12/16 Shishi PMPS 297 +2 286 +6 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31415

Hello everyone.

recap of last week:

Family members have dropped in for the holidays, and have a hard time adjusting to Shishi's needs. Doors and food have been left out in the open allowing Shishi to gain access to HC food.

I have been doing my best to make sure food and doors are in check, and family members are adjusting to the change. But despite our efforts, Shishi's BG I fear has changed due to the constant exposure of HC food.

I have tried to lock Shishi in a single floor of the house. but doing so caused a anxiety attack, followed by panting. So no more of that.

Shishi is still doing the same

-She is not purring
-She is peeing alot
-she is pooping normally
-she is grooming but coat is still full of dandruff
-she dosent play, but just lays around and thats normal for her. Still cries for food about 1-2 hr prior to feeding time.

I have increased the dose to 3.5 units from 3.25 units today, and in hopes of seeing green again. Open to suggestions as always.

Thanks again for your time LL.
 
Re: 12/16 Shishi AMPS 329 +3 248

hi Will, good morning...

couple of questions, who's the HC food for in your household? dog? a cat on dry food?
also, could you do a breakdown of Shishi's feeding schedule, example: preshot time meal, +1, +2, +3 etc...when during the cycles is food available to her? and how much? i know you have this in your profile, but if the schedule has changed, let us know k?

not sure when family members arrived, but that might be a possibility, the stress of being kept away in another room, but I really want to see your feeding schedule first.
You could even note in on your spreadsheet, by adding it to the corresponding time cell. (example: take a look at my SS, I note when Luna has food and how much)

As for the P's, is she eating well? no issues with that?
I'll check back on you way later today, I have a long day ahead of me, but see what others can add too.

Have a good day!
 
Hey Ronnie

Thanks for dropping by, The HC food is human food scraps or crumbs dropped on the floor. This would be anything from breadcrumbs to meat to frenchfries. When other family members forget to close the kitchen door, Shishi has access and starts hunting for crumbs. This is most often the case.

Her feeding schedule and injection schedule is very consistent. no low carb treats or other food.
78g of wellness chicken at AMPS 3.5 units
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5
+6 39g of wellness chicken
+7
+8
+9
+10
+11
78g of wellness chicken at PMPS 3.5 units
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5
+6
+7
+8
+9
+10
+11
78g of wellness chicken at AMPS 3.5 units. cycle repeats.

Family members arrived Nov 28th.

I been giving injections solely on the back of the shoulders, switching different sites on the back. But now thinking maybe I have to try the thigh or stomach. Her curve is completely different even with the increased dosage.

Shes eating very well, bowl licked clean everytime so far. Tested negative for ketones, not too sure whats going on with her. Maybe shes got a secret stash of HC food somewhere. I watched her closely for the last 2 days, and very sure she did not get any HC food.
 
I think there might be a few possible explanations.
  • Stress. With people other than you, Shishi's routine is disrupted and cats are creatures of habit. If there are more people around, there's more noise and more chaos.
  • Have you taken a close look at your insulin? Could it be pooping out?
  • It just may be that Shishi needs more insulin. You just raised the dose. Let's see if the increase does the job. If the dosecrease brings numbers down, then it rules out toasty insulin.
 
Hi Will,
thank u for posting your feeding info.
by the way, do u leave food out for her overnite?

looks like about 24 days on current insulin - check out what Sienne posted, and see how the next couple of cycles go.

have a good weekend!
 
Hello all

No food left out overnight, she only gets those 3 meals per day.

I thought as much about the insulin going toast aswell, I inspected the insulin and no floaters and very clear, will try new vial in the next few days because this vial is running out/going toast soon anyways.

People have been stopping by and staying few nights and leaving. It is indeed stressful for Shishi.

Will continue to monitor her and see what happens in the next few cycles.

Take care all, have a great weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top