12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +8 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Hi furbaby friends in Lantus Land :YMHUG:
Baby is doing furbaby fabulous & enjoying her lazy day of eating Raw, stepping out into the cold winter air for fresh air a bit here & there, napping too. All 5 Ps are in Place.
I on the other hand ohmygod_smile am an absolute idiot. I gave her shot last night, took some medication & woke up this morning thinking I overslept her shot last night & that she never got it.. I jumped up, tested her & shot her ohmygod_smile laid back down & realized... I HAD SHOT HER LAST NIGHT (got NO spot checks & NOW HER AM SHOT TODAY WAS AT +8 (4 HOURS EARLY) now that is one mistake I have never done.. maybe that is the reason we are back.. so I could experience everything atleast once :mrgreen:
***Edited to add.. she saw a BG 36 today, but I am not reducing her .25 dose to a drop just yet -- I suspect that was because of the early shot.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby AMPS 92 +9 67

((((((Nicole)))))) You'll get back in the ole rut in no time. That early shot has put her into some great numbers, but keep an eye on her still.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89

no falling asleep w/o spot checks tonight, ok? You might have a lot of shed action going on tonight still.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89

Holy Cow, Nicole! That must have totally freaked you out. I'm glad you could keep on eye on Baby today. No diving, Baby!
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

First Days in Lantus seem to be action packed for us ;-)
No sleeping this evening & I am just fine with that..

**Question** I am going to drop her to .10 (just a drop of Insulin) for AM tomorrow, any objections? She is on her 4th Insulin Shot (began yesterday morning)
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

Nicole are you feeding the 37? nailbite_smile

High Carb...maybe a spot of Karo...like NOW!
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

let's see how tonight goes. She might need shed draining tomorrow instead of a shot.

How about adding some karo to gravy and testing in 20 minutes?
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

She is carb sensitive, I gave her some temptations & MC, will test in about 10mins...
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

I would rather see you give some HC. This is too early for a 37 on an unpredictable shed.
 
Re: **Dose Question** 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37

Libby and Lucy said:
I would rather see you give some HC. This is too early for a 37 on an unpredictable shed.
ditto. karo and hc. this is much too early for a 37 and we're dealing with unusual circumstances. this is not what one would call a normal cycle. k?
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37 (+30mins) 51

I would do HC and karo, and test in 30. Just a little, we don't want her getting full.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37 (+30mins) 51

IMHO, get carbs on board now. You don't know for sure that Baby needs to be on insulin and this is a rapid drop. I was only halfway kidding when I said I would prefer to not repeat your first day here. It doesn't matter if Baby is carb sensitive. I suspect you'd like to get some sleep tonight rather than monitoring for 16 hours.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37 (+30mins) 51

Thanks, everyone :-D
I am testing again in about 15 mins & will continue to test her tonight.. she is my Saturday night plan & I am wide awake :-D
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37 (+30mins) 51

keep posting so we'll know everything is ok. We worry when we don't get updates. ;-)

The thing is, we don't know why Baby's numbers went up this week. She might not even need insulin. Then you throw a +8 shot into the mix. We really don't have any way of knowing where this is going. KWIM? Hopefully Baby will bounce.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +2 37 (+30mins) 51

Nicole, well I did not want to mention your first day of Lantus all those months ago
but when I saw your post this aft.... nailbite_smile

You know we are all watching. Glad to see she came up from that 51 but
I am sure you will be doing lots of checking.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

:shock: Baby likes the attention & I continually screw up ohmygod_smile
I will test her hourly & feed mini meals until I know that she is safely surfing. Her NADAIR tends to generally be at +5 or was anyway, as Libby & Sienne have pointed out, we have no clue right now what is going on, time will tell. Thanks again.. you all are amazingly awesome!
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

Just remember, the nadir isn't a fixed point. You don't have the data on Baby that you had before. This is a new ballgame. There's no way to tell if Baby is even a player yet let alone what the rules for her will be.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

Nicole & Baby said:
:shock: Baby likes the attention & I continually screw up ohmygod_smile
I will test her hourly & feed mini meals until I know that she is safely surfing. Her NADAIR tends to generally be at +5 or was anyway, as Libby & Sienne have pointed out, we have no clue right now what is going on, time will tell. Thanks again.. you all are amazingly awesome!
nicole... i need you to understand. this is not a normal cycle. by shooting at +8 this morning, baby now has an excess of normal carryover and overlap which is pulling the numbers down. we can't count on anything being normal... up to and including baby's nadir.

you will need to test more than hourly. do you have a good supply of test strips and hc on hand?

was baby vetted before she went back on insulin?

do we know why she's back on insulin... infection, teeth, etc?

