12/18 Basic AMPS 274 PMPS 156 +1 137 +2 102 +3 73 +4 79 +5 73 +6 79

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...and-diet-change-possibly.284542/#post-3132291

I had to be gone for most of the day, the last few days. Today, I didn't get any readings during the day because of this. Frankly, he is always so high, I wasn't too concerned.

When I got home and checked him at 6 pm (+11.5), his BG was 156. I thought the meter was messing up, so i checked him again. Same number. Checked myself even.

When I checked him at shot time (6:30pm), it was still 156. Gave him his full dose because he wasn't below 150. I will monitor him very closely this evening and throughout the night if his BG is yoyo-ing. I have everything prepared in case he drops significantly.
I hope this was what I was supposed to do for him. Low-for-him numbers scare me, but his body and organs need a break.

I was changing litter today and he ran in to use the new litter. He accidentally peed outside of the litter box because he wasnt fully able to squat. That's only happened one other time and it was right after he was diagnosed. I don't have carpet in the cat room, so I would see it when cleaning. I believe he either has neuropathy or arthritis. Can I give him a Methylcobalamin B12 supplement or do I need to have his bloodwork done first? His appointment is the 8th. I don't want him to suffer any longer that he has too though. I'd like to get it ordered now and start administering it, unless there is a possibility of there being some complications. What about Zobaline? It is out of stock on Amazon and states there is no date when it will return, but you can order it directly from https://ilifelink.com/product/zobaline-for-diabetic-cats-3-mg-x-60-tablets/. That is who it was sold through on Amazon.

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
Good you gave his shot. You could actually lower the stall and no shot numbers since you have data if able to monitor.

You can give zobaline. He will pee out what’s not needed. It takes time for neuropathy to correct. Is he walking normally?
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...and-diet-change-possibly.284542/#post-3132291

I had to be gone for most of the day, the last few days. Today, I didn't get any readings during the day because of this. Frankly, he is always so high, I wasn't too concerned.

When I got home and checked him at 6 pm (+11.5), his BG was 156. I thought the meter was messing up, so i checked him again. Same number. Checked myself even.

When I checked him at shot time (6:30pm), it was still 156. Gave him his full dose because he wasn't below 150. I will monitor him very closely this evening and throughout the night if his BG is yoyo-ing. I have everything prepared in case he drops significantly.
I hope this was what I was supposed to do for him. Low-for-him numbers scare me, but his body and organs need a break.

I was changing litter today and he ran in to use the new litter. He accidentally peed outside of the litter box because he wasnt fully able to squat. That's only happened one other time and it was right after he was diagnosed. I don't have carpet in the cat room, so I would see it when cleaning. I believe he either has neuropathy or arthritis. Can I give him a Methylcobalamin B12 supplement or do I need to have his bloodwork done first? His appointment is the 8th. I don't want him to suffer any longer that he has too though. I'd like to get it ordered now and start administering it, unless there is a possibility of there being some complications. What about Zobaline? It is out of stock on Amazon and states there is no date when it will return, but you can order it directly from https://ilifelink.com/product/zobaline-for-diabetic-cats-3-mg-x-60-tablets/. That is who it was sold through on Amazon.

Thanks in advance.
I always ordered directly from Life LInk
 
I'm glad you shot, as you are able to monitor. It's a good chance to see how well Basic can do with shooting lower numbers.
 
Good you gave his shot. You could actually lower the stall and no shot numbers since you have data if able to monitor.
I am not sure what the latter part of the message means. I'm sorry.

EDITED to add:
Understand this now.

You can give zobaline. He will pee out what’s not needed. It takes time for neuropathy to correct. Is he walking normally?
Thank you. He is walking fine, but I see him hesitate to lay down sometimes, like it is uncomfortable. He never has accidents though. He also wasn't really squating and he gets very close to the litter normally.

Will watch some videos and will order the Zobaline.

Thank you both.

@Suzanne & Darcy : Thank you. I feel his dose is huge. Breaks my heart. His body needs the break from those hugh bgs though. I'm going to have him tested for acro at his next appt.
 
Last edited:
How low should I let him go before giving med or high carb? He is at 102 right now. I'm just looking for a ballpark idea of when I need to act.
 
How low should I let him go before giving med or high carb? He is at 102 right now. I'm just looking for a ballpark idea of when I need to act.
I would be giving him some 10% now and stay on the testing. Using HC depends on how fast he’s dropping and where he is in the cycle. If he’s at 60 at +3, you will want to add a little MC or HC, depending on what he responds to.

I wouldn’t worry about a dose of 4u. We don’t test for acro until the dose hits 6u so I’d hold off. His BG is really not that high. I know pinks make us all unhappy for our kitties but he’s doing ok.
 
I would be giving him some 10% now and stay on the testing. Using HC depends on how fast he’s dropping and where he is in the cycle. If he’s at 60 at +3, you will want to add a little MC or HC, depending on what he responds to.
I have 4%,14%, or 24%. I don't have any 10%. I feed him his dinner, +1, and +2, all 4%. Give him some 14% now?

I wouldn’t worry about a dose of 4u. We don’t test for acro until the dose hits 6u so I’d hold off. His BG is really not that high. I know pinks make us all unhappy for our kitties but he’s doing ok.
Okay. I'll hold off.

