12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 +2 343 +4 331 IM Vet Talk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32156

Recap:
AMPS: 270 8th cycle f1u
+1: 225
+2: 119
+2.5: 99
+3: 94
+3.5: 98
+4.5: 142
+7: 289
PMPS: 372 9th cycle 1u
+1: 284
+2: 198
+3: 122
+3.5: 112
+4: 111
+5: 160


Good morning LL. Please disregard the disorganization in our condo. The paragraphs after the WCR were written earlier to get dosing advice so I could shoot this morning.

WCR: 4Ps in place but it seems Gracie is PU/PD again and I don't know if it is because there is not enough insulin, or because she's bouncing more and spending more time above the renal threshold. Perhaps someone knows if that can be a cause of the PU/PD.

Thanks for the eyes on our SS and help today.

EARLIER POST: I need to shoot at 7:30 MST; I put out a request for dose help last night but I'm sure everyone was busy or asleep.
Gracie is having these erratic cycles and it isn't working!! She's high, then plummets down, skims blue/green and then rockets back up. Then does the same thing the next cycle. She will often plummet 100/hour in the first two hours. She can't continue this. I can't figure out if she needs an increase or a decrease and I need help please. On one hand, I wonder if she needs less insulin; on the other, it does seem like she is peeing more. She's not in there more times in the day, but she seems to be producing more urine. Please help...I have to get her back on a more regular looking curve instead of this "V". Thank you!
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Sienne and Laurie got me started with "front loading" the feeding cycle for Attie. He was wild in his swings too and it felt like chronic rebound.

We started feeding at 2,4,6.

Adjust to 1,2,4,6

And now we're at 1,2,3,4, and maybe 6

I use an auto feeder to manage the feeding schedule. If you look at his SpreadSheet you will see where we tried front loading the feeding schedule. They said it would take a month to settle in, but Attie settled in within a week or two....and I was finally able to realize the wild swings was due to, too little insulin.

I am forever grateful to Sienne and Laurie for helping me figure this out.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Blue..thank you. Gracie has been on a PS, +1, +2, +3, +5 feeding schedule for a couple months now. It seemed to be helping but with this last dosecrease, it got crazy. I almost think she needs more insulin, too, except for these wild dives at PMPS, +1, and +2 so that makes us think she needs less.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Hi Marjorie, I was looking at your SS and re-reading your yesteday's condo. I am not a dosing expert, so I won't comment on that, but is it possible that in your mini-feedings at the front end of the cycle you are feeding food that is too high in gravy and carbs? I know that you are trying to keep Gracie from diving, but maybe if you fed a "normal" LC diet in the multiple feedings at the front of the cycle, her glucose levels would calm down a bit. This is just a thought without any "scientific" backing, but the "roller coaster" effect may be food-determined.

Hope you have better luck today!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Thanks, Ella. I wish I knew. Both Jill and Sienne suggested we feed her a little higher LC food so that's what we've been trying to do and Sienne said that as soon as she drops 100, to give her HC. Something isn't working here but I have no idea what it is.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Marjorie, hi! I just looked at your SS & what you are dealing with is Liver Training School, has anyone mentioned this to you or are you familiar? I can provide some links if you are not. Liver Training School is the most frusturating part of the sugar dance to me, I thought Baby's body would never learn - but it did! Take a look at her SS to see what I am talking about. You are getting great data.. good job on spot checks!! Your F 1 unit looks good right now, are you familiar with Protocol? Are you thinking you need to decrease or increase? I am not a dosing expert, but based on what you are thinking, I can provide some helpful informaton of the board.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Marjorie, I know you need to shoot soon. My suggestion is to shoot the same dose this morning, so that people can have time to take a good look at your SS before making any dosing suggestions. With all of the food manipulation, it's very difficult to sort out what is what, IMO.

I really think you need to look more at the big picture. You have a tendency to look at each cycle as a separate entity, and as I have told you before, you need to look at trends over time instead.

You need to slow down....it's a marathon, not a sprint. You want instant results, and you are not going to get them...sorry, but that's the cold hard truth. Gracie is a bouncy cat, and you can't force her to stop bouncing.

I'll be happy to look at your ss, but I need time to do that, ok?
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Marjorie:

Take a few breaths. You are trying to push the ocean. Good luck with that. Try to take a few steps backwards, squint your eyes, and look at the SS. (Think of it like Impressionist art. If you are real close, all you see are dots. Step back and look at the big picture.)

Please, please, please remember that you are not in control of the cycle - Gracie is. Our kitties are leading the dance; we have the privilege of following. There is only so much that is humanly possible with regard to managing FD. The rest is up to your cat. You are over analyzing every number and every drop of insulin. It will make you nuts if you try to over/interpret every little bit of information. I don't see big "Vs" -- I see flatter curves than that.

