12/17 Maverick PMPS 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32203

Did the right .50 dose this morning. Have a new reference syringe on the stove top.

I will not be around to monitor him at all until late afternoon.

I was looking at his teeth last night and one side does have tarter buildup and a red line at the gumline (gingivitis?). We don't have a vet for him yet, but someone was saying February might be pet dental month. So I'm going to look into this for him. He's never had a dental done and I've been seeing a lot of posts lately on dentals for cats.

Happy Friday everyone.
 
Re: 12/17 Maverick AMPS 94

Nice start to Maverick's day...You've got an eco-kitty this morning.....

Good job on the right dose.

Happy Friday.
 
Re: 12/17 Maverick AMPS 94

great amps Maverick!
my kitty hasn't had a dental yet, my vet doesn't like to put diabetic animals under so he's pushing it off until next year. But you might want to give it a thought. Bad teeth can lead to lots of problems for kitties. Good luck finding a great vet.
 
Re: 12/17 Maverick AMPS 94

nice amps for Maverick!
Rocket had his dental at age 11...he's now 17...build up is there but with his many other health issues vet has been postponing it for him.....also here it is darn expensive and with me not working gotta be careful on how i spend their vet money....and yeah...she wouldn't give me a break either!

do you brush his teeth? Rocket won't let me do it...never has...and i'm like you...wondering about how others are getting the dental and the topic seems to be out there....

good luck with the dose....
 
Re: 12/17 Maverick AMPS 94

Very nice amps for maverick. Surf well today maverick!

Mannie is in for dental every year, since the FD diagnosis. Before FD he never needed them, since FD at least once a year. The tartar buildup, gingivitis are more than evident now that he is dealing with FD. The need for a dental can effect their BG numbers - make them higher, especially if their teeth, gums etc are in bad shape. We have never had a problem with doing dentals for Mannie. My vet will do them for an FD kitty, monitors BG levels while he is there, we adjust the dose before he goes in - it has not been a problem for us. And yes on February being a dental month - saves alot of money. My vet also offers the special in January. Good Luck!
 
Didn't get any tests in today. Decided to stay in tonight too - I'm drained. I'll be gone all day tomorrow too. DH will do a PMPS reading and his 6pm shot. I'll have the syringe drawn up so he doesn't make the same dosing mistake I did.

So, considering I don't know how many shots I've messed up - I assume he is on the .50 units for another 14 cycles right? ohmygod_smile

Off to visit condos. TGIF :mrgreen:
 
hey, karrie...we've been offline for cpl days, so just catching up with everyone.

sorry to hear about your back...hope you feel better quickly.

wanna hear stupid? one day last week, smudge laid down on binks' test rug...and i automatically reached for the meter to test her ear.

if i had actually touched her ear with a lancet...i be minus one or two limbs now...but didnt even occur to me that it was the wrong cat.
and no pain pills on board to excuse my mistake!

nice numbers, Mav!
 
Nice PMPS Maverick!

Karrie - I answered your question on the KTSS in my condo, but thought I'd post it here in case you don't go back. KTSS is just another one of the fun things that go on here in LL. "on the KTSS - yeah, it's a new one, and not in the slang. It stands for Kittenhood of Traveling Soup and Spa. several months ago one of the kitties was sick - Ella's Stu. Mannie decided to bring him some chicken soup - since he believe it cures anything. shortly after another kitty was sick- Muffin I think, so Stu and Mannie decided that since it worked so well for Stu that they would take it to Muffin. Other kitties started to come along, and it was soon after that Ann of Ann and Tess gave this traveling band of soup carrying kitties it's name. The spa portion was added by Tess, and named by marjorie and Gracie when another soup recipient had also been to the vet, came home with that vetty smell we all know and love, so the kitties decided to add a spa line to their menagerie."
 
Great number tonite!!! Looking very good here!!
Just to tell you, Moonie had 2 dentals already, on this year & my civvie, Copper had one too..They were fine..
They both feel much better since it was done..When you get Maverick checked by new vet, let him check the teeth--It is important..
Goob job you are doing!
 
Karrie, it's not recommended to pre-fill syringes with Lantus. Can your DH just compare to the sample syringe to make sure he is drawing correctly? Also, I see a F0.5u dose, then a 0.5u dose, then a F0.5u dose....please pick one dose and stick with it, when you keep changing the dose, it leads to wonky numbers. I would suggest 0.5u.

Good question about how long to hold the dose before reducing...I'll need to think about that, my brain is too tired tonight!

I did want to answer your question from Tinkles' condo....mm stands for mini meal and sn stands for snack...so you were 100% correct.

I really hope your back feels better soon! Back pain is no fun, hang in there!
 
Hi Kerrie,

Good luck with the dose. I hope you can get your strips from canada ebay next time. Don't worry that you spent to much on shipping this time just look ahead.

Very good idea on the sample syringe.

Good that your checking into the dental. I've got to do so also.

Have a good day. :-D

jan and sara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top