12/17 Big Boy (disappointed) AMPS 194, +1 268, +3 284, +4 309, +5 250

Jasmin and Big Boy

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...08-stalled-1-104-decided-to-skip-dose.284625/

Feeling a bit disappointed in myself that I didn’t have enough confidence to give Big Boy his insulin last night per the vets instructions. His numbers are much higher today because of it.

The positive is I’ve learned from this experience. Next time I’ll just delay his insulin for a few hours and adjust my schedule. Plus I have all the tools to manage low numbers, should he go super low, so this will help my confidence.

It’s been frustrating seeing how big of a difference in numbers the libre gives compared to manual testing. At AMPS manual was 194 and libre was 228. Last night PMPS manual was 108 and libre was 135. Not sure I can really rely on the Libre.

Thanks for all the support. Have a great day!
 
Don't be disappointed in following vet's advice. Think of it as an opportunity to gather data for next time. Because there will be that next time. Since you have the Libre, you can see what happened to his numbers in spite of the no shot. The insulin depot did help him for the first part of the cycle after the skip. Having that data will come in handy in the future.

There are down sides to delaying the shot for a few hours. The goal of a delay is to do it without food, so you can see when the cycle is ending and he's coming up on his own without influence of food. But if you stall/wait too long without food, the numbers can start to come down. It's a bit of a balancing act.

On this forum, we suggest that if you get number below 150, and are following TR, you post and ask for help. A stall is not the only option. Eventually, with data, you'll be able to shoot those lower numbers. Lantus gives great flat cycles when you shoot lower preshots.
 
All meters are allowed to have a variance of 20%. So those numbers are not far apart. Once you have data and can test most following TR shoot if the bg is over 50. Maybe tell yourself you will start shooting on time if the bg is over 100 or 150 . Getting a +11 will help you see if the bg is starting to rise on its own. If it’s falling, then don’t feed and retest in 20-30 minutes if you don’t feel comfortable shooting. Lantus is known for giving flat cycles when shooting low. Most of us were scared to shoot low the first few times. Don’t be so hard on yourself.
 
As Wendy said, you will have enough data to shoot lower numbers soon. Someone here once told me you would eventually crave green preshot numbers. I didn't believe them til I started to. Then came shooting when you see 51, 52, 53.... And then seeing your kitty just surf on through.

You're doing great! Don't worry about the NS, he's going to come down from the bounce soon. :bighug:
 
Thank you all for the encouragement. I sure did need it. He was 106 PMPS last night and I gave him his insulin. His numbers came down to 57 an hour after his insulin last night, so I don't think that was insulin based, but probably more to do with him not eating much during the day. He did eat preshot, but will make sure he's eating during the day. When I started seeing the lower numbers I started giving him some high carb food, just so they didn't drop too much more and he stayed in the 57-74 range till +6 when I stopped testing manually and relied on the libre to confirm he is maintaining or increasing. (need some sleep :)).
 
Thank you all for the encouragement. I sure did need it. He was 106 PMPS last night and I gave him his insulin. His numbers came down to 57 an hour after his insulin last night, so I don't think that was insulin based, but probably more to do with him not eating much during the day. He did eat preshot, but will make sure he's eating during the day. When I started seeing the lower numbers I started giving him some high carb food, just so they didn't drop too much more and he stayed in the 57-74 range till +6 when I stopped testing manually and relied on the libre to confirm he is maintaining or increasing. (need some sleep :)).
Great job shooting low!!! And he surfed safely right through the cycle. :cat:
 
Back
Top