12/18/2019 Mowgli AMPS 275 +2.5 268 +3.5 319 +7 214 - Crown Amputation

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
12/17/2019

Dental day for Mowgli today! He had his insulin, breakfast and we will leave in around 9:30am to drop him off for the day... I think that will be the most stressful for him since his actual cleaning isn't until 1pm... I wonder why you have to drop them off so early? Hopefully he won't need any extractions and the cleaning goes well.

Have a great day :)
 
images
 
Sending dental vines.
Thanks Carla! I just got back from dropping him off, they said he might need to spend the night, I was like: what about his diabetes! somehow they keep forgetting he's diabetic! She said he didn't realize and that they would try extra hard to have him home tonight :| He will be going in for his dental in 0.5 hrs... I hope it goes well!
Thanks Joy!! I hope your Wednesday is wonderful too!!
 
I have to tell my vet that EVERY SINGLE TIME! They say to me, no breakfast for Luci - drop her off between 7:30 and 8 and we should have her done by end of business... I'm like, well I'm not comfortable with that -she's a diabetic, so you're telling me that she can't have breakfast which means she can't have her insulin - and then I'm not comfortable with her being there all day with no one checking her BG's!

Next thing they say, oh, we'll have her ready to go by 10...now that's better...they do her first apparently - she cannot sit there and wait while they work on other kids...

Sometimes you just gotta speak up...and keep speaking up...they see so many pets and for whatever reason not one person ever seems to be able to write anything down or READ her record - but they can see the appointment info on their computer and they know why she's coming - no mention of her diabetes...it's beyond me...

Keep telling them Amanda! I'm sending dental vetty vines to you today! I hope everything else goes smoothly today and you can pick him up soon :)
 
I have to tell my vet that EVERY SINGLE TIME! They say to me, no breakfast for Luci - drop her off between 7:30 and 8 and we should have her done by end of business... I'm like, well I'm not comfortable with that -she's a diabetic, so you're telling me that she can't have breakfast which means she can't have her insulin - and then I'm not comfortable with her being there all day with no one checking her BG's!

Next thing they say, oh, we'll have her ready to go by 10...now that's better...they do her first apparently - she cannot sit there and wait while they work on other kids...

Sometimes you just gotta speak up...and keep speaking up...they see so many pets and for whatever reason not one person ever seems to be able to write anything down or READ her record - but they can see the appointment info on their computer and they know why she's coming - no mention of her diabetes...it's beyond me...

Keep telling them Amanda! I'm sending dental vetty vines to you today! I hope everything else goes smoothly today and you can pick him up soon :)
Seriously!! he has literally been there 3 times in the last 1.5 months!! yes I said I wasn't comfortable, I was like: no one told me he might have to stay the night, I was told I could pick him up at the end of the day... and like... what about his insulin... 'oh? he's diabetic?" I mean ... come. on!

I hope I hear from them soon... he should be getting his X-rays right around now... thanks so much for the vet vines :)
 
Seriously!! he has literally been there 3 times in the last 1.5 months!! yes I said I wasn't comfortable, I was like: no one told me he might have to stay the night, I was told I could pick him up at the end of the day... and like... what about his insulin... 'oh? he's diabetic?" I mean ... come. on!

I hope I hear from them soon... he should be getting his X-rays right around now... thanks so much for the vet vines :)

Same for Luci - and it's the same story every time...I've had her there three times since we've been in Florida - first week of November - and they still can't make a note somewhere that she's a diabetic - and her mom won't leave her for more than a few hours - and no she can't come in on an empty stomach...oh well...I'm assertive...and I'm not going to leave her there unless I'm sure they are aware of her diabetes... :)
 
The vet just let me know that Mowgli's upper and lower canines have pockets beneath them because they are in the process of being resorbed, they are also showing a small amount of infection. I was so surprised because they are his cleanest looking teeth! She said that because the teeth are already in the process of being resorbed that she is unable to do an extraction and she recommended at the very least we do a crown amputation on his lower k-9s in case they develop further problems down the road because there is less bone to work with on the lower jaw. I decided to go ahead with the lower canine crown amputation and to hold off on the upper canine crown amputation... the vet said she thought this would be a really good path forward too since Mowgli has been eating fine, the upper canines seemed stable, and Mowgli didn't seem to be in pain. She said that with the upper canines being stable that a course of antibiotics combined with a cleaning could give us quite a few more years with his teeth and that they might even resorb fine.

