12/17 - Fluffy AMPS 365, +2 329 +4 242, +5 194, +6 145

Kayleegoose

Member Since 2025
Seems like every few days now we are recovering from a bounce…not sure if there is anything I can do to help prevent these, but I would love to know if there is.
 
Seems like every few days now we are recovering from a bounce…not sure if there is anything I can do to help prevent these, but I would love to know if there is.
I know how you feel. I hate those bounces. Someone would say, "looks like she's bouncing" and I would say NOOO! NO MORE BOUNCING! the good news is that as they get more comfortable in the lower numbers the bouncing seems to slow or stop but in the meantime, it is very frustrating 💓
 
I know how you feel. I hate those bounces. Someone would say, "looks like she's bouncing" and I would say NOOO! NO MORE BOUNCING! the good news is that as they get more comfortable in the lower numbers the bouncing seems to slow or stop but in the meantime, it is very frustrating 💓
That’s good to hear that it should slow or stop. I am becoming a recluse and afraid to leave my house most days now because of the potential for bounce recoveries 😔
 
Some cats are bouncier than others :rolleyes:. Bounce breaks can often have later nadirs, so easier to see once they’ve happened, which is why watching the patterns and waves of action over a couple of days helps to pin point if one is on the horizon.

How did the vetty visit go on Monday?
 
Some cats are bouncier than others :rolleyes:. Bounce breaks can often have later nadirs, so easier to see once they’ve happened, which is why watching the patterns and waves of action over a couple of days helps to pin point if one is on the horizon.

How did the vetty visit go on Monday?
That’s a good tip, thank you. It does look like he stayed lower later into last night.

Vet was good, thank you for asking. She didn’t fully seem to agree that the tests were necessary yet. I explained that I wanted to narrow things down regarding his need for a high dose, but she said it might just be because he’s a bigger cat (he’s part Maine coon). Not sure though. She noticed some of his teeth looked bad so we scheduled a dental procedure. The earliest they had is the beginning of February unfortunately, but I look forward to that and hopefully helping him feel better afterwards if his teeth are bothering him.
 
Dental issues can certainly influence BG numbers, but likely not the cause for his need for higher dose of insulin as he is at. Not all acro cats are large and I would suspect IAA has nothing to do with size of cat either, since Seth’s cat Bell (female) has IAA and I doubt she’s a large cat. Did the vet end up running the tests after all? Wendy’s cat was part Main Coon too, and she knows a lot more about the high dose conditions, although in my mind, ideally it would be good if the vet did run them just to rule them out @Wendy&Neko
 
Dental issues can certainly influence BG numbers, but likely not the cause for his need for higher dose of insulin as he is at. Not all acro cats are large and I would suspect IAA has nothing to do with size of cat either, since Seth’s cat Bell (female) has IAA and I doubt she’s a large cat. Did the vet end up running the tests after all? Wendy’s cat was part Main Coon too, and she knows a lot more about the high dose conditions, although in my mind, ideally it would be good if the vet did run them just to rule them out @Wendy&Neko
Yes, we ended up doing the tests because I insisted. I think what she was trying to say was that she thought maybe he needed the high dose because he’s a bigger cat. I think maybe I could see that being the case if the dose wasn’t quite as high as we’re at but I don’t know. That’s just my opinion based on looking at other spreadsheets on here.
 