Not every cat is OTJ in a month. Most cats are not even close to regulated in a month, let alone the 3 - 4 months that Gracie has been on insulin. Take a look at Putty or Gabby's SSs. If you think Gracie bounces, well...welcome to my world with the Drama Queen. Miriam and I have had any number of exchanges on how hard it is to see kitties whip in and out of LL and we're still here plugging along. I don't know which camp Gracie will be in. What I can guarantee is that if you keep trying to over analyze every step in this dance, you'll end up with a lot of gray hair and way too many sleepless nights and sore toes from Gracie stepping on your feet.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

usually if yu find when a number dips low enough to resort to feeding it its a sign that an adjustment in dose is neccessary. when yu get to those DDs numbers,yes u can feed it.everyone differs when as to feed a number. when yu dip low into greens and then see that pink/red later thats your rebounding off those lows previous. it passes. but i think you may have to do some slight reduction on your lantus.all cats when they first get into those lows will bounce from it.if she didnt id be worried. its normal. eventually her liver will adjust and no longer do that. so as much as its distressing to see,know that when yu go green yu will see a high number later on. im thinking that u may have to back down on your dose a smidge. it will take a few cycles for the shed to adjust,but it will happen.its not a negative thing to feed a low number,we often have to. but in general its not what yu want to be doing consistently. doing so means the lantus has to be adjusted down a bit
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

understand it is often very hard at first to see the big picture when looking at your ss let alone anyone elses. trust that at some point in time one day you will look at it and the whole picture will be very clear to you.its just repetiton,and somewhere everything opens up
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Morning! and do I ever know how you feel. I am in the same boat as Gabby - I have to force myself to step back and look at the big picture. For us to get where we are has taken months - months of a wild and crazy ride on one bouncy roller-coaster. All I can do is follow Mannie's lead, and do the best I can to help guide him.

I would shoot her regular dose this morning, and then take some time to really look at her SS, let the others look too, and then decide what to change if anything. You and Mike have done great with her - don't ever second guess that.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Majorie...you and Mike are doing a wonderful job w/Gracie.

I tried the "squinty" eye trick w/Gracie's SS as Sienne suggested.....I zoomed out on her SS and just saw the colors.....Looks like she gets to the greens for couple of cycles and then her liver says, WTF....keepin it PG here.....What The Firetruck.....Her liver doesn't seem to like those greens at all....Gracie's kinda looks like Gabby's SS.....just zoom out a bit and just look at the colors....

I can't tell ya not to worry cuz I'm really good at that one.....And I do hear your concern about those fast drops for Miss Gracie.....But Sienne might hava point here....OK...let me rephrase that......She does have a point.....

And where is Charlton Heston when ya need him, eh? He may not be able to move an ocean...but he does a darn good job parting that sea. :mrgreen:

Charlton_Heston_in_The_Ten_Commandments_film_trailer.jpg
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336

Nicole: Thanks for your response. Oh yes...we are quite familiar with LTS :lol: :lol: And yes, we've been steadfastly following the protocol...steadfastly. We know that Gracie has these bounces from the LTS going on but what has changed, seemingly, is a few more fast plummets down from PS. In the past, it has been from +1 or +2 but now we are starting to see it from PMPS. She isn't holding her blue/greens as long as she was on previous doses.

Laurie: Thanks...I did shoot the same dose. I knew that I could not decrease/increase and then have someone tell me to do the opposite so we held steady. At least I'm learning that :lol: The food manipulation has been at the recommendation of others to try and stop her plummets. It was recommended we try feeding her more along the 7-8% food early to see if she would stop these sudden drops from her PS and also if she dropped 100 in an hour, to give her a HC gravy. So that's what we've been trying to do but I think it is overcarbbing her and she bounces back up quicker.

Girlcat (I'm sure I've seen your name on other condos but can't remember it...sorry): You make an excellent point...Mike and I also don't think that feeding HC food consistently to control the curve is the best management tool. In our uninformed minds, it seems counterintuitive to routinely have to give a FD cat HC food. Yes, I know it has to be done occasionally to control the low numbers; but what about these steep drops...those can't be good for her. So we are left with trying to slow her down; if you look at the 2nd cycle of 12/10, she was like a locomotive and Jill told me to use what I had to in order to slow her down. She still went below 48 even using karo.

Sienne: We really are trying hard to be patient...really we are but it's just been these last few cycles that we feel like it's just constant reaction...do we let her drop and then try to keep her up when she gets on the low end? Do we try to stop the fast drop at the front and then she doesn't get into green for long? It truly isn't the bounces that are driving us crazy right now...we are getting used to that. It's this fast dive down, skim normal, fast rocket up. Seems like we had less pink on the last dose but I'll have to look at that. So all of your wise eyes on our SS to let us know if we are at a good dose, or we need a decrease, or whatever we need is appreciated.