"if" we have a working pancreas, you'll need hc not lc to bring the numbers up.


personally, i would like you to abort this cycle if at all possible. bits of hc and karo and monitoring frequently. with any luck, she'll bounce, but right now we have no idea which direction this is going or how tough the fight may be to keep her numbers up.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

Nicole, I'm going to be direct. This might be another overdose situation. It might not be, and I sincerely hope not. We just don't know, so we have to treat it as though it is until Baby proves us wrong. I would MUCH rather overreact in this direction than to not do so and have something bad happen to Baby.

I know 0.25 is a very low dose and you wouldn't expect an overdose on that dose, but don't underestimate the power of a shot that was 4 hours early this morning, and don't underestimate the fact that ANY insulin might be too much for Baby right now.

She hasn't had a +5 nadir since she has been back on insulin. What happened before doesn't count. Secondly, it doesn't matter what her nadir usually is. As I'm sure you remember, with Lantus overdoses you can't count on a nadir.

Ok? I don't want to make you feel bad, but I feel like you don't quite understand what might be going on tonight.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

No worries, you don't make me feel bad - I appreciate the support & have always trusted your advice. I wouldn't be here if I didn't. I will monitor I promise & give updates, along with whatever carb content she needs. I promise.

Jill, I did not have the $$ Friday to get the Insulin & Bloodwork, so I got the Insulin - it may have been the wrong decision. I dont know.
I plan to get bloodwork as soon as I can. Baby showed know signs of being sick, it was just 2 spot checks in the 100s & I started her because I was worried. She is acting fine, eating fine, litterbox & activity is good. Teeth look good, eyes, ears & nose.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +3 50

ok. this is all good to know. we're with you and you know what to do.

how about that supply of hc and test strips? are you well stocked?

i think it would be a good idea to plan to test every 30 minutes until we get a good idea where she's going. we'd like to stay ahead of her.
her numbers will tell us if she'll need to be tested more frequently, less often, or if a trip to the ER would be in her best interest.

i'm hoping she'll bounce and we'll all be in bed at a decent hour tonight. :-D

you know we'll stick with you. our eyes are glued on your thread...
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +6 73

She is sleeping on the couch with a warm towel fresh from the dryer (spoiled)
I am going to feed her a mini meal within the hour & get a +8 (2 hours from now) if everyone is Ok with that...
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +6 73

Thanks for the posts to us tonight, Nicole! Nice surfing by Baby. :smile: She reminds me a lot of a cat I had growing up and our current kitty Fritz. She's beautiful!
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +7 111

That's true.. should I shoot a .10 or stick with current dose in the morning? Dependant upon AMPS I am sure.. but want to be prepared.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +7 111

and the bounce. Don't forget that she was in the 30s twice today. Bouncing to high numbers is normal.

One more test and you should be good to go to bed. 1/2 hour should be long enough to wait to be able to get an idea if this is a bounce or if it is going back down.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +7 111

Good information, I did not realize they bounce when used to lower #s.. learned something new.. I will get another test & then head to bed, I was actually going to head to bed & call it a night.. But... :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +7 111

I wouldn't shoot the current dose. If she's bouncing then 0.1 should be ok. If she's low, I'm not sure I would shoot anything. Skipping would let her shed drain, which in this case might be a good thing.
 
Re: 12/18 Baby PMPS 89 +7 111

Libby and Lucy said:
I wouldn't shoot the current dose. If she's bouncing then 0.1 should be ok. If she's low, I'm not sure I would shoot anything. Skipping would let her shed drain, which in this case might be a good thing.
nice job, nicole. i agree with libby on the dose. if baby's low tomorrow morning... don't shoot.
 
:YMHUG: thank you for all your support tonight... I am headed to bed & pray when I get up in 4 hours she is not sky high!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top