12/17 Asia AMPS 163, +1.25 154, +6 42, +10 68 PMPS 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...38-5-74-5-5-78-7-55-8-54.188132/#post-2089729

AMPS 163. Shot 1.5 per the reduction she didn't subtly earn last night. Definitely food influenced. I got the 112 reading an hour after the 54 and my sleeping brain said "yes, that number is right, go to bed" rather than "o_O retest just to make sure". I wasted no time, so I fell asleep with Asia having about half a cans worth of FF gravy and her other food still sitting in the bowl. Plenty left in both when I woke up. No +10 today, but I got a +1 through a +9 with many .5's in there, so it will have to do this time! ;)

I am so glad she saved her drama for the PM, even though it was a very brutal night. How am I ever to leave this cat alone ever without stress puking when I know she can do something like this? :facepalm: And here's a head scratcher: why when she tested 48 and I fed her FF & honey did she give me a 38 in 30 minutes?! That is not how that is supposed to work!

Today's mission was to be gathering higher carb gravies, making my own gravy for her and getting sugar alternatives (karo). But life will be on hold until I can get a few hours of sleep in. :blackeye:
 
Go get your sleep! And Asia, time to wash your drama pants... please take them off.

Congratz on the reduction ;)
I so wish I could, but preshot until +4 is where the real drama starts! :blackeye: If I slept right now without intervening, she could be below 50 in little over an hour.
 
Sorry about your official membership to the no sleep club:arghh: Hopefully she'll take a break today so you can get a good solid nap in.

And here's a head scratcher: why when she tested 48 and I fed her FF & honey did she give me a 38 in 30 minutes?! That is not how that is supposed to work!
Sometimes it takes more gravy/honey then other times. Doodles needed excessive amounts of gravy/honey at times. Congrats on the reduction and hopefully she'll ask for one during the day when you're home next time.
 
Sorry about your official membership to the no sleep club:arghh:

Thanks, Karen, what do we get for joining? Something better than more grey hairs, under eye bags and a free toaster, I hope! ;)


Sometimes it takes more gravy/honey then other times. Doodles needed excessive amounts of gravy/honey at times. Congrats on the reduction and hopefully she'll ask for one during the day when you're home next time.
I wish there was a much nerdier way to go about this. Human diabetics can chug a soda or eat cookies or whatever if they go too low, but if they are on their game, they can also take liquid glucose or eat glucose tablets and know precisely how much raises their BG by how many points. I want to be able to do that. :( I don't think Asia likes sweet things. I've been doing FF gravy with honey because the gravy alone doesn't seem to do it, and if she detects the honey, she doesn't want it. I think the FF is so overpoweringly stinky, I can get a few drop in there without her noticing.
 
Good morning partner! Hope you're sleeping now and don't see this for a while. :p:cat: thanks for hanging with us while your hands full with Asia antics! :bighug::bighug::bighug: may you both have an uneventful day! :D
 
Oh my Stacy, you poor bean. I hope you got a little sleep but by the looks of Asia's SS it looks like you haven't. :nailbiting:Congrats on Asias reduction. I see she dropped to 42 at +7 today. Another reduction in order?

I see Asia didn't take her drama pants off.
 
I did get a short nap in today, DD tested her for a couple of hours. I managed to go get Karo, maple syrup, and a couple of gravy varieties higher than the 14% I was using. Haven't tried any of them yet, her hypo today was before I went out to get the new stuff.

My question is, another reduction a cycle after the last?! What the heck is happening here? I have no delusions this is a remission mission, but what is it? Why is this happening? Is it Lantus? I'm just very confused. @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Doodles & Karen @Chris & China

Any seasoned thoughts? Stabs in the dark, even. All appreciated.
 
My question is, another reduction a cycle after the last?!

No....we don't usually take back to back reductions because the depot is still in play for up to 6 cycles, so it's still pumping out at the higher dose until it drains

I'm glad you got all the "emergency" supplies!! Having your hypo kit ready at all times is a lifesaver!!

I'm sure you're already concerned about the PMPS so I'll say this now.....wait for the actual test....once Asia starts bouncing, those numbers can climb quickly
 
No....we don't usually take back to back reductions because the depot is still in play for up to 6 cycles, so it's still pumping out at the higher dose until it drains

I'm glad you got all the "emergency" supplies!! Having your hypo kit ready at all times is a lifesaver!!

I'm sure you're already concerned about the PMPS so I'll say this now.....wait for the actual test....once Asia starts bouncing, those numbers can climb quickly

I've had the hypo kit from the getout, but the back story is, she isn't responding to the FF gravy or honey as much as I'd like her to (20ish point bump, if I'm so lucky) so I'm experimenting with different sugars, different more carb gravies. I'm not so much worried for the preshot (I am, but I also suspect she may come up a bit before then), I'm just concerned about yet another hypo on yet another reduction and I don't understand why the sudden zoom down on dose.
 
I've had the hypo kit from the getout, but the back story is, she isn't responding to the FF gravy or honey as much as I'd like her to (20ish point bump, if I'm so lucky) so I'm experimenting with different sugars, different more carb gravies. I'm not so much worried for the preshot (I am, but I also suspect she may come up a bit before then), I'm just concerned about yet another hypo on yet another reduction and I don't understand why the sudden zoom down on dose.
Some of them respond really well to Temptations cat treats as BG raising nibbles.
 
