12/17 Clare AMBG (+12) 86;AMPS 122;+1/253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land neighbors!

We're sending healing wishes to all the kitties and beans in the neighborhood who need them this morning.

AMBG (+12) 86 (average of 2 tests)

AMPS (Normal +1) 122
+1 253
+2 377
+3.75 430

PMPS 374
+2 359
+3 319
+7 252

Clare has a low pre-shot number this morning, and I know it's because she was low last night and ate very little.

We'd appreciate your advice as to how to handle this. We're stalling; if we don't hear from anyone we'll wait until the usual +1 (7 AM) and give her a reduced dose.

Later: Thanks very much to Amy for her advice. I decided to give her insulin if she was coming up without food, and eating well. Both turned out to be true so we gave her a reduced dose, back to 0.25.

Clare was at the vet's yesterday afternoon for a checkup and blood draw for labs. She's lost 1/2 lb since our last check in July. I'll post the results of her labs when they come in, and fill in the Labs tab on her spreadsheet.

Have a good day, everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 12/17 Clare AMPS 86 First Low Pre-Shot/Stalling

Argh...just posted a reply and the board crashed for a second! I have to take off for work shortly so I can't stick around for long, but...

DO you have lots of tests strips and high carb food on hand? Are you able to monitor through the majority of the cycle? Is Clare eating OK?

Personally, since this is Clare's lowest PS by far, I would be very cautious about shooting, especially if you can't monitor through most of the cycle. As much as we love green PS numbers, you do have to be data-ready to shoot them - safety first!
 
Re: 12/17 Clare AMPS 86 First Low Pre-Shot/Stalling

Hi Amy,

I haven't fed her yet but she's staring at me intently and mewing, so I think she's hungry.

I'll be able to monitor her, and I have all of the supplies.

I'll test her again to make sure she's coming up. She'll likely be bouncing, if she is.

Thanks for your advice, Amy.

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 12/17 Clare AMBG 86; +1/122 First Low Pre-Shot/Stalling

Clare's stalled test (at the usual +1) was 122, so we are feeding her and she's eating well this morning.

I think she just may have been really worn out from her vet visit yesterday afternoon. They took blood for labs.

We gave her the 0.25 reduced dose and will monitor her closely today.

Thanks,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 12/17 Clare AMBG 86; +1/122 First Low Pre-Shot/Stalling

I'm glad to see that natural rise. Keep us posted....be safe, Clare!
 
Re: ;+2/37712/17 Clare AMBG (+12) 86;AMPS 122;+1/253

I'm glad Clare came up for you. Those low PS numbers can be tricky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top