12/18, Bell, AMPS 285 +4 363 PMPS 279

upload_2024-12-18_17-14-31.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-18_17-14-31.png
    upload_2024-12-18_17-14-31.png
    417.4 KB · Views: 132
upload_2024-12-18_17-15-10.png

@Heike & BInie: Thanks so much! I would pay a lot of money to have a spa day where someone else had to deal with the pokes for a day. When I get stressed out I go out for a long run, but a sauna and massage sounds even better.

Thank you for the idea, that would be easier on Bell, for sure. I was scared away from doing that from reading the UTI info Wendy posted that described the risk of contamination for a free sample:
https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/#Urinary_Tract_Infection__
upload_2024-12-18_17-18-30.png


If that's not a big concern, I may try that next time (hopefully there won't be a next time tho!! :D)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-18_17-15-10.png
    upload_2024-12-18_17-15-10.png
    81.4 KB · Views: 193
  • upload_2024-12-18_17-18-30.png
    upload_2024-12-18_17-18-30.png
    240.1 KB · Views: 194
She has seemed better the last few days in the yellows than she had in the pinks. Her poops are great (:facepalm:), she's peeing too much, she's as snuggly as ever, and plays as much as usual (which is not much outside of short 2 min bursts of energy). I have noticed a few times her go to the litter box and not use it, but all these times I've been following her with a urine ketone stick :p. I don't know if she caught onto me or if she is having some pain.
 
Yesterday

Welp, back to the 300s. I am planning on increasing to 6 units tonight. Bell was peeing a little less these last few days being in the 200s than when she was consistently in the 300s.

I am still waiting for the lab culture to come back for Bell. I will keep y'all posted when I find out anything there.
Please keep us posted, Seth. We are sending beautiful Bell god wishes on the increased dose and hope she sees some :cool::D

I third the vote for a spa day (I can’t go either though, too risky). I moved my hair salon to a place 5 minutes from my house (but I don’t love it there). Oh well. It’s close. I keep telling myself that’s all that matters (just don’t judge my haircut) ;)

Hang in there, Seth. You’re doing great and Bell is in your capable care. Have a safe night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday

Welp, back to the 300s. I am planning on increasing to 6 units tonight. Bell was peeing a little less these last few days being in the 200s than when she was consistently in the 300s.

I am still waiting for the lab culture to come back for Bell. I will keep y'all posted when I find out anything there.
Totally same w/ Minner. Higher 200s and more pee. What I am about to share might sound nuts, but I’m data driven so ….. I weigh Minner’s pee every day and track it. I waste a lot of ziplock bags, one a day. Scoop her litter clumps into bag and each morning weigh the bag. I use a digital kitchen scale set to grams. Same scale I used to weigh Minner as a syringe fed kitten. :)
 
Totally same w/ Minner. Higher 200s and more pee. What I am about to share might sound nuts, but I’m data driven so ….. I weigh Minner’s pee every day and track it. I waste a lot of ziplock bags, one a day. Scoop her litter clumps into bag and each morning weigh the bag. I use a digital kitchen scale set to grams. Same scale I used to weigh Minner as a syringe fed kitten. :)
Wow, I think you deserve some kind of award for this :p. I bet you have an excellent idea of her renal threshold by doing that.
 
Totally same w/ Minner. Higher 200s and more pee. What I am about to share might sound nuts, but I’m data driven so ….. I weigh Minner’s pee every day and track it. I waste a lot of ziplock bags, one a day. Scoop her litter clumps into bag and each morning weigh the bag. I use a digital kitchen scale set to grams. Same scale I used to weigh Minner as a syringe fed kitten. :)
Ask me why my log book legend includes “ 4.5” of poop=1 oz” :rolleyes:
 
View attachment 71929
@Heike & BInie: Thanks so much! I would pay a lot of money to have a spa day where someone else had to deal with the pokes for a day. When I get stressed out I go out for a long run, but a sauna and massage sounds even better.

Thank you for the idea, that would be easier on Bell, for sure. I was scared away from doing that from reading the UTI info Wendy posted that described the risk of contamination for a free sample:
https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/#Urinary_Tract_Infection__
View attachment 71930

If that's not a big concern, I may try that next time (hopefully there won't be a next time tho!! :D)

Hi Seth,

of course the info Wendy gave is 100 % exact and I did research before, that in humans and in cats taking the urine directly from the bladder is the gold standard in medicine.

BUT: This causes quite some stress for many cats (some seem to take it easy) and I would always question if the small risk of contamination is worth it. You can reduce the risk of contamination by catching the urine directly from the stream, best is the middle stream. If a cat shows clinical signs of a UTI, or in Bells case there was already blood in the urine, I would guess, that bacteria found found in the sample are most likely not a contamination but most likely the cause of the UTI symptoms or the blood. In human medicine we also work with catching the urine directly, even though the same risks are there.

But I am sure there are different opinions about that. I know that also vets have different philosophys. That was the result of a discussion with my vet and my own research. And maybe it is easier with Bell. Because Binie is a bit chubby they need ultrasound to find her bladder and had to shave her belly. All of us have been quite unhappy in this situation, vet included. :)

Anyhow, I hope this discussion is just theoretical and you don't have to bother about that topic in future. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

And yes, sauna and massage sound like heaven for stressed fd-parents! :)
 
Back
Top