12/18 Boomer AMPS 94 +13 175, Dr Larry says "no more insulin"

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 94
I keep forgetting that Boomer didn't read the rule book! After a 1/2 shot yesterday morning and a N/S the night before, he had no business dropping like he did last night! But because of that drop, and that he will be spending the day with Dr Larry for IV fluids, I'm going to skip this morning's shot.

He did eat some of the food I left him when I finally called it a night last night. And he did eat some of his breakfast, surprisingly. He does seem to like the purrfect bistro kitten food so I will pick some more of that (and perhaps another kitten food) up today.

It's going to be a long day today; I hate when one of my babies is away. And I can't even go anywhere to distract myself because the weather is supposed to be crappy and we're under a snow squall warning. Guess I'll try to keep busy around home or maybe catch a nap.
 
I don't blame you for skipping this morning after last night. I hope the day with Dr. Larry gives him some insight into what is going on with Boomer. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope Dr Larry gets to the bottom of it.
Well, the only thing that will happen today is IV fluids. Hopefully Boomer is feeling better after them but time will tell. I've told DH that unless there's a drastic improvement after the fluids, I think we should go ahead and book the ultrasound. Of course he's fighting me on it because of the $500 price tag. I told him we could easily spend $500 on cerenia, mirtz, etc and not be any further ahead in finding out what's wrong and fixing it.
 
Judy, have you and Boomer on my heart this morning :bighug: Sending a truck load of vines and prayers your way , that Dr Larry can discern and treat what's going on with sweet Boomer :bighug:❤️ And PS, Elmo absolutely does not believe in any rule book either... he's his own man so we follow his lead :cat:
 
+2 99
And I offered him a bit of kitten food and he dove in; I got him more and he was well into that too. Ran out of kitten food so I tried turkey pate; he was less enthusiastic about that but did hunt around his plate for the remaining kitten food.
We'll be leaving for Dr Larry's in 10-15 minutes.
 
Judy, have you and Boomer on my heart this morning :bighug: Sending a truck load of vines and prayers your way , that Dr Larry can discern and treat what's going on with sweet Boomer :bighug:❤️ And PS, Elmo absolutely does not believe in any rule book either... he's his own man so we follow his lead :cat:
Thank you!
 
Oh goodness. I completely understand being weary of that price tag, but I agree with you in thinking there comes a point where the status quo isn't good enough and/or getting you anywhere. Knowledge is power. We've been wrestling with that ourselves. Our civvie Bella has been losing a shocking amount of weight and we don't know why. We've done testing and liver supplements for short term issues, but regardless, I think she needs a dental. Unfortunately we can't really afford one right now, but I'm starting to lean towards getting one anyway and figuring out the cost later. Sometimes that next step is needed. I'm sending lots of vetty vines for Boomer. I hope the IV fluids help!!
 
Oh goodness. I completely understand being weary of that price tag, but I agree with you in thinking there comes a point where the status quo isn't good enough and/or getting you anywhere. Knowledge is power. We've been wrestling with that ourselves. Our civvie Bella has been losing a shocking amount of weight and we don't know why. We've done testing and liver supplements for short term issues, but regardless, I think she needs a dental. Unfortunately we can't really afford one right now, but I'm starting to lean towards getting one anyway and figuring out the cost later. Sometimes that next step is needed. I'm sending lots of vetty vines for Boomer. I hope the IV fluids help!!
Thank you!
 
Sooooo.......
Dr Larry says "no more insulin". :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
I've been trying to reduce him gradually, generally following the protocol although usually reducing after 2 numbers 50 and under instead of 3 numbers 50 and under.
He was 99 at +2 (food bump) and I'm sure after a day at the vet he's going to be blue.
And I really don't know what to do. I know that Amy @Amy&TrixieCat successfully stopped Trixie's shots after she went into low numbers due to p'titis. Amy, do you remember how much insulin you were giving Trixie immediately prior to stopping?
And I guess if he's in blue numbers when I test tonight and if I don't shoot, it would be a good test to see if he can bring the numbers down on his own? Again, idk.
 
Oh my goodness! I'm sure this is stressful for you Judy! I hope you can stay occupied today and that no more insulin will help Boomer and YOU feel better when he doesn't eat. Kitten food, huh? Interesting what he's going for - but in this case - whatever he'll eat, is a good thing.

I sure hope you have a day that passes by quickly and that Boomer is back in your loving arms soon...it's already after noon here...so it won't be much longer now. Try to rest.