Michelle: you are my lifesaver in the storm, girl :lol: I hope you know all the true feelings that go into that.

Tena: you're also one of our big supporters who always gives me that hug when I need it. Thank you.

Actually, when I print her SS and look at it, she has ALOT of great cycles....in fact, alot more than other cat's SSs I look at for the length of time we've been doing this. But
please know that our current concern is the fast dives, fast ups...maybe we're over concerned...that's what we need to know. I have to get to TBP. Thank you all so much. Please be sure and note that I do think Gracie is more PU/PD lately.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie DOSECREASE HELP NEEDED NOW PLS

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Blue..thank you. Gracie has been on a PS, +1, +2, +3, +5 feeding schedule for a couple months now. It seemed to be helping but with this last dosecrease, it got crazy. I almost think she needs more insulin, too, except for these wild dives at PMPS, +1, and +2 so that makes us think she needs less.

Take a look at my SS from yesterday. You'll see basically a double nadir. See the dive at +10? That is why I feed a +6 in his cycle(it used to be a +9 feeding). We're down to just a 0.25 oz...but it is enough for Attie to hold over...and then rise appropriately.

If you look at my SS and post...I've been actively changing dose and subsequently changing the food. For Attie, he has an allergy so I am very limited on what I can use for him. In some ways I am a bit jealous you can pick & choose. :lol:

So the little that I can change ranges in the quantity and amounts. I've gone from half, half and half...to onesy, half, onesy, half ....to one and half, half, one and half, half...I get confused some days how much of what goes into which chamber on the feeder!

A little more insulin here....causes a faster drop there...so increase the low carb food over here.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336

good morning, marjorie. i received your PM asking about dose and have chosen to reply here.
if you're looking for input from others, that's fine. i commend you for wanting to gather as information and suggestions from others. however, you asked me the same question a couple of days ago and i offered my thoughts at that time. they haven't changed.

if you really feel like gracie was doing better on a lesser dose, go back to it. satisfy your curiosity. as i told you the other day, i'm not seeing a lesser dose as being better. gracie (in your words) stalled out at 1u bid. i agree with you. when a kitty stalls out, we add to the dose... which is what you did. at this time, adding in increments of 0.1u bid is a better method than going up in increments of 0.25u since gracie drops fast and is seeing green. i suspect the dose will have to be increased in time, but i do think it would be better to give gracie a few more cycles on this dose.

please know that our current concern is the fast dives, fast ups...maybe we're over concerned...that's what we need to know.
yes, i do think you're overly concerned. when most of us start out on this journey, we tend to over analyze and react to each and every number or cycle. trust me, you can't do that with lantus and especially not when you have a kitty who bounces like gracie. if you do, you'll drive yourself crazy by second guessing every move and decision made.

gracie is a bouncer... don't have to tell you that! :-D
because gracie is a bouncer, she is not going to make this journey easy on you. please take a look at the spreadsheets of these other bouncers...

lucy: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pxNq2x6hL_rqtqiTH9HhWUw
tuffy: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pXSCWSsRwkZHm6i8emU7UAQ

it took time, patience, and probably tears of frustration to get tuffy and lucy to where they are now. i bet if you asked libby and barbara if they thought their kitties would ever go off the juice they would tell you no. patience, persistence, and a little luck was the key to their success.

imho, you're expecting too much too soon and as a result, attaching an urgency to each and every cycle... when there is none. it's will take time to flatten out gracie's curve. how much time? there's no way to know. it's more common than unusual to all of a sudden see things click and fall into place. i suspect that's exactly what will happen with gracie... on her time, not ours. i understand the frustration level, but it's just the way it is.

Please be sure and note that I do think Gracie is more PU/PD lately.
not surprising when you look at her bounces. for me, this is just another indication more insulin may be needed.

Mike and I also don't think that feeding HC food consistently to control the curve is the best management tool. In our uninformed minds, it seems counterintuitive to routinely have to give a FD cat HC food. Yes, I know it has to be done occasionally to control the low numbers; but what about these steep drops...those can't be good for her.
yes, feeding hc to a cat with fd does seem counterintuitive, but it's not when you're trying to control a curve of a kitty who responds like gracie. to further complicate matters, gracie very much falls in to the ECID category. she does NOT react to hc as most kitties do. instead, gracie's numbers do not come up until she is fed multiple hc snacks and then BAM! look out. the hc kicks in and she skyrockets to the moon!

through trial and error, you and mike will learn how heavy or light-handed you will have to be to bring her numbers up without sending her to the moon. this in itself will take time. it's a learning process and you're still learning. eventually, you'll learn gracie's response inside and out... learn the balancing act you'll have to use for gracie.

the steep drops probably don't feel very good. unfortunately, as seen in the treatment of humans, sometimes you feel crummy during the course of treatment before you feel better.