The vet told me that Mowgli was NOT being friendly haha,.. she said they will be removing his IV while he is still partially under... Can't wait to get him home

Hopefully getting rid of his low level infection will help stabilize his numbers a bit more
 
The vet just let me know that Mowgli's upper and lower canines have pockets beneath them because they are in the process of being resorbed, they are also showing a small amount of infection. I was so surprised because they are his cleanest looking teeth! She said that because the teeth are already in the process of being resorbed that she is unable to do an extraction and she recommended at the very least we do a crown amputation on his lower k-9s in case they develop further problems down the road because there is less bone to work with on the lower jaw. I decided to go ahead with the lower canine crown amputation and to hold off on the upper canine crown amputation... the vet said she thought this would be a really good path forward too since Mowgli has been eating fine, the upper canines seemed stable, and Mowgli didn't seem to be in pain. She said that with the upper canines being stable that a course of antibiotics combined with a cleaning could give us quite a few more years with his teeth and that they might even resorb fine.

The vet told me that Mowgli was NOT being friendly haha,.. she said they will be removing his IV while he is still partially under... Can't wait to get him home

Hopefully getting rid of his low level infection will help stabilize his numbers a bit more
Wow! Quite a day for both of you. Look forward to hearing that he is home and all is well.
 
Happy to hear the dental is over and hopefully Mowgs will be home soon! Is there anyone who is friendly with dental procedures :nailbiting::stop::p???!!!
 
I’m really glad all went well and he’s home.

Sorry I didn’t get back round last night but you might want to read this post on Reductions (this is for TR). Pls let me know if you have questions.
 
Sending prayers for Mowgli.
Poor Mowgli. I'm glad he's home. Sending prayers for a quick recovery.
Thanks a lot for the prayers, I hope he has a quick recovery too :)
Aww poor sweetie, how's he doing? How are you doing? Thank goodness you brought him in when you did. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He’s really doing fine, he’s a little dopey and I think a little like WTH Happened to me today... where are my teeth? But otherwise he’s doing well :) I’m glad it didn’t turn into something worse!!
What is causing the Absorption?
The vet said it is really common, the bone from the jaw slowly starts to replace the tooth and turn it into bone, in the process the tooth leaves behind a void which can host infectious bacteria which is what was happening with Mowg. She could see it really easily with the X-ray and showed me exactly what it looked like. I could see exactly what she was talking to me about... you could see the root for all his other teeth but his k-9s didn’t show any root... it just looked like the bone phased into the tooth. Bizarre.
Yay! So glad he is home :bighug:! Stressful day! I would have been like :eek:! Shiny new mouth for Christmas :D!
Merry Christmas to Mowg!! I think that’s exactly whT he wrote to Santa for ;) :P
 
I’m really glad all went well and he’s home.

Sorry I didn’t get back round last night but you might want to read this post on Reductions (this is for TR). Pls let me know if you have questions.
Thanks Marje it is definitely helpful! I think I’ll just be a little more needy when it comes to identifying failed reductions... Next time I’ll have to ask instead of trying myself :rolleyes:
 
You both have had quite the day. May tonight be simple.
I think it was worse for Mowgli than me for sure. I feel so bad for them that they are stuck in such a stressful place before being put under. Hopefully you’re wishes for simplicity come true and he has an easy night tonight :)

thanks for the well wishes :)
 
I'm so glad all went well and Mowgli is safely home with you again.
I am really surprised that the vet needs reminding that Mowgli is a diabetic...... that is basic stuff and not something that should be forgotten.. diabetic cats having operations should get priority in the line up of cases.
 
Thanks Marje it is definitely helpful! I think I’ll just be a little more needy when it comes to identifying failed reductions... Next time I’ll have to ask instead of trying myself :rolleyes:
Perfect. We will be glad to help but more important is that you reduce by 0.25u for numbers below 40. ;)
 
Back
Top