Sending you a big supportive HUG!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh my goodness! I'm sure this is stressful for you Judy! I hope you can stay occupied today and that no more insulin will help Boomer and YOU feel better when he doesn't eat. Kitten food, huh? Interesting what he's going for - but in this case - whatever he'll eat, is a good thing.

I sure hope you have a day that passes by quickly and that Boomer is back in your loving arms soon...it's already after noon here...so it won't be much longer now. Try to rest.

Sending you a big supportive HUG!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Sue! Yes it's 1:00 here, we're picking up at 6:30. Every time I walk down the hall I look in the spare bedroom to see if he's on his desk. I'm driving myself crazy. DH told me he has done the same thing today.
 
Sooooo.......
Dr Larry says "no more insulin". :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
I've been trying to reduce him gradually, generally following the protocol although usually reducing after 2 numbers 50 and under instead of 3 numbers 50 and under.
He was 99 at +2 (food bump) and I'm sure after a day at the vet he's going to be blue.
And I really don't know what to do. I know that Amy @Amy&TrixieCat successfully stopped Trixie's shots after she went into low numbers due to p'titis. Amy, do you remember how much insulin you were giving Trixie immediately prior to stopping?
And I guess if he's in blue numbers when I test tonight and if I don't shoot, it would be a good test to see if he can bring the numbers down on his own? Again, idk.
Given the combination of his numbers and his appy issues, not shooting, at least temporarily, is probably a safe thing to try. Trix was actually up over 2 units when she abruptly went OTJ - I want to say 2.25U, but I can't remember for sure (and, honestly, it's hard for me to go back and look at her SS). I did continue to test her at "PS" times for the next 3 years, though...I was always anxious about remission not sticking and was never able to full give up testing. So I would definitely keep that testing going.

Trix did another rare thing: she bounced off her own insulin. So there would be times her PS numbers were on the high side (some even in the yellows), but then 2 hours after eating, she'd be in the greens without any "outside" insulin. So yes, if you get a higher number, test a couple hours after he eats to see where he's at. Bouncing off their own insulin is very rare - I think maybe one other kitty here did that (that we know of), but it's something that can happen.

She was also another one whose numbers would plummet after getting fluids - but that was while she was on insulin. Long story short, I had to change the location of her insulin shot from her shoulder area to her flank, so that the physical location of the fluids and insulin where far apart. I tried to space the two out, timewise while keeping both injections in the shoulder area, but that didn't help; she still dropped like a rock.

This is obviously not the "ideal" way with going OTJ, since we do like to slowly wean them off, but safety has to come first...and, ECID. Fingers crossed this works for Boomer. And, of course, if it fails, you can just start him back up again. With testing, you'll be able to see a trend and intervene quickly if need be.
 
Best wishes for you & DH. I certainly understand how difficult it is when one of our kitties is not feeling well.
images
 
Given the combination of his numbers and his appy issues, not shooting, at least temporarily, is probably a safe thing to try. Trix was actually up over 2 units when she abruptly went OTJ - I want to say 2.25U, but I can't remember for sure (and, honestly, it's hard for me to go back and look at her SS). I did continue to test her at "PS" times for the next 3 years, though...I was always anxious about remission not sticking and was never able to full give up testing. So I would definitely keep that testing going.

Trix did another rare thing: she bounced off her own insulin. So there would be times her PS numbers were on the high side (some even in the yellows), but then 2 hours after eating, she'd be in the greens without any "outside" insulin. So yes, if you get a higher number, test a couple hours after he eats to see where he's at. Bouncing off their own insulin is very rare - I think maybe one other kitty here did that (that we know of), but it's something that can happen.

She was also another one whose numbers would plummet after getting fluids - but that was while she was on insulin. Long story short, I had to change the location of her insulin shot from her shoulder area to her flank, so that the physical location of the fluids and insulin where far apart. I tried to space the two out, timewise while keeping both injections in the shoulder area, but that didn't help; she still dropped like a rock.

This is obviously not the "ideal" way with going OTJ, since we do like to slowly wean them off, but safety has to come first...and, ECID. Fingers crossed this works for Boomer. And, of course, if it fails, you can just start him back up again. With testing, you'll be able to see a trend and intervene quickly if need be.
Thanks Amy!
 
I hope the fluids is the ticket. For what it’s worth, the quote for u/s is a good price, should you need to go there.

I remember Trixie going OTJ, we had to do an intervention with Amy. She kept not wanting to call it a trial until well after the time was up.:p Definitely a hard thing to do after so many years.