time and patience. i cannot stress these two concepts enough. you're dealing with a kitty who is not making this easy on you. learning to step back will ease some of your frustration. look at gracie's spreadsheet in terms of waves of action rather than looking at individual numbers or cycles. gracie is going to take her time graduating from LTS. we're better off working with her body by giving the insulin time to work and her body time to adjust.


just my thoughts...
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348

From one who has been plugging along the sugar dance for years ohmygod_smile ,
dont get discouraged..My favorite saying: Man Plans, and Cats Laugh!!(originaly Man plans & God laughs)-altered for use in FDMB :lol: :lol:
You are doing everything for your furbaby!! Patience & consistancy.--You are doing a great Job!! Dont worry, it will all come together!
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348

Just offering my support for the FD situation Marjorie since I totally understand where you are coming from with the bounce and dose wondering thing been there myself more then once just hang in there girl its all we can do sending you a giant hug from Do Lou and I
cathugs.gif
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253

Roni and Lisa: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: This is one of the things we love about LL....you guys always rally when someone needs the emotional support. You are all the best and we appreciate it so much.

Jill: I do appreciate the advice you gave the other day and understand it. I also appreciate you posting to our condo because it has always been a great learning tool for all. I apologize for our sense of urgency but, for the first time, Mike and I disagreed about Gracie's insulin needs. Before reading the posts today, he felt she needed a decrease; I woke him early this morning to discuss this as I felt she needed an increase and we are partners in this....I would not increase her without discussing it with him when he so clearly felt she needed a decrease.

We have looked at Tuffy's and Lucy's SS over and over as well as others and I see the roller coasters. I think it is just different when it is your own kitty and you lose the unbiased eye. Earlier, you recommended we try higher LOW CARB foods front loaded...4-6% and we did but she was still dropping early. This week, Sienne suggested we perhaps try even higher--8% and give her HC as soon as she has the 100 drop. We tried that and I think perhaps that is why we are perceiving a change coupled with Gracie's propensity to not react and then...as you said...BAM. That is my feeling as to why she is skimming normal numbers and then popping back up...we are carbing her early to stop the drop and once they really kick in, it's an uphill battle against the insulin. My thoughts...I don't know if they are accurate. But she definitely does not react like Gabby or Mannie where their beans can slow them down with some carbs and then they can surf. Gracie slows but then stops.

Mike and I are resolved to the bounces and the dives. All we are trying to do is to help Gracie deal with those things she is going to do anyway. So what is best: (1) as soon as she drops 100 in an hour, start giving her higher carbs and slow her down knowing we are working against her insulin, she isn't going to stay in healing range, and she's going to pop up at or before her typically normal nadir at +6 or (2) let her drop, get her in green, and then see if we can give her carbs to get her up enough to surf? IMHO (and Mike's), she was getting alot more time in the healing range with #2 and I think she was probably getting less carbs overall because stopping a locomotive is harder and is taking more carbs than just feeding her small amounts of gravy to keep her above 50. Having said that, she has had a few times where I had to really work to get her up because she responds so slowly but that has been an exception. In rethinking a strategy, maybe that is the time to just give her a tiny bit of karo with the food and get her up and then just feed to keep her there. BTW...on the dives, we've even tried a middle ground to slow her down and it hasn't worked. So we have been trying to learn her needs and how to just support her while her body figures out how to deal with all of this.

Gracie has been different from the beginning....she was the runt; her entire litter was very sick at about 7-8 weeks old and the breeder was surprised they made it. She has always had a sensitivity to change and meds so whatever is a normal starting dose for a cat her weight, we always have to give even lower. But she has the most incredible personality and is so strong in spirit. All Mike and I want for her is a time in her life where she feels totally healthy...no bladder issues, no FD...just health; she is only just 4 and has dealt with so much with such dignity and, yes, grace. I know unequivocally that if anyone outside of FD had her, they would have either given her to a shelter or had her PTS by now with the issues she's had. I know this wish for health is nothing unique..everyone wants good health for their sugarbaby.

We appreciate that everyone understands. I know we all have lots going on but sometimes the days get overwhelming with work, Gracie's needs, the two elderly renal kitties, and Tobey who now has to go in today for an U/S because his thymus showed as enlarged. He had an xray to make sure he was not developing asthma as he has stayed very snuffly after the URI. They don't know if it's just the normal situation where kittens have a larger thymus and then it decreases in size as they age or if he has a cyst or something more.

We'll continue on this dose for now. But will someone check in with us in a few cycles and tell us if we need to increase or should I just check back in? Thanks Jill.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Marjorie, I know you need to shoot soon. My suggestion is to shoot the same dose this morning, so that people can have time to take a good look at your SS before making any dosing suggestions. With all of the food manipulation, it's very difficult to sort out what is what, IMO.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Laurie: Thanks...I did shoot the same dose. I knew that I could not decrease/increase and then have someone tell me to do the opposite so we held steady. At least I'm learning that The food manipulation has been at the recommendation of others to try and stop her plummets. It was recommended we try feeding her more along the 7-8% food early to see if she would stop these sudden drops from her PS and also if she dropped 100 in an hour, to give her a HC gravy. So that's what we've been trying to do but I think it is overcarbbing her and she bounces back up quicker.

