12/16 SUMO AMPS 197, PMPS 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Morning, did not feel comfortable shooting Sumo's regular 3.0, so gave 2.75 instead. I know not too much of a difference, but I am not sure if I will be able to come home to check on him today. I will be boarding him this weekend and am concerned about him going to low. They will have a tech come in on Sunday to dose him, but they will not be around to check him thru out the day. Do you think I should lower his insulin a bit just for this weekend? I am trying to talk my husband into taking Sumo with us, but not sure this is going to fly!

Recap yesterday
AMBG 52 did not shoot
PMPS 392
+5 258

AMBG today 198

Thanks, Mary
 
Re: 12/16 SUMO AMPS 197

Mary Because you are so new, If it were me, I would try to take my kitty with me...Vet's dont have anyone there till morning, so I can understand your ideas--Can you get one of the vet techs at the vet's office to come & shoot Sumo at home, as at least he'd be in his own house?...
It is a problem for us as well I have gone away twice in almost 4 yrs, as I wont leave Moonie...
Many peeps here do though, and some train a relative or a friend to learn to test & shoot their furbabies..
I would pay almost anything to have someone help us this way..
Also, ask dosing helpers for advice on dosing...Nice blue start!
 
Re: 12/16 SUMO AMPS 197

Hi Mary, you can use the ? icon and put "dosing question" in your subject line to get expert opinions. I know that Sienne gives Gabby a reduced dose and no testing when she travels. We have had a vet tech stay at our house to give Zener his shots and test when we travel. Happy Friday!
Liz
 
Sumo doesn't know it yet, but Roni's advice this morning stuck and guess what ????? Road trip! Sumo will be going to San Diego for the next few days. His numbers lately have been good, with a few recent dips in the 50' and 60's. I just don't feel comfortable leaving him at the vet, since I believe on Sundays the tech comes in AM and PM to dose, but is not there during the day to monitor. They do have a tech that could come to the house, but Sumo would be under the bed at first sight! If anyone knows of a medication (over the counter) that I might give him to reduce anxiety during the drive, I would really appreciate the name. Otherwise we will get by OK (at least I hope )
Thanks, Mary

Sumo dosed tonight at his regular 3.0 units
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top