From the videos I've watched, he doesn't have neuropathy. I'm still getting the supplement discussed above though.
 
I have 4%,14%, or 24%. I don't have any 10%. I feed him his dinner, +1, and +2, all 4%. Give him some 14% now?


Okay. I'll hold off.

From the videos I've watched, he doesn't have neuropathy. I'm still getting the supplement discussed above though.
I’d see where he is at +3. You don’t want his duration to go out the window with too many carbs too early.
 
I feel his dose is huge. Breaks my heart. His body needs the break from those hugh bgs though. I'm going to have him tested for acro at his next appt.
FYI, 4 units is not what I'd call a huge dose, just the high side of normal. Although we don't recommend testing for acro until they get to 6 units, if you think he's got other signs of it, no harm testing earlier. One in 4 diabetic cats has this condition, and the study in the UK that showed that saw some acrocats on only one unit. On the other hand, we've seen cats get up to 5.5 units and turn it around. So if you don't have another reason to suspect it, you can wait.

Paws crossed for safe surfing tonight.
 
FYI, 4 units is not what I'd call a huge dose, just the high side of normal. Although we don't recommend testing for acro until they get to 6 units, if you think he's got other signs of it, no harm testing earlier. One in 4 diabetic cats has this condition, and the study in the UK that showed that saw some acrocats on only one unit. On the other hand, we've seen cats get up to 5.5 units and turn it around. So if you don't have another reason to suspect it, you can wait.

Paws crossed for safe surfing tonight.
Thank you
 
Appearantly, I have 8% food too. I just went to the online carb calculator via Feline Nutrition Center. The new Dr. Elsey's chicken clean protein is no longer 4%. It is now 8%. I haven't been giving either cats much of it because they both had GI issues from it. Interested to see what that did to his BG. Gave him probably 15 pellets at 9.
 
73 at +3. I won't give more food unless he goes below 60. I'll be checking him every 30 minutes while he is this low. If I need to, I will do so more frequently. If he continues to drop like this, in another hour he'd be in the 40s. I'm not interested in seeing those numbers.
 
Thank you. Maverick is absolutely stunning.
Thanks, Sybil, he’s my sweet boy :cat:. Hoping Basic’s got his surf on…

upload_2023-12-18_20-2-28.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-18_20-2-28.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-18_20-2-28.jpeg
    23.9 KB · Views: 139
Good job handling those numbers!

Surf on, Basic!
Thank you for the encouragement. After 3 months, I'm finally getting a much better understanding of everything. I also understand I still have a lot to learn.

He is 79 at +4.

Now that he is barely inching back up, I'll go back to hourly testing unless something changes or I have a feeling.

Thank you everyone for all you do. It doesn't go unnoticed or unappreciated.
 
Thank you for the encouragement. After 3 months, I'm finally getting a much better understanding of everything. I also understand I still have a lot to learn.

He is 79 at +4.

Now that he is barely inching back up, I'll go back to hourly testing unless something changes or I have a feeling.

Thank you everyone for all you do. It doesn't go unnoticed or unappreciated.
Outstanding!
 
I am not sure what the latter part of the message means. I'm sorry.

EDITED to add:
Understand this now.

Thank you. He is walking fine, but I see him hesitate to lay down sometimes, like it is uncomfortable. He never has accidents though. He also wasn't really squating and he gets very close to the litter normally.

Will watch some videos and will order the Zobaline.

Thank you both.

@Suzanne & Darcy : Thank you. I feel his dose is huge. Breaks my heart. His body needs the break from those hugh bgs though. I'm going to have him tested for acro at his next appt.
Having had an acro cat myself, I do not think his dose is that high (try 42 units sometime - although every cat is different.). But really with the response I see from Basic to the insulin on this 4 unit dose - you got blue and green - I would wait a little longer to get him tested for acromegaly or IAA.
 
I would if I had to, but I would rather not ever have to try 42 U. These poor kitties. I had no idea any of this existed, UNTIL I DID.

I will hold off on having him tested for either.

Thank you for your input.
 
Next time you are at the vet, it is worth getting him checked for arthritis. There are some ways to help manage that.
 
I definitely will ask about it. Would it be bad for me to give him the Zobaline if he doesn't have neuropathy at all and it is actually arthritis. Only asking because the videos i saw of cats with neuropathy are not anything like the signs Base is displaying. I placed the order already, but it was late when I did. I could probably call and cancel in the am, if he won't benefit from it.
 
Okay. Thank you. I'm also not a fan of the drug gabapentin and its use for pain management. I've read about this being treatment for arthritis sometimes. Do you know of any alternatives?
 
One of my cats had early arthritis. I give Gizmo Cosequin -- it's a combination of glucosamine and chondroitin. It's formulated for cats. It has really improved his flexibility. I get it from Amazon.
 
I'll order today. Thank you very much.

I wanted to let you know I just received all of Basic's lab work from his previous vet after threatening to go up to the office if ai wasnt provided with it via email. I'll be inputting all of his lab results when I get some spare time. Shocked that I was constantly denied to see any of them. I do not understand the reasoning behind this either. I'm certain this will not be the case at his new vet. Thank you again for the information on Purrfect Care. We are ready for proper vet care.
 
Back
Top