12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157+9~203/PMPS~358+6~140 vet followup

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,


we had an early morning visit to the vet today, followup visit, I showed the x-ray i had at the other vet, it was clearer to him, as the fist x-ray we had wasn't that clear (problem with the machine) but they didn't want to admit, today he did admit and told me that its good that you got her a clearer x-ray.

nothing was visible as a tumor or something to him in the x-ray, he said it has to be really small- which is good. hear seemed normal and lungs seems good too, no sign of the small dots that were claimed to be tumor by the senior vet earlier this week (bad x-ray) so nothing visible. but the cause of the water in the lungs is a sign of cancer as he said today, or a heart problem.


the other things is about lusix , I told him that I got her some tablets from the other clinic day before yesterday, the he was like she's not prednisolone and its some kind of cortisone so too much or lusix will increase another risk, which is dehydration for a diabetic kitten, so he told me to reduce the dose to once a day instead of twice for 5 days, then he will decide after having a test on Thursday, he asked bring her fasting the night before. he said the problem with lusix and water removal now is the risk of losing potassium, and asked me to give potassium supplement as the shortage in that can cause dehydration too.


he listen to the hear and breathing and told me its very good thank God !


We had the rest of the morning in the house garden when we came back, she enjoyed sitting next to me while I had my coffee ~O)


the only bad thing is her BG ! its black nailbite_smile


do I need to adjust the dose ???

I've been giving her whatever she wants to eat, specially that I had to mix the lusix tablet after powdeizing with some gravy to make sure she have it all. because i have to give 1/8 of the tablet only, and it's not possible to give directly.



thats all .. keeping hope and prayers to my sweet princess




Previous Condo

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85099
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

I don't know anything about the medications or the medical advice, but it sounds like this vet knows what he's talking about. I'm glad her heart and lungs sound good, and her new xray looks good :)

As far as the dosing question, I think I would see how this cycle goes and see if she doesn't come down later.
Is she eating okay or well, now?
I won't be here at your PMPS, so someone else will advise you about the dosing.

Sending better days vines to Noni. You are both in my prayers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

I'm so glad to hear this better report for Noni. It's wonderful!!!
Hug her for me. and :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: to you.
enjoy your time in the garden with her.. what a nice, peaceful time together.
Take good care..
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

Great to hear some better news! :smile:
No dose advice, but a lot of kitties respond to vet visits with high BGs.

Take care.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

Please check with your vet or a pharmacist about they way you are giving the Lasix. I don't know if it's either effective or safe to make a tablet into a powder. Some drugs do not work if you break them apart.

One question you may want to ask your vet is whether the xrays show that Noni has an enlarged heart. (This is called "hypertrophic cardiomyopathy -- HCM.) There are a number of drugs that can be used to treat the symptoms of a heart problem. You should also find out if Noni has high blood pressure. High blood pressure can contribute to these problems.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

I'm so glad you got better news on Noni! Sending calming vines and (((hugs))) to you. Hope her numbers come down as well. You will still be in my thoughts and prayers that she continues to improve. Have a good day!
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

Good news, Aseel. We are keeping sending those prayers and healing vines for your girl.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520 (vet followup visit)

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please check with your vet or a pharmacist about they way you are giving the Lasix. I don't know if it's either effective or safe to make a tablet into a powder. Some drugs do not work if you break them apart.

One question you may want to ask your vet is whether the xrays show that Noni has an enlarged heart. (This is called "hypertrophic cardiomyopathy -- HCM.) There are a number of drugs that can be used to treat the symptoms of a heart problem. You should also find out if Noni has high blood pressure. High blood pressure can contribute to these problems.


I was advice to make into powder by her vet, as the idle weight to take one tablet is 20 kg. half of a tablet is for 10, 1/4 is for 5 kg. and since Noni is 3.7 k.g she should only take a bit less than a 1/4 tablet.

the problem that here in Kuwait, there is so many restriction on medication by Ministry of Health, that the vet himself was complaining about and that we people suffer from.even painkiller and morphine for operations is not available for vets here can you imagine :sad: poor pets !

your question about the heart, her heart looked normal and sound normal as the vet checked on that today. no fluids were in the lungs too.

I just hope that there is no tumor and the cause of the fluid is something less dangerous, specially that no tumors where visible in the x-ray and this is only based on assumptions and expertise.

I will ask about the blood pressure, our next visit on Thursday I will keep this in mind.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

Noni send love and lots of hugs to you, she loves you all and keeping high HOPES
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

Good evening Aseel. I'm glad to see that your vet visit resulted in some good news for Noni. I hope she continues to improve. I'll bet she really enjoyed the peaceful time with you in the garden following the vet visit.

Keeping you and Noni in our thoughts and Prayers.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

This sounds like some positive news for you and Noni! Still sending prayers for both of you and for her vets. Icky AMPS, but lovely +6! Hope Noni can keep those blue numbers going for a while. Blessings!
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

Thank you so much Jone, we really had great time today .. It was really cold though

Now she's restless want the door be open so she can scape .. But it's not save for her outsid alone.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

Thank you dear Deborah, I wasn't sure she will come to blue today after seeing black BG ! But that god she did !
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157 (vet followup visit)

I'm so relieved to hear such good news about Noni, Aseel.

I am keeping her in my prayers that she continues to get better. :YMHUG:

Tell her that she can go outside tomorrow with you when it's warmer outside.
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157+9~203 (vet followup visit)

Thank you dear Dyana .. I will fight this with Noni and won't give up on hope ! Happy that'l is nothing was so clear in the X-ray ! It's all because love and true prayers ;)


Tomorrow morning I will take her our if its sunny .. She's an indoor babe , don't want her to get hurt or lost maybe hehehe
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157+9~203 (vet followup visit)

Hey there, sounds like Noni is doing good so far.. and the news sounds optimistic...

Are the fluids coming back ? I think I remember you saying it was really humid and she has asthma and you used a oxygen cage on her or something and I wonder if this could be related to the fluids? Maybe not but sounds like a coincidence somehow..
 
Re: 12/16 Noni~AMPS~520+6~157+9~203/PMPS~358 vet followup vi

Hmmm Wendy ! I don't really know about this ! Hope that was the cause only and no tumors ;-(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top