12/17 Frank PMPS 246 / +6.5 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

So...we had stuff to do yesterday evening and I thought...he is in the mid blues at +2, I have at least an hour before I need to really worry. So I go, leaving Frank with my daughter. I tell her if he starts acting goofy, give him a teaspoon HC gravy. Well, she said he was real sleepy so she gave him a tablespoon of HC. It actually looks like she gave him about a half of a can...arg. He rose high and fast and ended up HI this morning. Oh well, better she attempted to keep him safe than let him go hypo. He got some fluids this morning to help him through the highs. He seems to still be feeling okay. :)

Hope everyone has a great day! ~O) ~O) ~O)

AMPS HI
+3 534
+6 363
+9 348
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246

Duh...silly me wrote the wrong thing this morning. My internet connection has been sketchy all day. He's starting to come a little bit since yesterday, however. :-D
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63

He started gagging like he was going to barf so I tested. Droped 20pts in 15 minutes. Gave a tablespoon of low carb food.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63

I'm pretty sure, without intervention, kitty would have dropped below 50 or maybe even below 40 by now. He was 52 at one point and I am feeding him his regular food for every low number. Does anyone think that perhaps a dose shave would be good at this point? Or am I just worrying too much?
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63

Hi Tina!
Yup, you could have a little pj party tonight ;-) He could still drop as the food wears off, and generally speaking they get a reduction 'when' they go under 50. Since you are feeding to keep him surfing I am not sure if you should shave the dose, and I forgot to check your ss before I started typing... I don't think you're worrying too much and sorry I have no real dosing answers. But I would keep an eye on him tonight and don't feed for a bit just to see if he is still dropping or starting to surf on his own.
If I were you, I would edit your original post with a ? to get some sharper eyes here to answer your questions :-D
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63

Oh boy. Time for some gravy. You're going to want to make sure he doesn't get full since it's so early in his cycle. Give 1 tsp gravy and recheck in 20 min.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63/+4 47

I will be here Tina, watching for your next test, so maybe update your subject line again and leave the PMPS as well as the +4 just to make more room :smile:
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63/+4 47

OK - now you've seen the under 50. I was about to reply earlier that we don't reduce until we actually see a number under 50 cause sooner or later kitty will show it to us, and Frank has done that. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

A tsp of higher carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63/+4 47

Thanks y'all. I had actually given him a tbsp of reg. food already. But I gave him the tsp of gravy, as well. Maybe this is a good sign.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63/+4 47

Don't give him anymore lc for this now Tina. He has dropped too quick and the lc wasnt pulling him up. It will just 'fill' him up ;-)
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+2 127/+3 82/3.25 63/+4 47

Sorry, just for this part of the cycle, when you are trying to get the numbers up and Frank into a safe zone. MC or HC gravy is generally the best thing as it packs the carbs but doesn't fill them up, so they are more likely to reliably eat every 20 minutes if you need them to. Some kitties are a real battle to get up and keep up, taking hours. So if they were eating food every 20 minutes, they may get to a point where they refuse to eat when you really need them to.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42

I'd try to strain the HC and just give the gravy. Strain out the chunks or press out with the can lid. Less filling that way.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44

Go ahead and give another Tbls of the gravy Tina. He hasn't really moved here.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44

Forgot to mention, another pokey pokey in 20 min from last test :smile: Hopefully Frank is thinking all this yummy gravy is soooo worth the pokes! :-D
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44

Oh, and you can go 30 minutes between tests. It seems to take 30 minutes for most kitties to show the increase from the last serving of gravy/HC food.

We call this "lather, rinse, repeat". Test every 30 minutes, and give gravy/HC food each time until you get the numbers up to the 60s or 70s. Then it depends on what numbers you get, and where you are in the cycle. But people will stick with you for as long as it takes.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65

You're doing an amazing job here Tina! I'm going to have to take off as my alarm for work will be chiming in 4.5 hours. Carl is going to hang out with you tonight, and this is WAY better because he only makes you test every 30 min! :lol: :lol:

Keep doing what you're doing! And Frank...I know you are lovin' the gravy, but let's keep it within reason...your mama needs sleep tonight too ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65

Hi Tina (and Frank),
That 65 looks wonderful That's what we were hoping for. I'd go ahead and give him a tsp of gravy or the food the gravy is coming from. And test in 30. If he comes up a bit more, we can probably switch to low-carb food next test, and then hopefully, we'll be past the low numbers.

Carl
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65

So the gravy is showing itself. Good to see the number rising. I would hold off and not give gravy or food but DO retest in 30 min. It will show you if his numbers are rising on their own or only with help. Carl will be here right away :-D
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65

Oops. Cross posted. Ignore what I said :o :lol:
Have a great night Tina and Carl!
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75

OK, 101!
Here's what you can try....
hold off on any more food, and test in 30, and let's see if the numbers stay up. If so, you may be able to get some sleep soon.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75

101 ...lookin' good. Thanks everyone for sticking with me tonight. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4 47/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75

Before the next test, I had a couple questions after looking at his SS.

First off, you're getting lots of practice lately with "this". He's thrown quite a few greens at you the past few days.

And he's a "bouncer" for sure, but that will improve the more times he sees greens. He won't bounce as high.
His bounces seem to clear quickly too. Which is nice!

You had been giving him fluids for dehydration, right? Was the dehydration caused by something in particular (like DKA or something) or was he "just dehydrated"?
And he hasn't needed fluids since three nights ago?

Of course, this dip to the 40s means a reduction in dose, so tomorrow would be 2.25. Some people "shoot through a bounce", but I don't know that you need to do that with Frank. "Shooting through a bounce" is where you hold the dose for one more shot if you see a high (red or black) number in the morning. It seems to help bounces clear faster. But the way Frank is clearing bounces, I don't know if he needs help clearing them faster.

If you have any questions on the AM dose, please ask in the morning. But I'm thinking go ahead and take the reduction in the morning.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4.5 42/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75 101/+

He was feral when we brought him in. I am not sure why he was dehydrated...probably had to do with having diabetes for a while. He is supposed to get fluids 3 times a week. He gets them tomorrow evening. The second part is above my head just a little.
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75 101/+6 112

You mean the "shooting thru the bounce" thing? No problem. For now, just file it under "read it later".

Bottom line? According to the protocol, you should reduce Franks dose in the morning to 2.25u since he dropped below 50 tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 12/17 Frank PMPS 246/+4.75 44/+5. 65/+5.75 101/+6 112

Gotcha...thank you. I think I am gonna nap. Thank you for all of your help tonight.(181 now...yay!) cat_pet_icon
 
I think Frank is past the crisis, and you could nap. If you want, leave out a small serving of LC food. And if you happen to wake up in the next 3 hours or so, don't be afraid to give his ear a poke, just to make sure his numbers are still up. ;-)
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Okay...I get the "shoot through the bounce" part now. Der. I am one of those people who get hyper focused on the task and information gets filtered. All clear now, though.

Thanks everyone for being here to talk me through it and leave supportive words. Now that I am finished cleaning up the mess I made of that spreadsheet, I really am going to bed. I accidently gave a tbsp instead of a tsp that last time. Maybe that'll hold him for another hour. :lol:
 
Tina,
You handled this great. And yes, focusing on the task at hand is the most important thing. I just like tossing stuff out there in between tests. :-) I'm not the one with a meter in one hand, a poker in the other hand, and dishing out spoonfuls of sugar with a third hand. That's enough to keep you busy. :lol:

Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top