12/17 Gandolf AMPS 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32242
WCR: All P's Present

Season's Greetings Everyone, ~O)

May you be warm and toasty wherever you are. Cycle 2 of dosecrease from 1.5 to 1.75U. Gandolf has a good appetite and pretty much being "himself". We'll sit out 6 cycles of this and see how it goes.

Best Wishes,

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon


P.S. Excuse my ignorance but I'd like to ask:

Is there ever a situation where, already into a cycle, one shoots a smaller supplemental dose of insulin after AM or PM injection has been shot already? ... and

... is there something about when the BG #'s are especially high and kitty may not have an appetite that fluid is injected under the skin for absorption? Is this something that must be done by a vet? Or can this be home administered?

Thanks.
 
Hi, Mr Wizard!

cee...no answers to your questions...but this will give your post a bump so others wiser than i might see it...

celi & binks
 
Is there ever a situation where, already into a cycle, one shoots a smaller supplemental dose of insulin after AM or PM injection has been shot already?
What you're describing fits two scenarios. The first is basal/bolus dosing. This is a strategy most often used with high dose (i.e., acro, IAA) kitties although there are some others here who have very bouncy cats who use a bolus dose. Typically, the bolus (i.e., the "extra") dose is a fast acting insulin, such as Humulin R (aka "R"). R is very powerful and potentially dangerous if used incorrectly. It is used in very small amounts and you not only need to very familiar with Lantus onset, nadir and duration, but you also need to curve the R in order to have the same information. Use of R is not to be undertaken lightly and it's best to have someone very familiar with it's use helping you.

The other scenario is called split dosing. You give your dose of Lantus and then maybe add a little more or you may split your usual dose into two parts to extend its duration. In general, split dosing has not had long term good effects. A couple of people have broken their dose into two parts to extend duration and have had good results but this seems to be the exception more than the rule. The problem with dosing twice per cycle is the effect on the shed and that you then have 2 nadirs. There is a very realistic risk for overdose with this scenario.

is there something about when the BG #'s are especially high and kitty may not have an appetite that fluid is injected under the skin for absorption? Is this something that must be done by a vet? Or can this be home administered?
I think you're referring to the use of subcutaneous fluids. There are several people in LL who do home administration of sub-q fluids but for specific medical reasons. For example, kitties with kidney disease may need additional fluids to help flush toxic by-products from their system. Similarly, cats who are prone to ketones may require fluids. The purpose, though, is not to bring BG levels down. The fact that for some cats, the administration of fluids lowers BG is a function of their need for fluids. If you need to bring BG numbers down, the best way to do that is with insulin.
 
cmk77 said:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32242
Is there ever a situation where, already into a cycle, one shoots a smaller supplemental dose of insulin after AM or PM injection has been shot already? ... and...

Exactly what Sienne posted.

Your cat should be as stable as possible, on a consistent dose of Lantus, and you should know how your cat responds to Lantus before you go off the standard BID protocol. The second type of split dosing which she mentions is an advanced technique which requires additional testing, monitoring, and a heck of a lot more work, plus consults from experienced folks who have used that technique (not me)
 
Thank you Sienne, and BJ, for answering my questions. I appreciate it. BID protocol, learned here, got me through the last two weeks solo, virtually, though we experienced turbulence. I certainly need no added work to this already challenging process so that eliminates advanced shooting patterns or working with another insulin, etc. This system is working. Thanks.

I'm am interested in the fluid injections for possible high ketones when Gandolf's #'s are high and he's not feeling well. He stopped drinking water from a bowl for so long I stopped putting it down. Just forgot. Then he got sick and I syringed water into him, and souped-up (made watery) his food,and though basically not eating, sometimes he would lap at it. Then it dawned on me to put a bowl of water down again, (I know it should have been there all the time, see what this poor kitty has to put up with), he spent a minute or two, or so it seemed, lapping water. Poor baby. He's been doing better and appetite is better. I'm not saying it was just the lack of water, but then again, it could've been. Lesson learned. :-|

Again, thanks.

Cee
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top