Marjorie,

Please don't get the impression that I am telling you to NOT manipulate the curve. What I said is that with so much food manipulation, it takes time to sort through it to figure out what is going on.

I do have a suggestion for you regarding the food. I would cut back tremendously on the variety of foods you are offering. I think it's wonderful that you want to give her such a variety, but frankly, it's making your job much harder. The more variables you put into an equation, the more difficult and complex you make it. FD is complex enough.

I will leave the carb percentages up to you, but I would suggest using one food, one type of gravy, and karo if necessary to boost her further. Just try that for a few days. Then use a different food if you want, but stick with it for a few days. Part of the problem with seeing patterns in Gracie's SS is that you are using different foods and different gravy all of the time. More consistency in the food will make it easier to see what is really going on. You need to keep it simple.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253

I also don't know if this has gotten lost in the shuffle or if it bears repeating, working with food to manipulate the curve is a trial and error process. If what you saw with Gracie (option #2), seemed to be working best, stick with it and/or build on it. Just don't expect those changes to occur instantaneously. I began working in earnest to use food to manipulate Gabby's curve at the end of last April. If you scroll through Gabby's SS, you'll see the change beginning in late June. It takes perseverance and patience, just as Jill was saying. And, FWIW, it's very hard for me to be objective about Gabby. I rely on the input of others when I need to make big decisions or need someone to examine her SS in detail.

I think Laurie's suggestion is a good one. If you keep it simple, you can change one variable at a time and evaluate what the result is. If you change too many things all at once, you're left scratching your head because you don't know what worked and what didn't.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253 +3 214

Laurie and Sienne:

Thank you both for your valuable info. First, the point is well taken to choose one food and stick with it. Jill has also recommended we reduce her choices to 1 or 2 that are the same carbs. However, easier said than done with Gracie. Mike and I would LOVE nothing more than to have one food she gets all the time...we've tried that and she is finicky and, in the past, has refused to eat just one flavor of food. So when we feed 3,4,5% we're trying to give her more than the 0-2% that really wasn't working but give her choices so she'll eat. Having said that, we've decided to give it another go and I've ordered powder from Feline Futures and will try that route as so many do. I'm assuming those who mix it with Wellness do so in order to give a little variety to the flavor?? I know, Sienne, you have said you serve the Feline Futures/raw mixed with Wellness chicken or turkey. So...we will try to make it simple again and if I can get her to eat that regularly, then it will be a big gain for all of us. As far as the gravy....we use what we hope will slow her down but not overcarb her. If she's really going fast, we use 12%; if not so fast but faster than we'd like, we use 9% because, like Jill said, she tends to not react right away to the carbs and then all of a sudden she rockets up as if she's "storing" them :lol: We truly are trying with the food but ultimately, she has to eat and we may be forced to keep rotating the ones we have. I would love to make Dr. Lisa's raw recipe but I just don't have the time and in the past, I've bought the supplements and the cats refuse to eat the raw food with the supplements in it. I'm hoping the FF will be different.

On another subject: As I stated earlier, an xray this week showed Tobey has a prominent thymus. They are hoping it is because he is a kitten because young animals, inc humans, have a larger thymus which gets smaller in size as they age. But in order to be sure it is not a cyst or thymoma (or perhaps in Pat's case a "thighmoma" :lol: :lol: ), then they want to do an US. It was supposed to be Monday but they called with a cancel today so I did not go to TBP so I can take him in.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253 +3 214

I can't help what so ever in adding any value to the FD dosing/feeding. I do know that Binky's chart may not be the most accurate so maybe you should also have a separate chart with reactions to specific foods. Maverick did much better on walmart special kitty Turkey and Giblets vs a Turkey and Giblet formula by other makers (fancy feast and presidents choice). I really don't think they are as low carb as they say they are based on what we saw with him. Maybe it will help you manage the curve better in some way. Or maybe just make everything so much more complicated and then in that case, never mind ;)

Regarding the thymus - my father had thymus cancer. Its an extremely rare cancer in humans, I wonder if its just as rare in cats. If he was an older cat, it would probably be much more serious. If anything is out of the ordinary, the fact that he is a young cat is a great thing. Sending lots of hugs for you and Tobey.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253 +3 214