Going without insulin tonight will do a couple things. Most important, you get to sleep.:bighug: Second, Boomer will let you know if he’s willing to go solo.
 
I remember Trixie going OTJ, we had to do an intervention with Amy. She kept not wanting to call it a trial until well after the time was up.:p Definitely a hard thing to do after so many years.

:joyful::joyful::joyful:...so very true! Since we didn't go the traditional OTJ route, I feared that if I actually admitted she was OTJ, it wouldn't be real. And, it is a hard transition...as much as we want every kitty to go OTJ, giving insulin becomes such a big part of us that it's oddly hard when it's not there anymore.

Fingers, toes, paws, and everything else crossed for Boomer!!
 
Judy, Elmo didn't go the prescribed route either . It truly is ECID . We started an OTJ trial when we were to start Lantus after being on vetsulin and due to low BGs we were advised to try OTJ ... lasted for two and a half years :cat: I was all ready to go with all supplies ready and they never were used . Elmo was dubbed The Cat Who Smelled Lantus:woot: Not all cats are going to follow a by the book method . Boomer seems to be choosing his own path and you are awesome to support him :bighug:
 
Judy, Elmo didn't go the prescribed route either . It truly is ECID . We started an OTJ trial when we were to start Lantus after being on vetsulin and due to low BGs we were advised to try OTJ ... lasted for two and a half years :cat: I was all ready to go with all supplies ready and they never were used . Elmo was dubbed The Cat Who Smelled Lantus:woot: Not all cats are going to follow a by the book method . Boomer seems to be choosing his own path and you are awesome to support him :bighug:
Awesome story!
 
I hope the fluids is the ticket. For what it’s worth, the quote for u/s is a good price, should you need to go there.

I remember Trixie going OTJ, we had to do an intervention with Amy. She kept not wanting to call it a trial until well after the time was up.:p Definitely a hard thing to do after so many years.

Going without insulin tonight will do a couple things. Most important, you get to sleep.:bighug: Second, Boomer will let you know if he’s willing to go solo.
That's funny about the intervention! Here I was thinking "do I call this day 1....what if he's blue when I test him tonight....maybe I shouldn't test him tonight...if I don't see the blue then there is no blue....." hahaha will you hold an intervention for me too if needed:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful:...so very true! Since we didn't go the traditional OTJ route, I feared that if I actually admitted she was OTJ, it wouldn't be real. And, it is a hard transition...as much as we want every kitty to go OTJ, giving insulin becomes such a big part of us that it's oddly hard when it's not there anymore.

Fingers, toes, paws, and everything else crossed for Boomer!!
My DH says to me "well you're going to continue to test anyways". Well yes I will. But only once a day.
 
An hour more and we can go get our boy. Betcha we're in his bad books right now lol.
I'm going to test tonight. Why? Well....because I have to lol :rolleyes:. Have to see for myself whether the vetty visit caused him to go blue or perhaps the lack of food (because I know he's not going to eat at the vet's) has helped keep him green. That may determine whether I call this DAY 1. :rolleyes:

If he goes OTJ this is the FOURTH time!
@Bobbie And Bubba are in the fourth time too I think?
Are there others?
 
We're home finally.....they said they "got a late start" with Boomer so wanted him on the IV for another half hour.
+ 13 175
About what I expected. N/S and we'll see if he can bring it on down by himself overnight.

He had 305 ml fluid and didn't eat nor did he pee.
He dove right into his kitten food but ate only a bit now he's headed to the other room, hopefully to pee:rolleyes:

Dr Larry suggested that we could switch Boomer from Bupre. to Tramadol (I think I have that right:rolleyes:); he indicated that Bupre. is normally used short term and Tramadol longer term.
 
You've had quite a crazy day today!! I hope that Boomer does well overnight and you can start the OTJ trial!! Charlotte is cheering him on- she wants more company as there’s plenty of room in the Falls for more kitties!! I would have checked too btw! I would have been up all night wondering- I’m still tempted to keep daily checks on Charlotte! I guess once a week will have to be the new norm for us now. Furry toes crossed his pancreas will do its own job! :D
 
For more than you ever wanted to know on pain management.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2015-aaha-aafp-pain-management-guidelines-for-dogs-and-cats.134504/
Dr Larry suggested that we could switch Boomer from Bupre. to Tramadol (I think I have that right:rolleyes:); he indicated that Bupre. is normally used short term and Tramadol longer term.
Typically Buprenorphine or gabapentin are used longer term. Neko was on bupe for over two years. Tramadol was my vets third choice for cats.
 
Back
Top