-for-next-3-days.284131/

Our first GREEN AMPS! :D I'm excited but also nervous. I will be watching Elsie like a hawk today, and making sure she gets her snacks on time.

I increased her dose earlier this month (to 2.25U), and have been holding steady until the numbers become less dynamic. She had a little bouncing, but nothing major, and seems to be easing into the green zone. We may have found her good dose, for now.

Her neuropathy has improved a lot as well. I started giving her liquid methylcobalamin with her breakfast & dinner. Her left side seems almost back to normal, she has been jumping up on the bed like her old self again. Her right side seems to still have a bit of the plantigrade/flat stance, however, that was also the side she had injured right before official diagnosis (it was a really nasty abscess that resulted in quite a wound). It's healed perfectly since then, but I wonder if the tissue there is still a bit weak, considering the trauma. I'm sure she'll get better with time.

Thanks for reading my update, and thanks for helping me help my cat. :cat:
 
Hi Kat, congratulations, Elsie looks awesome!! Great job getting her to such good numbers. :bighug::cat::bighug:
Thank you! Some of my extended family members seem surprised that I'm devoting so much time, energy, and money to "just a cat." But I don't know that they'd *actually* do things differently if they were in the same situation, at least I hope they'd try. By the data, she seems like a good candidate for remission, so that is our ultimate goal (even though I know it is not guaranteed). I'm trying my best!
 
Thank you! Some of my extended family members seem surprised that I'm devoting so much time, energy, and money to "just a cat." But I don't know that they'd *actually* do things differently if they were in the same situation, at least I hope they'd try. By the data, she seems like a good candidate for remission, so that is our ultimate goal (even though I know it is not guaranteed). I'm trying my best!
Yea well I’m in your camp. I don’t know any other way to care for an animal. I’m all in when I decide to adopt. For life.
This is not my first rodeo with a sick pet, so I just do whatever is necessary. I love them as I love a child, so that’s that.
I think you will find like minded people here to support you.
Keep doing what you’re doing. It’s working!! :)
 
Back
Top