12/16 Oberon PMPS 297, +3 377, +4.5 382

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: bounce; slow day https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-219-3-5-307-7-75-382-pmps-388-4-396.240038/

Gave some R this morning to see if I can get him down just a little. Yesterday I finally had a chance to play with the calipers in the lab. (I wanted to confirm how much the syringes were dispensing using my analytical balance; I'm a geek.) Not surprisingly, there's a bit of extra space before the start of the syringe marks, so my measurements have been off. Not a big deal at the higher doses, but more important for the small R doses. Looks like what I've been measuring as 1 U is closer to 2 U, 0.5 U is about 1.65 U, and 0.25 U is 1.2 U. (And that's on this particular batch of syringes; I know the mark placement may vary.) So now I'm really starting over with the R scale.

This morning I measured out 0.25 U the way I've been doing it, then measured the distance (1.55 mm) to calculate the actual dose (about 1.1 U). Moving forward, I'll determine the dose with the calipers. Kicking myself a bit for not having done this sooner, but at least I'm starting to do it now as he heads for lower Lantus doses.
 
3D33306C-91F3-46BE-821A-67A180A502D2.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 3D33306C-91F3-46BE-821A-67A180A502D2.jpeg
    3D33306C-91F3-46BE-821A-67A180A502D2.jpeg
    38.7 KB · Views: 62
Don't beat yourself up :bighug:BUT once you go to calipers, you never go back lol. If yours are digital buy an extra battery. I was intimated by calipers at first but they really do help.

Surf safely, Oberon :cat:

Oh, good idea. I have spare batteries for the meter, but not the calipers.
 
He was just below my threshold for R at PMPS (but coming back up), so I skipped it. Tomorrow morning will be his 6th cycle since his last reduction/big drop, so I'm expecting some excitement. No R then either, just in case.

In terms of using the calipers, I think what I'm going to do is switch my measuring system at the next dose reduction. (I'll note it in the spreadsheet.) He's currently getting 4 U (actually about 4.6-4.7 U w/calipers). Next reduction will be to 3.5 U (so actually about 4.1 U). I'll switch to using the calipers then. Should I actually measure out 4.1 U with the calipers, or just go ahead and bring it down slightly more to an even 4.0 U? It's 5.60 vs. 5.74 mm on the calipers. Really not a big difference.
 
The joy with calipers is that it doesn't really matter what you call the dose, but rather that you are consistent in how much you give each time. If you want to call the next dose 4.0, go ahead and do so. Just put a blank line in the spreadsheet and an explanation in the remarks that you are "resetting" the dose and why. I did the same as you, due to the gap under the zero line on the BC syringes (about 1/3 of a unit in bad syringes).
 
Back
Top