? 12/17 Zhoom Boy PMPS 149 Should I stall?

CRL

Member Since 2019
Zhoom is always full of surprises. I don't know why he is low late in the cycle like this, but here we are. I am not sure what to do for his evening shot. Stall for a half hour to an hour? Give a reduced dose? Anyone have advice for us?
 
Have you rechecked his BG since an hour ago?? He has been falling. It might be that his value is starting to rise and you would be able to shoot.
I checked it again half an hour ago and it was pretty much the same. I ended up feeding him and not giving insulin. I probably messed this cycle all up by doing that and am going to see super high numbers later :( Although he was at 619 two mornings ago and that was with his regular insulin, so who the heck knows. I do my best and sometimes it is so hard to know what to do.
 
I checked it again half an hour ago and it was pretty much the same. I ended up feeding him and not giving insulin. I probably messed this cycle all up by doing that and am going to see super high numbers later :( Although he was at 619 two mornings ago and that was with his regular insulin, so who the heck knows. I do my best and sometimes it is so hard to know what to do.
I’ve been there too. Take each day at a time, take notes and learn from each day as that is all we can do. Hopefully there won’t be too much of a bounce.
 
How did you find switching to TR? Was it scary? I have been considering switching. I think if I were on TR, I would still shoot at 149, is that true? It seems so scary to me.
 
How did you find switching to TR? Was it scary? I have been considering switching. I think if I were on TR, I would still shoot at 149, is that true? It seems so scary to me.
TR is scary the first time to shoot a low number but you just you keep testing and watching. The more you test , the better the picture you get as to what your kitty usually does daily. Plus, the members here are great at helping or finding help for you.
 
Experienced SLGS users learn to shoot full dose as low as 90. In the mean time, gather data so you feel more comfortable with shooting lower numbers.
 
Experienced SLGS users learn to shoot full dose as low as 90. In the mean time, gather data so you feel more comfortable with shooting lower numbers.
I think I am a really slow learner :/ Or a big ole scaredy cat!

Anyway, he is at 235 at +1.5 - is it too late or not a good idea to give him a reduced dose now? I know the 235 is a food number so it is not the same.
 
Sorry this answer is not in time, but if it was.... the first consideration for shooting late is if you can shoot your next shot 12 hours after that, and still be on schedule. You can work your way back on time by 15 minutes a shot, or 30 minutes once a day.

Otherwise, the 235 would have been fine to shoot. That’s almost a 90 point bump, more than just food. You wouldn’t have needed to shoot a reduced dose.

Just something to tuck away for next time.
 
Back
Top