Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
yesterday: bounce; slow day https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-219-3-5-307-7-75-382-pmps-388-4-396.240038/
Gave some R this morning to see if I can get him down just a little. Yesterday I finally had a chance to play with the calipers in the lab. (I wanted to confirm how much the syringes were dispensing using my analytical balance; I'm a geek.) Not surprisingly, there's a bit of extra space before the start of the syringe marks, so my measurements have been off. Not a big deal at the higher doses, but more important for the small R doses. Looks like what I've been measuring as 1 U is closer to 2 U, 0.5 U is about 1.65 U, and 0.25 U is 1.2 U. (And that's on this particular batch of syringes; I know the mark placement may vary.) So now I'm really starting over with the R scale.
This morning I measured out 0.25 U the way I've been doing it, then measured the distance (1.55 mm) to calculate the actual dose (about 1.1 U). Moving forward, I'll determine the dose with the calipers. Kicking myself a bit for not having done this sooner, but at least I'm starting to do it now as he heads for lower Lantus doses.
Gave some R this morning to see if I can get him down just a little. Yesterday I finally had a chance to play with the calipers in the lab. (I wanted to confirm how much the syringes were dispensing using my analytical balance; I'm a geek.) Not surprisingly, there's a bit of extra space before the start of the syringe marks, so my measurements have been off. Not a big deal at the higher doses, but more important for the small R doses. Looks like what I've been measuring as 1 U is closer to 2 U, 0.5 U is about 1.65 U, and 0.25 U is 1.2 U. (And that's on this particular batch of syringes; I know the mark placement may vary.) So now I'm really starting over with the R scale.
This morning I measured out 0.25 U the way I've been doing it, then measured the distance (1.55 mm) to calculate the actual dose (about 1.1 U). Moving forward, I'll determine the dose with the calipers. Kicking myself a bit for not having done this sooner, but at least I'm starting to do it now as he heads for lower Lantus doses.

BUT once you go to calipers, you never go back lol. If yours are digital buy an extra battery. I was intimated by calipers at first but they really do help.