12/17 Chronos AMPS 311 +3 337 +5 342 +8 323 PMPS 286

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-16-chronos-amps-326-3-316-5-298.271918/

Wanted to ask again since posted it later last night. But we spoke with out vet and got the blood work back for Chornos, everything was good except we did run a specFPL for his pancreas which came back high, i believe in the lower 20s if not 20 itself, she said and that it was the digestive enzyme part of the pancreas not the insulin part. Chronos has had this run a few times and always been high, the last one she ran for him was 9 a couple years ago and our Internal Medicine Vet has run it before but I don't recall those values since it was a 5-6 years ago. But basically in general it's been high, however Chronos has never had symptoms of pancreatitis.

So was curious what that could mean, from some looking around here and other places like the pancreatitis group, it seems this could be whats causing his diabetes? Has anyone else had a cat with no symptoms of pancreatits but a high FPL test?
 
Last edited:
In addition to my pancreatitis question, bummed by his numbers today, just went up after shot. Is that just something that can happen early on especially on a lower dose, i know its only the second day.
 
After reading more here on Flovent and asthma, and people seeing increases in BG from coughing fits, Chronos was coughing quite a bit this AM, gave him his flovent at +4 (hasn't coughed since), probably going to do twice a day for a bit, see if the coughing affected his BG.
 
The number on the SpecfPL doesn’t go along with how bad the bout is. Once Max was tested due to being symptomatic it never really went back to normal, even when he seemed to be feeling good. We just started treating the symptoms. If he was inappetent he was put on ondansetron. If hiding or no energy he got fluids and/or buprenorphine.
 
I had Sheba tested the first few times for pancreatitis but after that if she went off her food, vomited, or had diarrhoea for looked in pain I treated her for pancreatitis. The times she had a higher FPL she had symptoms.
 
Thanks all, yea his vet and specialist both said since he hasn't had symptoms there wasn't really anything to do. We haven't seen the specialist in a few years so our vet said we could talk to him and do another ultra sound but that would just be to rule out lesions/growths or any other systemic things like how is liver or intestines look. But I also want to try to give him a break from vet stuff for a little bit and see how he does with the insulin/inhaler. Plus we have to figure out what to do about his allergy vaccine, it should be ready next week (doing the liquid drops so we don't have to do more shots). Guess will just depend on how he is doing.

As for the asthma he had bouts if it when he was younger and we used flovent and the aerokat chamber as most do, but he seemed to out grow the need for it or at least it wasn't bothering him for years up until this past year when he developed allergies, basically licking certain areas raw/some itchiness. He is in a recovery suit full time for now which he has gotten used to and doesn't even notice now, but hopefully the allergy vaccine will work and he wont need it forever. But the coughing has been very noticeable this last week and the past month as well as in the beginning of spring and early fall. So we got a new chamber and prescription, will up him to 1 puff twice a day, vet had us just doing once a day but its not enough for right now.
 
Back
Top