12/17 Lee Lu - AMPS 245, PMPS 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandabur

Member Since 2014
So, at least we are back in the yellows.
I'm still confused. The only change in diet is that we started to feed them the large (13oz) friskies cans, but they are the same pate as the 5oz cans. Makes me wonder....
 
Re: 12/17 Lee Lu - AMPS 245

First question when you start to see the numbers creep like this is....How old is the insulin? I know even shooting two and with Lev which has a longer shelf life than Lantus, I don't make it through a full pen before I start getting a numbers creep. Now granted both of mine are nearly microdoses but at best I get about 4 months before it is time to chuck the leftovers and start a fresh pen.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/17 Lee Lu - AMPS 245

This is what I'm thinking Mel... I bought the 10ml vial insulin in June. I have pens on order from Mark's, so really I'm not going to fret too much until I get the fresh supply. I'm also going to start with 0.5u at the most with the fresh supply just to be on the safe side!!

Amazing that it can lose its potency / go bad so quickly though.

She seems fine otherwise, all the P's are there except she's still drinking and peeing more than my civvies.

I've decided to not go out of town, so I won't be boarding them. Now I know more about insulin and hypo's, I feel like I have to find a vet / boarding place that will test and shoot, not just shoot... at least the place I used in the summer knew to not shoot if she didn't eat, but now I know it shouldn't be gauged solely on that.

--Amanda
 
Re: 12/17 Lee Lu - AMPS 245

Sounds like you have a real good plan in place. :-D Yeah, that is why we never go too far from home now that we have Sugars in the house. I'm just terrified to leave their care in anyone else's hands if they aren't going to test them first. Couple of ideas for in the future is teaching Lee Lu to travel with you if that is an option, Autumn goes with us quite a bit, but Cassanova is NOT a cat you want to travel in a small confined space for long...lol He TALKS the whole trip, not cries but has a running commentary the whole trip. :lol: Autumn on the other hand is great she loves to go for rides and just wants her carrier facing the front of the truck and elevated enough so she can look out the windows.

Another option would be to check on someone to come to your home to care for them, maybe a vet tech or college student with a medical degree for a major.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/17 Lee Lu - AMPS 245

Great ideas, although I don't know if she'd travel well, and we would still have to board the two civvies.

The bigger issue with her is that was found feral and is not a fan of humans. We are not hoomins to her, we are family, but she runs and hides for a couple hours when someone visits. SO having someone (even a trained prof) stop by wouldn't work, only boarding. And vet clinics are, ahem, not great for shy scared cats!

Hilarious about the chatter box!!! Buddy would give us constant commentary as well, backseat driver style! I swear he was a Siamese in his past life, sooooo howly merrrooowwy.
 
well, back up to 319. And, she peed under the table sometime between 5pm-10pm yesterday. Strange. Hadn't done that in a while. Reminds me to get some urine test strips... can't wait for the new insulin to arrive. HOPE its before xmas.
 
What you can do if you suspect it is the loss of potency is increase her dose some, just remember to roll it back down again once you start a fresh pen.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top