12/16 Fred AMPS 293 A "life happens" question

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
We're back quickly! :cat:

As many of us are in the thick of the holiday season, as well as facing winter weather conditions, etc., I began to think about the "what ifs" that can occur and affect our sugar cats.

My main question is...what kind of dose would be recommended if, due to conditions totally out of your control, you are, say, 2 hours late. You didn't expect it, and no one can help out. Caught in traffic/snowstorm, lost your keys, battery didn't start, got pulled into Santa's sleigh..you get the idea. And for whatever reason, you can't just shoot late and work back the next day due to scheduling or commitments.

I believe with some cats, it would be recommended to skip. But with a cat like Fred, whom I shudder to think how high he would get without insulin, I would not want to do that. Would a token dose be best? Half?

TIA!!
 
I see you lowered the dose a little. That won’t necessarily prevent any drop as the depot will still effect this one. If you are off by 2 hours and you can’t modify the schedule I would skip. Whenever you shoot the next shot can’t be any sooner than 30 minutes early. I suppose if sky high MAYBE an hour early after a token MIGHT be safe but not recommended. When Max first was diagnosed one of the vets shared that when they had diabetic boarding there and everybody left at 3 they would shoot that early. I’m not sure what time they normally gave insulin but they didn’t have anyone there before 6:30 or 8:00 I think. I would not feel safe doing that.
 
In general, shooting late is far safer than shooting early. So shooting late and working the time backwards in either 30 min once a day or 15 min at each shot time is a good possibility. Some people will shoot at +18 on two days which will bring you back to your original shot time. It can be tough on your schedule depending on where those times fall.

I'd also keep in mind that if you're too far off schedule, it could take forever to move the shot time back in the necessary small increments and skipping the shot may be more realistic. We've all given a furshot which is, in effect, a missed shot and our cats have been fine.
 
If you don't like the answer "skip", how about "pretend it was a fur shot"? ;) It only results in higher numbers for a cycle or two.

A better regulated cat will handle the odd skip better than Fred does, but that would mean getting over your self admitted fear of shooting lower. Not criticizing, it's just a choice you've made. We just need to keep it in mind when giving you suggestions.
 
This is all really good information, thank you. To be honest, I would have given him a token dose at the later time, but it's good to know that even that is not recommended. With Fred most always running high at his shot times, I thought that OK...I'll shoot him late, and then be able to "catch" him lower if I gave him his next shot at his normal time. (assuming it was an AM shot and I could monitor) I guess I just hope this doesn't ever occur. ;-)

Not criticizing, it's just a choice you've made.
I understand...no criticism was taken. I'm always SO filled with resolve that I will shoot him when he's at a lower number, and if it's an AM cycle, I do. It's the PM cycles when I can't really observe that I then completely chicken out! Even though I KNOW 99% of the time, he'll be rising before he drops. It's that 1% that's happened in the past that has freaked me out so. I used to shoot blues with Lantus! But the way he can plunge on Lev has changed my tune. Ugh. Must be brave!
 
Back
Top