Hi Kaylee, You had a lovely run of blues today. I'm curious why you took a dose reduction tonight.
I took it down to 7.5 a few days ago after the libre showed it going to 50 because it disconnected after that point and I wasn’t sure if it went lower. I tried 7.75 but I don’t really have the syringes to do that. I was kind of just trying my best to get it between 8 and 7.5 but I felt like for accuracy I should just call it 7.5 because that’s basically what they were
 
So I had to go back to previous posts to catch up after reading Christie's post. Here is the link to that post: 12/14 Fluffy AMPS 272, +5.5 150 +10 123 +11 171 PMPS 178, +1 148. It's really helpful to link your previous post so people ca more easily go back and read what was said before.
She didn’t fully seem to agree that the tests were necessary yet. I explained that I wanted to narrow things down regarding his need for a high dose, but she said it might just be because he’s a bigger cat (he’s part Maine coon).
Sigh, where have I heard that before. Wait, it was from my vet too. :banghead: I'm glad you insisted and hope the vet actually does both the IAA and IGF-1 test. We've seen people with "helpful" vets try to save them money by just doing one, and then when it comes back negative, they have to pay for yet another blood draw and shipping. Knowledge is power and gives you a direction to go, regardless of the outcomes.

We've seen large cats (Norwegian Forest) on tiny doses and tiny Siamese on large doses. Although TR's starting dose is based on weight, size doesn't play much into where their highest dose ends up.

Regarding bouncing, try to see if you can see patterns in the numbers. How many cycles does it take for Fluffy to typically clear a bounce? Looks like the last couple times it was 4 bounce cycle before heading down again. Use those bounce days to do things for you and get out of the house.

For dentals, any chance there is a dental specialty vet in your area? They might have more openings. Your vet would have to refer you.
 
So I had to go back to previous posts to catch up after reading Christie's post. Here is the link to that post: 12/14 Fluffy AMPS 272, +5.5 150 +10 123 +11 171 PMPS 178, +1 148. It's really helpful to link your previous post so people ca more easily go back and read what was said before.

Sigh, where have I heard that before. Wait, it was from my vet too. :banghead: I'm glad you insisted and hope the vet actually does both the IAA and IGF-1 test. We've seen people with "helpful" vets try to save them money by just doing one, and then when it comes back negative, they have to pay for yet another blood draw and shipping. Knowledge is power and gives you a direction to go, regardless of the outcomes.

We've seen large cats (Norwegian Forest) on tiny doses and tiny Siamese on large doses. Although TR's starting dose is based on weight, size doesn't play much into where their highest dose ends up.

Regarding bouncing, try to see if you can see patterns in the numbers. How many cycles does it take for Fluffy to typically clear a bounce? Looks like the last couple times it was 4 bounce cycle before heading down again. Use those bounce days to do things for you and get out of the house.

For dentals, any chance there is a dental specialty vet in your area? They might have more openings. Your vet would have to refer you.
I’m sorry, I keep forgetting to link the previous post 🤦🏻‍♀️ I did keep asking to make sure they were doing both tests because they kept talking about just one of them, so I was pretty insistent. She mentioned that I could reach out to an internist/specialist to work with on all this, which I would love to but I live in a smaller town. I’m about an hour and a half from MSU and Fluffy absolutely hates car rides. Might be worth it though if I can find someone there with experience and if I can get something to help keep him calm in the car.

As for dental specialists, I’m guessing it would be the same but I will look into that!
 
My vet suggested an IM vet after Neko's diagnosis came back positive (both of them). I declined, stuck with her as I'd been with her a long time. I used FDMB to tell me how to treat the acro and IAA, same as I'd been depending on them for dosing. The money I saved on an IM visit went towards treatment. My vet also helped when Neko added CKD to the list. Only when she added heart disease and small cell lymphoma did I decide an IM vet would help. And he did cause at that point it was getting hard to prioritize conditions and meds.
 
My vet suggested an IM vet after Neko's diagnosis came back positive (both of them). I declined, stuck with her as I'd been with her a long time. I used FDMB to tell me how to treat the acro and IAA, same as I'd been depending on them for dosing. The money I saved on an IM visit went towards treatment. My vet also helped when Neko added CKD to the list. Only when she added heart disease and small cell lymphoma did I decide an IM vet would help. And he did cause at that point it was getting hard to prioritize conditions and meds.
Oh my gosh, that is a lot to deal with. She was so lucky to have you ♥️
 
Back
Top