Some of them respond really well to Temptations cat treats as BG raising nibbles.
That would be awesome, but she doesn't like cat treats, I think over the years I've tried just about every brand, she just ignores them: smells them, walks away. :rolleyes:

The only thing she will eat is the freeze dried chicken, but even that is hit or miss sometimes (and no carb, so no help for this).
 
I messed up entering something on my SS, she's not +11 right now, she's +10, will have to compare to my log and find the error and correct it, but just wanted to note that
 
I don't understand why the sudden zoom down on dose

That's a question for wiser people than me!!

My best answer is the stars aligned in just the right way and BAM....down she goes!! ;)

Seriously though, nobody can really answer that...but generally, at some point, you hit a "breakthrough" dose and all the sudden, good things start happening.
 
Wow ... congrats on the reducie. Sorry that she still has her drama pants on though. Hope things settle down and that you can get some much needed rest.:bighug:
 
I did get a short nap in today, DD tested her for a couple of hours. I managed to go get Karo, maple syrup, and a couple of gravy varieties higher than the 14% I was using. Haven't tried any of them yet, her hypo today was before I went out to get the new stuff.

My question is, another reduction a cycle after the last?! What the heck is happening here? I have no delusions this is a remission mission, but what is it? Why is this happening? Is it Lantus? I'm just very confused. @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Doodles & Karen @Chris & China

Any seasoned thoughts? Stabs in the dark, even. All appreciated.
Boomer did the same thing a few weeks ago.....was in high numbers then all of a sudden we hit on the right dose and I guess it kick-started his pancreas to some degree and he had 4 reducies within a month.
 
Boomer did the same thing a few weeks ago.....was in high numbers then all of a sudden we hit on the right dose and I guess it kick-started his pancreas to some degree and he had 4 reducies within a month.
So you think it's pancreatic sputterings in addition to the insulin I'm giving that's making everything wonky? Has Boomer done that before? You just rapidly decrease and he eventually chilled out with the hypo stuff?
 
I know the depot is still in the picture, so should I hold the 1.5 and see what happens, or take another reduction at PMPS?
 
Hold the dose. Often, when you take back to back reductions, once the depot gets caught up you end up having to go back up in dose. If Asia really wants another reduction, you'll know soon enough.
Thanks, Tricia, I figured this was the case, but she's been having crazy hypo/near hypo cycles and has earned 3 reductions in 7 days (not including the one from today).
 
Thanks, Tricia, I figured this was the case, but she's been having crazy hypo/near hypo cycles and has earned 3 reductions in 7 days (not including the one from today).

Sometimes they race down the dosing scale. Sometimes they just get on a little roll. Time will tell which applies here. You are on top of things, so better to be conservative with the reductions until you know what's going on. It's depressing when they fail a reduction.
 
Gave her a tsp of a new gravy food I got Wellness Gravies "Healthy Indulgence" :joyful: Chicken & Turkey smothered in gravy. It's 19% carb. Thanks @LizzieInTexas for the pouch suggestion! They didn't sell Weruva at the pet boutique I went to today, but it is so much easier to squeeze the gravy out of these than to deal with the cans!
 
So you think it's pancreatic sputterings in addition to the insulin I'm giving that's making everything wonky? Has Boomer done that before? You just rapidly decrease and he eventually chilled out with the hypo stuff?
Boomer has not done this before. He seemed to develop a bit of insulin resistance when I didn't increase his dose rapidly enough to control his numbers so it took some time and many increases before he started to respond but then he responded pretty quickly. If you take a look at his ss in September, he was only having 1-2 good cycles a week and then we hit 3 units and it took a few days at 3 units but he started to respond....actually earned a reducie with a 38 but that first reducie failed. He's been at 2 u for a month now and is still having the odd number under 50 so he's 2/3 of the way towards another reduction. So yes with Boomer I think his pancreas sputtered back to life....not enough for remission....I doubt very much that will happen as he's been in remission 3 times....but it along with the 2 units is keeping him in good numbers now.
 
've had the hypo kit from the getout, but the back story is, she isn't responding to the FF gravy or honey as much as I'd like her to
There are some high carb wet foods with over 20% carbs. Some cats need higher carbs than others. I had some Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup around, just in case I needed higher guns.

Glad you held the dose today. Overfull depots can be a bear to deal with, as you saw today. Looks like she's letting you sleep tonight.
 
Glad you got ahold of the Cats in the Kitchen Pouches - they're my gravy lifeline. :-)

My vet gave me glucose syrup which is so easy to get into Girlie via syringe. It also has the advantage that I can really fine tune how much get in her. It raises her BG levels quite quickly, but they don't stay as high as long as higher carb food does. However, that could also be an advantage, I suppose, if it's late in the cycle and you want to bump up but you don't want that to hang in for too long. How does Asia feel about getting meds via syringe? Just a thought on what worked for us in the early days... :-)

Hope you can catch some sleep; I'm with you there on the need for sleep! It's tough...you need to sleep, but you want to be there for them to keep them green or in case they go too low. It's an awful dilemma...:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top