? 12/17/24 WATSON AMPS 392 Libre/ 280 Meter; +1-389; +2-316

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Got a call from the vet referral hospital and since I can't afford the intestinal biopsy at this time they want to try treating him for IBD and see if that makes a difference.

He started last night at shot time with 2ml of Prednisone 1 time daily. Follow-up with IM doc in 3-4 weeks.
I just increased his dosage by .25 to 3.0 yesterday hoping I could get some blue numbers before I knew he'd be starting the steriod. He has done much better the past 2 weeks with many less reds (a couple bounces and a new meter) but still mostly pinks and yellows.

I believe I've read that steriods can actually cause diabetes in cats or increase their blood sugar so I'm wondering what affect this will have on his readings and how much of an increase is normal after starting steriods.

I welcome any input into IBD and / or steriod use for IBD. Thanks in advance!

Tagging @Wendy&Neko as I know she has experience in this area.


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-369-libre-328-meter-1-386-2-341.296385/
 
Steroids, specifically prednisolone, will likely impact his BG numbers. Can you tell me the concentration of prednisolone, how many mg/ml? Dosing should be by mg. I hope it's prednisolone, not prednisone he is getting.

Did the vet say anything about changing diet? Some people will try a novel proten diet first instead of diet. Which is some meat type he hasn't eaten before. Also part of that is a good probiotic like Visbiome and a prebiotic like psyllium husk fiber.
 
A couple websites to learn about IBD and that talk about diet approaches:
https://www.ibdkitties.net/ and https://www.rawfeedingforibdcats.org/

Note, you can get novel proteins in canned form too.
Thanks for the links. I will definitely look at those. He has tried rabbit and duck before and won’t eat them and I have four cats total so it’s a problem keeping his food separate from everybody else’s as I don’t have a closed in spot to feed him. You are right it is prednisolone it says 3 mg/mL and he is getting 2 mL every 24 hours. Although he has tried visbiome, psyllium, husk powder and fortiFlora before I can always add those back in. The vet did not mention change in diet at all.
 
OK, that's a 6 mg dose. You don't need to add back the Fortiflora, it doesn't do much for IBD.

If he can be diet controlled for his IBD, then you can reduce the steroids, which will impact his BG. First step is to see if you can get him to feel better on his current pred dose. You will probably need to increase insulin dose as a result, but that's OK.
 
OK, that's a 6 mg dose. You don't need to add back the Fortiflora, it doesn't do much for IBD.

If he can be diet controlled for his IBD, then you can reduce the steroids, which will impact his BG. First step is to see if you can get him to feel better on his current pred dose. You will probably need to increase insulin dose as a result, but that's OK.
I assume that since I just raised his dose yesterday that I would wait the seven days before I do another increase, is that correct? I will look for some other novel protein cat food, and see if I can get him to try it. Thank you so much for your guidance. I really appreciate it.
@Wendy&Neko
 
You can try lamb or venison if he's more of a red meat eater. I've also seen freeze dried raw pork (Primal), since it looks like he likes freeze dried. However, I think the YA is actually pork, so that wouldn't be novel to him.

On the dose, today is day 2, so normally you would wait the full 7 days. Are you testing him for ketones? Have they ever been an issue? If his numbers start to go up a lot, we might be able to raise it a little sooner, especially if ketones present. You do have the Libre to give us a good idea what nadirs he is getting.
 
You can try lamb or venison if he's more of a red meat eater. I've also seen freeze dried raw pork (Primal), since it looks like he likes freeze dried. However, I think the YA is actually pork, so that wouldn't be novel to him.

On the dose, today is day 2, so normally you would wait the full 7 days. Are you testing him for ketones? Have they ever been an issue? If his numbers start to go up a lot, we might be able to raise it a little sooner, especially if ketones present. You do have the Libre to give us a good idea what nadirs he is getting.
@Wendy&Neko
No ketones, he doesn’t eat the Raw freeze dried chicken very often, it is mostly for one of my other cats. He only eats it if the young again kibble is empty.
I’ll search out a few of those other proteins within The next few days.
 
Back
Top