Marjorie,
i totally understand your frustration as we are not the patient kind! I think what you are being told on ECID is soooo true...I see others' condos and they feed different types of food as the cycle progresses....and i still don't understand it all....what seems to have worked with Rocket (once again i'm stressing ECID) is feeding him depending on how low he was/is going BUT only his regular lc food. I have only on a couple of times used HC food....the time he got to 41 (which has been only once back on 12/4) i mixed gravy with his lc food and chicken dust....i have used karo and temptations once back on 11/7 on his second cycle of Lantus after being otj for 2 yrs....i found what works for him now but it may not work down the road if he decides to up the antie....so gotta go with what he dictates....i was in the beginning looking it my way and how soon/late things would go...but soon found out it is not MY way but Rocket's way....

you guys are doing an amazing job...it is not easy dealing with FD....you gotta give yourselves credit for going this far and allowing Gracie to feel better even if you are seeing yellows or other colours....it isn't easy just being an expectator...we want to FIX things for them as quickly as possible as we don't want them suffering (so we think)....yeah they may feel tired with high #s...but their bodies need time to adjust to it all....insulin/poking/feeding at certain times/our constant watchful eye/etc....we want what is best for them....

You will find what works for Gracie sooner than later...it takes time since they're unpredictable...and they can't tell us what they will do or how they feel....enjoy every minute you have with her...and yes it becomes a rollercoaster....

i too over-analyze Rocket's SS....not easy to not do...and i too get impatient and wished he was otj a second time...i feel bad for him as he already has enough other issues to deal with....i just gotta tell myself that i will give him the best care possible as long as he needs me to....it's all about him and no longer about me...

by no means i'm saying you are not thinking of Gracie...i'm just telling you how i had my turning point with FD....

you will find what works for you all and be patient....relax when you can and enjoy the ride (hard to do i know)...be positive and enjoy her!
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253 +3 214 +5 273

I'm late to the conversation, but I see that Lucy made it in here ahead of me. :mrgreen: I can relate, Marjorie. It's hard to have such a bouncy kitty. You KNOW you are working just as hard as everyone else, maybe even harder, but you are not seeing the results they are. I think our drama girls do this to us just to remind us that they are cats and they are divas and they are in charge, no matter what we would like to think. :lol:

Gracie is getting a lot of really good numbers. When Lucy would do the huge plummets from pink to green, Jojo would say things like "look at how much Lucy loves green, she can't wait to race back there as fast as she can." Try to look at it that way. When Gracie finds her way to pink, she can't wait to get back to green. Sure, sometimes she goes too fast and sets off another side trip to pink, but she'll race back to green again.

I remember Jill and Jojo telling me many times that Lucy would flatten out one day. I was absolutely astounded when all of a sudden one day she did! I see it over and over again in other cats, where one day they are bouncy and one day they are just blue or just green. I just couldn't believe it when it finally happened to Lucy after all that time. Once she figured out how to get to nice numbers and stay there, she didn't leave them again. It took her longer than most, but even Lucy figured it out. Gracie will too. You have BOS, and I am absolutely convinced that BOS are what finally got Lucy to the Falls.

A side note for you - I do want you to study Lucy's spreadsheet, but I don't want you to get too caught up in the details of it or on the amount of time it took her to flatten out. We have learned a lot since then, so you have tools available to you that never even occurred to me. Keep doing what you're doing. Gracie has a LOT of good numbers and she hurries back to them whenever she gets a chance.

Hoping for good news about Tobey....
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie AMPS 336 +1 348 +2 253 +3 214 +5 273

I tell you...you all in FDMB are the best. I can't count how many times you have come to our condo with supporting and encouraging words. Thank you so much.

Claudia: everything in your post is so true; Mike and I went out for lunch today and agreed that we HAVE to relax about this. We cannot continue to be so driven by each cycle. We do love Gracie so much and we make sure we spend alot of time with her that we aren't prodding, poking, etc. and that we spend alot of time praising her for being such a good, patient girl. I know that for you, Claudia, it must be harder to have gone through this dance, be out of it, and then have to come back into it then it is for us to just be starting it. You have had a taste of "the other side" and I'm sure it's tough dragging out all that stuff and starting over again. I commend your wonderful spirit.

Libby: yes, Lucy has beat you to our condo TWICE this week :lol: :lol: When we look at her SS or Tuffy's SS, I just scroll through quickly and show Mike..see...Lucy was like Gracie and (sorry, Barbara) Tuffy was worse. :lol: :lol: And the time it took was not important...it was the fact that they did "snap". We so appreciate what you wrote, Libby, and that you, like Jill and the others took the time to do it during the holidays when everyone as so much going on. So when do I get that "PITA Newbie of 2010" award I was talking about? :lol: :lol: I promise I will try so hard to not get too caught up in the pinks but as I have said before...it's the worry that it is doing permanent damage to her organs that freaks me out more than the numbers. My wonderful vet says that no, it's not great for her to be there but that some cats actually go months and months at really high numbers (400 higher) with no treatment at all because their beans (my word, not hers) didn't catch it and she worries more about those kitties. Thanks for asking about Tobey.

