12/17 Kay AMPS 510 +2 321 +3 177 +10 513 dose guidance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
Hello LL! :smile: This is my first post here. Here's my intro post for some background info.

It's been 3 weeks since Kay started insulin and she can't seem to stop bouncing every single night! She's always been free-fed, but today I tried to "feed the curve" to keep her from diving too fast and failed miserably. Seems I waited too long between meals and then I fed her too much MC. ohmygod_smile She's symptomatic today (increased thirst, hunger, urination) and seeing her tired and sleepy makes me feel like I need to take action. I may have jumped the gun by increasing her dose to .75 from fat .50's after only 5 cycles, but I was hoping it would help with the bounces (only if for a night). I'm now wondering if I should go back to fat .50's or stick with the .75 tonight and split her meals (pmps +1 +2 +3) to see how she does.

Any insight would be much appreciated!

For your reference:
FF=finished food (1/3 can)
FS=finished snack (1/8 can)

Thanks,
Mel&Kay
 
Welcome Mel & Kay!
Looks like Kay may be a bit of a drama queen. She's traveling down fast and then boing... right back up high.
Her body isn't used to those blues ( or greens) and she bounces.


When the +2 is a dramatic drop ( 100 or more from the preshot test), you can usually expect action during the cycle.
She did today, that's for sure.

Since you increased, I would stay with the new dose. ( IMHO)
I would also get that +3 tonight to see if there is likely to be more drama.
 
Welcome to LL! WOW - you have done a GREAT job with testing. You are right, Kay certainly is a bouncy girl, and unfortunately that is not something I personally have much experience with and therefore it's not my "strong suit", so to speak. Fortunately, there are others here who are well-versed with ideas about how to try to control bounces.

I agree with Rhiannon - I would continue to hold the current dose of .75U, especially since you are such an amazing tester!!
 
Thanks for the welcome!

Rhiannon: I will definitely monitor her tonight; any change in dose gives me anxiety. nailbite_smile

Amy: Thanks for the compliment. I'm a bit "poke-crazy" what can I say? All I want for Xmas is a regulated sugarkitty! :mrgreen: She gets a freeze dried chicken treat after every test and now she purrs through the whole process. <3
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top