12/17- BEAR- amps 151.. stalled.. 164, +1 152, +2 121

Morning Vanessa :). How do you feel about shooting the full dose this time if you are home to monitor the cycle?
Thats what I was thinking.. i will be gone for a bit +4 for about 90 mins.. i do have a sitter for him while im gone but they dont know how to test.. i have my hc, and can do the mc mix again if needed
 
I think we’re just going to have to get used to shooting lower numbers these days, and hopefully hes on his way to a reduction 🙏
 
So far a couple things we have seen: 1) stalling has been mostly for you the last few times, his numbers were pretty flat. 2) he typically gets a good food bump to +1. You are shooting the number he will be at when he onsets, which will likely be higher than 151.
 
So far a couple things we have seen: 1) stalling has been mostly for you the last few times, his numbers were pretty flat. 2) he typically gets a good food bump to +1. You are shooting the number he will be at when he onsets, which will likely be higher than 151.
I said the same thing about the stalling 😆 we did get our ps 164 after 15.. so yes, a little peace of mind for mum today lol even if its just meter variance 😆
 
I wanted to ask you about that weird spike he had yesterday at +8..
He kibbled himself yesterday so I expected to see higher values at +6 test.. we did have lunch after +6 test but his usual half can of midday friskies lc. He usually doesn’t spike that much after lc
 
Hmm, I suppose it might be a combination of things, depends on how much he got. He might have gone just a bit lower before the +6 test, he did something similar on 12/10/2025 and even on 12/15/2025. Some kitties will show a high before a bounce break. Since he came down into PM cycle then nadired here at preshot, it looks more likely a bounce break, which can have later nadirs.
 
IMG_3136.png

Bear sends his love 🥰
(Dont mind his fur shave from his recent stint @ the ER 😆)
 
Handsome boy, I have a soft spot for the black kitties, I had a female eons ago. He’s probably thinking, oh man, is that lady in Calgary gonna make you poke my ear again?!
 
Nice! Sorry was a bit slow getting back from my walk, it’s super icy. So a little bit down, I’d give him another teaspoon or two of usual food. He’s onsetting, so it would be good to see +3.
 
I still have some mc left in the fridge, i wonder if hed eat a little bit of that 🤷‍♀️
Save the MC for mixing with LC a little later to get a higher LC, right now he’s doing fine with his usual food. Ideally you want to feed his usual food and see if that continues to keep his cycles stable. Again, also depends on how carb sensitive he is, we don’t want to use too high a carb food when you are able to monitor because you can see what is working and use that for future reference when you aren’t home to monitor. Does that make sense?
 
Those darn Canadian winters eh 🇨🇦 we’re having a bit of a warm up here in South Ontario today..

+3 is 126, after about 1/4ish can of friskies..

Off to my appointment, let’s hope he behaves for his sitter..


He did not want a +3 test lol
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3137.jpeg
    IMG_3137.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 26
Ok, I’m liking it, so far so flat :cool:. See you when you get back, and behave yourself, Bear. Sorry, and feed maybe just a wee bit more or leave some for him under the Christmas tree lol
 
Save the MC for mixing with LC a little later to get a higher LC, right now he’s doing fine with his usual food. Ideally you want to feed his usual food and see if that continues to keep his cycles stable. Again, also depends on how carb sensitive he is, we don’t want to use too high a carb food when you are able to monitor because you can see what is working and use that for future reference when you aren’t home to monitor. Does that make sense?
He did have a little mc the first time but i think he mostly licked the juice (not his fave) so i dont think it really affected his numbers much at all..
I was curious too to see how he’d fair without any support with food, as i think this may be our new norm.. hes going to have to get used to holding his own as I am at work most days lol
 
I agree, probably not. He’s not being super bouncy, usually trying to feed the curve, ie. at +1, +2 and +3 helps to flatten the curve since bounces can happen when kitties drop too quickly as well as when they get to numbers they aren’t used to. Also, this technique can help where a kitty is perhaps carb sensitive, and they experience large food bumps, with only LC food. In theses cases, strategically placing out meal times helps flatten the curve. It does help to experiment with feeding times, in order to help get the best possible combined effects between the insulin and the food. On days like today where you can see what works or doesn’t, it’s useful info for cycles when you aren’t home. This too is why it’s good to try just feed his usual food first.
 
I agree, probably not. He’s not being super bouncy, usually trying to feed the curve, ie. at +1, +2 and +3 helps to flatten the curve since bounces can happen when kitties drop too quickly as well as when they get to numbers they aren’t used to. Also, this technique can help where a kitty is perhaps carb sensitive, and they experience large food bumps, with only LC food. In theses cases, strategically placing out meal times helps flatten the curve. It does help to experiment with feeding times, in order to help get the best possible combined effects between the insulin and the food. On days like today where you can see what works or doesn’t, it’s useful info for cycles when you aren’t home. This too is why it’s good to try just feed his usual food first.
Yes he seems to have that bounce around +8 for some reason.. typically feed at +6 or +7 depending on my schedule that day..

Im so glad he cooperated for his sitter to get his read! This is huge, no one besides me has been able to test him lol
 
Depending on carb sensitivity, sometimes feeding after nadir can put the brakes on whatever duration is left, which may also account for some increases in BG later in the cycle.
 
Well done and great job to you and Bear :cat:, I’m so glad you had a chance to gain some confidence and data with shooting regular dose :bighug:, and I was happy to help. You may want to make a quick note the remarks for the times you gave LC, it will be good down the road if you need to refer back.
 
Well done and great job to you and Bear :cat:, I’m so glad you had a chance to gain some confidence and data with shooting regular dose :bighug:, and I was happy to help. You may want to make a quick note the remarks for the times you gave LC, it will be good down the road if you need to refer back.
Couldn’t have done it without you! 🥹 Bear’s auntie Christie lol
 
Back
Top