So...quick Tobey update: the board certified vet radiologist at our clinic started out by telling me that she HOPED it was just a cyst on his thymus because in all her years of experience, she had never seen a thymus show up on a cat radiograph...not even a kitten. However, today was our blessed day because she said the US showed that it is totally 100% thymus tissue....nothing else. Since his URI a couple months ago, Tobey's eosinophils have been up and he's still testing mildly for a virus in the nutrition response testing and so the NRT vet (Dr. B), our regular vet (Dr. M) and the radiologist feel his thymus is just busy making Tcells. We are to have it rechecked in three months. He has made alot of progress though and with the addition of the Allerplex last week, his snuffly nose is clear.

And lastly for my novel condo, the IM vet called me today. I had faxed her the protocol, info on Somogyi, and some other materials. In a nutshell:
1. I told her I had not taken Gracie off the insulin; she said if I wasn't going to do that, that I should at least take her to .5u and see what she does and then if she doesn't get normal numbers (her definition: in the 100s), the I should take her to 1u. I told her that we had already done that and that we did it in much smaller increments and gave Gracie time to adjust at each dose and I didn't feel taking her down to .5u only to have to bring her up again was appropriate...esp skipping through what might be her fitting dose. She said Gracie's fast dives indicate she has too much insulin but I asked if it was more likely that (a) Gracie's onset was fast that particular cycle and/or (b) perhaps Gracie had some insulin of her own working and that Gracie didn't necessarily metabolize her insulin the same way every time...or else she'd be regulated. I drew her attention to the fact that Gracie has only been just barely below 50 on one occasion on this dose and I got her up immediately and that she has primarily been running 90 or above...so how could she have too much insulin?
2. I asked her if she looked at what I sent her on Somogyi and that Gracie's curve did not look like that; I explained my understanding of liver training school and that Gracie was not the only cat doing this but since she didn't have wifi, I couldn't show her other SSs. I asked her if she was familiar with Dr. Hodgkins (yes, I know she is not a lantus fan) and had she read the info on her website about these liver bounces AND that in general, while males are more likely to be FD,females are more difficult to regulate as they tend to, generally, do more of this bouncing. She acquiesced that point that the liver can cause these bounces and backed off that Gracie was having Somoygi rebound.
3. She told me that
I am putting Gracie in danger
by allowing her to be hyperglycemic and then fall to hypoglycemia and that every time I allow her to be in the 50s much less 30s/40s, that I am
causing her brain damage
because she is not getting sugar to her brain. I told her that if Gracie gets in the 30s/40s that we are working extremely hard to get her up using karo and that we work hard to keep her from falling below 50. She said that looking at Gracie's SS, she believes I allow Gracie to be
"chronically hypoglycemic".
When I told Dr. M this, she was appalled. She said she does not believe those few drops below 50 cause brain damage...that brain damage is caused by uncaught and prolonged hypoglycemia where the cat goes into seizures. I also told the IM that, to my knowledge and what I had been told, no LL cat that was being monitored as we do had gone into seizures in the 30s...to my knowledge; I also told her how many cats had gone OTJ since 2008. No comment.
4. She said I am defeating the purpose of giving insulin when I steer her numbers with HC gravy or karo. I do struggle with this myself as well but I know I cannot allow her to get below 50.
5. She said I should stabilize Gracie's diet...agreed; we are going to try Feline Future with WN like many of you do. She then told me how I was exposing her to salmonella and E. coli.
6. She said the protocol we use is only one of hundreds for Lantus and that is only one university working on it and it was only ONE opinion on how to use lantus in cats. I did ask her to send me materials but she pretty much said that if I was not going to follow her advice and kept endangering my cat, that she didn't think I would be swayed by her info.

So...bottom line was I just told her that I felt we had very different approaches to FD and I appreciated her time. So much for an informative discussion.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

She said the protocol we use is only one of hundreds for Lantus and that is only one university working on it and it was only ONE opinion on how to use lantus in cats. I did ask her to send me materials but she pretty much said that if I was not going to follow her advice and kept endangering my cat, that she didn't think I would be swayed by her info.

That is the kind of answer that implies, "I don't have any research to back up my opinion." The Queensland protocol may be ONE opinion but it's a peer reviewed opinion that's been published in a top tier vet journal. So let's see.... we have Door #1 - take my word for it because I think it's true despite there being nothing to back up my opinion but because I'm wearing a white coat, I know more than you vs. Door #2 - published research, 2 Lantus forums (FDMB and the German forum) and a lot of cats who have gone OTJ using this protocol. Hmmmmm..... the choice doesn't seem like it takes a rocket scientist to figure out.

