12-16 Gizmo AMPS=255; +2=155; +3=63; +3.25=69; +4=73; +5=80; +6=78; +8=118; PMPS=189; +3=140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

PMPS = 156
+3 = 127
+6 = 151

AMPS = 255

Gizmo's number looks much better this morning. Hopefully it will continue to come down slowly. However, he has been very picky and hasn't been eating much for his AM shot feedings lately. Haven't thought much of it because he eats without a problem the rest of the day. Well, the last few nights, he started to get picky with his PM shot meal also. These are the feedings of the day where he gets a mixture of Friskies and soulistic. So this morning when he completely refused to touch his food, I gave him some tikicat and he ate without a problem. Looks like we are going to be switching his food up again. I'm worried to feed him tikicat at shot times though because of it being zero carbs. Has anyone had issues with this?
 
+3 = 63 :eek:
+3.25 = 69

I decided to wait 15 minutes and retest to see what was going on before feeding him. Since he came up to a safe number (barely), I just went with his normal +3 LC snack. :nailbiting:

Ok ... so reducie question ... Gizmo doesn't seem to hold reductions when he barely earns them (in the 60s). Should I hold this dose a little longer, also given the fact that he didn't eat well this morning? I really want to get him leveled out and that doesn't seem possible with changing his dose all the time. I don't know. I also don't want the high dose depot and cabergoline to get ahead of us. :cat: Suggestions?
@Wendy&Neko
 
Sorry he's being food picky. How does he normally do on no carb? Or you haven't done that yet? It can't hurt to give it a go, you can always mix a little karo or honey in it to make it something like MC if you need to (and can always intervene with the karo or honey after he eats his tiki cat if it's not working. If he goes to LC to no carb, he might need less insulin, so it's a good thing to keep an eye on. Good luck with the food experimenting.
 
+4 = 73 :D

Sorry he's being food picky. How does he normally do on no carb? Or you haven't done that yet? It can't hurt to give it a go, you can always mix a little karo or honey in it to make it something like MC if you need to (and can always intervene with the karo or honey after he eats his tiki cat if it's not working. If he goes to LC to no carb, he might need less insulin, so it's a good thing to keep an eye on. Good luck with the food experimenting.
Less insulin would be nice, but I've heard that some cats actually do worse on zero carb food. I guess I pretty much just have to try it and see what happens. I can monitor better next week, so maybe I will try to get him to eat his regular foods for another week, but I'm thinking he is going to be stubborn.
 
+4 = 73 :D


Less insulin would be nice, but I've heard that some cats actually do worse on zero carb food. I guess I pretty much just have to try it and see what happens. I can monitor better next week, so maybe I will try to get him to eat his regular foods for another week, but I'm thinking he is going to be stubborn.

If there's any prediction I would put money on when it comes to cats, it's that one! Being stubborn is a very safe bet! :rolleyes::joyful:
 
Should I reduce to 5.5 or maybe 5.75 units tonight or is it ok to hold 6 units? Just knowing he didn’t eat much this morning makes me wonder about whether he truly earned the reduction. But also don’t want the cabergoline and depot to get ahead if me. Thoughts?
 
Does he prefer shreds or pate or doesn't care?

Gizmo really likes the Dave's turkey & giblets. Trying the Newman's tomorrow for the first time. Both are pate.

My Gizmo eats AM cycle with no issue. The PM cycle I have been babysitting. Cats! :rolleyes:
 
Neko usually had zero or at least very low carb food - home made or manufactured raw. I wouldn't assume it'll be an issue with Gizmo until you do a food experiment.

For dose, you have a few options. One is to continue to hold the dose, the other is to "shave" the dose by doing something like a 5.75U dose, or take the full reduction and see how he does. With acro and cabergoline in the picture, I'm not really fond of holding the dose, unless you'll be around a lot to be able to monitor. Are you off work next week or working? After Neko's last SRT, I shaved one of her doses and was rewarded with a number in the 20's. :eek: No warning of course. :rolleyes:
 
Neko usually had zero or at least very low carb food - home made or manufactured raw. I wouldn't assume it'll be an issue with Gizmo until you do a food experiment.

For dose, you have a few options. One is to continue to hold the dose, the other is to "shave" the dose by doing something like a 5.75U dose, or take the full reduction and see how he does. With acro and cabergoline in the picture, I'm not really fond of holding the dose, unless you'll be around a lot to be able to monitor. Are you off work next week or working? After Neko's last SRT, I shaved one of her doses and was rewarded with a number in the 20's. :eek: No warning of course. :rolleyes:
Thanks. I am working next week, but my husband will be home to monitor most of the week. But I'm not going to hold 6 units. I just have to decided whether I'm shooting 5.5 or 5.75 units tonight. :confused: I think I'm going to try 5.75 units and continue to try getting him to eat his current food. If I need to change his food to all tiki cat (0 carbs), I might have to take the full reduction. I'll ponder it for the next 20 minutes and then factor in his PMPS number.
 
PMPS = 189

Gizmo ate his normal preshot meal. :D
Shot 5.75 units. Hope the reducie sticks and I don't regret not taking the full reduction.
 
Does he prefer shreds or pate or doesn't care?

Gizmo really likes the Dave's turkey & giblets. Trying the Newman's tomorrow for the first time. Both are pate.

My Gizmo eats AM cycle with no issue. The PM cycle I have been babysitting. Cats! :rolleyes:
I would have originally said pate, but he devours tiki cat, which is shreds/chunks of chicken and egg. He never did care for the soulistic (pate and shreds mix), so just to get him to eat a bit better food, I mixed it with Friskies mixed grill. He ate it for awhile, but I think he wised up to the fact that his civvie sister gets just mixed grill at shot times. :oops: She refused to eat soulistic from the get go, but now willingly finishes whatever Gizmo doesn't eat. :mad::facepalm::cat:

Cats used to be my easy animals ... now they are a full time job. :joyful:
 
I would have originally said pate, but he devours tiki cat, which is shreds/chunks of chicken and egg. He never did care for the soulistic (pate and shreds mix), so just to get him to eat a bit better food, I mixed it with Friskies mixed grill. He ate it for awhile, but I think he wised up to the fact that his civvie sister gets just mixed grill at shot times. :oops: She refused to eat soulistic from the get go, but now willingly finishes whatever Gizmo doesn't eat. :mad::facepalm::cat:

Cats used to be my easy animals ... now they are a full time job. :joyful:

How did I forget that Gizmo was an acro cat and that you were doing the Cabergoline? When I see your gorgeous numbers, that's how, I guess! :-)

I also always thought cats were the easy ones...but I suppose any older animal is going to start having issues, eh?

I hope Gizmo surfs safely and well tonight for you... :cool:
 
How did I forget that Gizmo was an acro cat and that you were doing the Cabergoline? When I see your gorgeous numbers, that's how, I guess! :)
. It took him a while to respond to the cabergoline, but I think it is definitely helping him. I owe so much to the wonderful people on this board. I would have never push for the acro test and cabergoline without the knowledge gained from FDMB. When I got told no by one vet and laughed at by another, I was encouraged to be a "tank" because a tank always gets where it's going. And look at him now! I'm so grateful! :)
I also always thought cats were the easy ones...but I suppose any older animal is going to start having issues, eh?
Yep, that's what so tough. But Gizmo has taught me that I can be successful in helping him in ways I never thought I could (giving insulin and checking his sugar - I was terrified in the beginning). And we are so much closer now because of this diagnosis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top