12/18 Cobb AMPS 433 +2 441 +5 409 +6 349 +8 345 PMPS 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Last night recap:
PMPS: 417
+2: 442
+7.5: 317

Cobb didn't eat much yesterday, but that seems to have changed overnight. He gobbled down all his food plus some boiled chicken.

If we don't see better numbers today, looks like a dose crease is in our future.

I still don't understand why 4units was enough to shock his system into the 200s and then bounce, but 5units hasn't brought it down that far. There has to be some reasoning behind that, other than FD is unpredictable and the cat is in charge of what goes on.

Anyway...hope everyone has a good Wednesday, Matty and I will be vegging on the sofa trying to shake this cough and cold we have. A sick 6month old who has to be held upright to sleep because he is so congested is NOT fun!!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 12/18 Cobb AMPS 433 +2 441 +5 409

Ok, I am SO confused. And I don't know if anyone knows the answer to the question - or if I'm even phrasing the question correctly.

I get that we apparently aren't at the right dose for Cobb. But it really doesn't make any sense why the 4units on 12/8 was enough to bring Cobb's BG into the 200s and then he bounced out of that and we haven't seen those numbers since (unless I slept through a drop).

Am I not testing at the right time intervals? I know the more frequent the better. And I'm sure more overnight would be better, although I'm doing the best I can on that right now.

I understand the meter variance and see that he's mainly flat on the past 2 doses.

Is it just going to take getting to the right dose and it will just click? But if he drops too quick he'll bounce...and after the last bounce we saw no improvement whatsoever. I'd think the increased dose would be enough to keep it in the 300s, even if it is flat and not dipping.

Like I said, I'm really confused. And perturbed. I know you've all been there. Just needed to vent because I feel like I'm putting a ton of work into this and not seeing any change.
 
My apologies for the earlier rant. I was frustrated and didn't feel well! :roll:

I went ahead and upped Cobb's dose to 5.5units. The 5 didn't look like it was doing anything different, although I worry I may have slept through a drop the night he spiked over 500 a few nights back. But it didn't come down after that so we continue our climb. Hopefully Cobb is catching on that he needs to start healing himself!

Baby Bean is feeling better and actually sleeping in his own room right now...shhhh. Now if I could shake the cold and congestion I'd be a happy mama!!

~Suzanne
 
hi suzanne,

no worries about ranting. we all get it and have felt the same way!!! this can be a very frustrating illness to manage and you're doing everything right. so don't think that any of this is something you can control. you get more tests in than most people - and hey, a person's gotta sleep! especially with a baby in the house.

i have no answer why we saw a 200's on 4u but no action since then. given that Cobb came here on 10u, it's not going to be surprising if he ends up being a high dose kitty. usually when cats get to about 6u we suggest having them tested to figure out what we're dealing with. it was a reasonable choice to reduce his dose and increase by smaller increments so that we could rule out him being overdosed by poor dosing increases. and he may still need less than 10u when we start seeing action.

I doubt you're missing anything. he would stay longer than an hour in better numbers if the dose was working. don't sweat about it. just keep going up after 4 doses and at some point, he will start responding.

:YMHUG: i think you're doing all you can do. don't doubt yourself. no one could magically make this work better in him. you're doing a super job!
 
Hi Suzanne,
I hear your anxiety about Cobb's numbers, but I don't know what advice to give except possibly to hold each dose longer (at least for the 6 recommended cycles) to allow it to "settle". I understand that you are fast-tracking because of those high numbers. But sometimes these things can't be rushed. What did the very experienced people here recommend that you do?
Hang in there. Don't despair. Cobb will get lower. Keep in mind that you have been following the TR protocol for less than a month. With a kitty like Cobb, who was improperly dosed by his vet, fed the wrong diet, switched to a new insulin, etc. etc., it may take a while to get on track.

Sending healing vines to your baby and to you. I hope you will feel better soon,

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty

p.s. My post crossed with Julie's. I must have missed where you were encouraged to raise Cobb's dose after only 4 cycles. Sorry!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top