Personally, I really have a hard time with the, "I'm the doctor. You must listen to me." nonsense, especially when logic dictates that what she's saying is a scare tactic. Good for you for standing your ground.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Yup...and the other day, she had referenced the journal the Queensland protocol was published in as "highly respected". Wonder if she noted it when I sent her the protocol?
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

I'm very impressed about your knowledge and handling the "professionals". dancing_cat I wouldn't have had the patience or assertiveness to do this.

It amazes me that a forum(s) can make so much difference in the lives of cats and their owners. I'm starting to think that people with personality disorders are drawn to the veterinary profession.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Thanks, Karrie...not sure about my knowledge :lol: :lol: but I'm not easily intimidated :lol: :lol:

eta: Anyone heard from Celi today?
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Reading your condo brings an image to mind of the Three Wise Cats (Auntie Libby, Sienne and Jill). Coming to help sweet Gracie. Bringing gifts of support, guidance and wisdom.
62152972.JPG



Majorie...you've really worked hard today. I hope you are able to take some time to sit down, breathe and relax a little. You deserve it. Kudos my dear, kudos.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Thanks, Tena.

I just tried to call Celi at home..no answer; I left a message. I called her cell phone...the VM is full so I couldn't leave a message.
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

i'm impressed Marjorie on how you stood your ground to this IM vet....well done! i am not that forceful though i tend to question their decisions for Rxing stuff to Rocket....i've mentioned before...the vet wanted me to take Rocket off insulin about a week or so ago...she has no clue i'm still at it with him...when the time comes to email her a report on how he is doing i will mention to her he is STILL on insulin....

you make me proud in how you handle those stuffy people that think just cause they wear that white coat that they're better than us....they see cats (any animal) as $$ sign....we see them as FAMILY....so it's a different point of view....

well done! :-D

and yes....we knew what it was like to be on the other side....but like i said to you before...i will do ANYTHING for Rocket so long as i know he is not suffering....i will do whatever it is humanly possible to provide for him not only a good loving safe home for him but also the care/nursing he now needs...allowing him to have a QUALITY of life....with all his illnesses....he is my hero for being such a trooper!

eta: didn't Celi decide she needed time off and just have time with Binks? i thought i read that in her condo a day or so ago....she even said something about taking her phone off....or did i dream that?
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Karrie and Maverick said:
I'm starting to think that people with personality disorders are drawn to the veterinary profession.

I have not read this thread but someone alerted me to this post so that I could have a good laugh.

The problem with many of my colleagues is that they just can't fathom the idea that a lay person might actually know more than they do about a certain subject and I have always found this to be very frustrating. I have told many of them...."never underestimate the love of a human for their furry one and their ability to learn all that they can about any disease process...so....dial down your ego and get your head out of your rear end and listen to them. You might learn something."

Or something like that...

Now...off to go take my personality disorder meds. :-D
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

:lol: Now I have foot in mouth syndrome ohmygod_smile :oops: :oops: :oops: I didn't mean it literally of course. I actually shouldn't have wrote that and do promise to be more sensitive in the future. I know there are exceptional vets out there and we'll keep looking. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

My DH has a saying, developed over the course of 40 years of faculty meetings: "A closed mouth gathers no feet". But neither does it provide amusement!! This has been a great thread, Majorie, and Gracie must be praised for inspiring it.

Carry on! Enjoy the weekend. TGIF!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/16 Gracie PMPS 392 IM Vet Talk

Karrie: :lol: :lol: :lol: I am pretty sure Dr. Lisa has a great sense of humor.

Dr. Lisa: I didn't put this in the condo but after she pooh poohed the raw diet, I asked her if she was familiar with your website or knew you. She said she didn't know you personally but "I know OF her" but it was said with some ....hmmmm...I'm not sure I want to say disdain but perhaps along the lines of "disagreement" with your philosophies. My regular vet, Dr. M., said the same thing as you....a good doctor puts the cat first and the ego last. The contrast in the two vets is unbelievable. Dr.M is always supportive, willing to learn, and knows her clients have alot to teach her. The IM doctor..not so much!

Ella: great saying from Edward!!!

Claudia: you are a great and special mamabean!! Thanks for your kind words.
 
we've been offline for 2 days...and i needed a humor fix...so i came to this condo right away...and BOY...did i get my fix!

lots of good info too...

there's only one comment that i feel i can actually add to...
"gracie has been unique from day one"

so true, and if it werent...would we all love her as much as we do??

i truly understand why it's so frustrating for you...i look at other folks' SS, and i marvel at the depth and duration of strength & patience people have...

no wonder lantus land is a miracle we can view whenever we need a pick-me-up!

"hang in there" seems like such a platitude...but we'll hang in there with you! binks and i have nothing to offer but caring and humor...but i hope you know we've got a lot of that we're happy to share with you.

and big hopes for Bush Baby Guy and his big thymus...thank goodness his beans have so big hearts!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top