12/16 Boomer AMPS 97 +3 77 +5.5 101 PMPS 133 n/s

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 97 shooting 1.0u

Last night at +3 I ended up giving Boomer tuna to get him to eat. I also left him some for overnight, plus 4 other food choices. I don't think he ate anything:( I tried 3 foods this morning before I found one that he would eat and that one was one he had always turned his nose up at! I had to hold his plate but at least he ate a small serving.

I have a vet assistant coming today at 1:00 (+6) to help us give Boomer some fluids.

I gave cerenia yesterday morning and he did eat a bit yesterday afternoon. I poached a chicken breast yesterday afternoon and he was quite willing to eat a few pieces of it. I also gave him some "chicken soup"; he licked some off a spoon and then drank a wee bit by himself (didn't take as much as I had hoped).

Dr Larry thinks there's something else going on with Boomer and wants him to come in and wants to start with some imaging since b/w and urine was done recently and all was good (except for pancreatitis). What confuses me is why his BG is so good if he's not feeling wello_O. When Boomer was in to see Dr Larry 2.5 weeks ago I asked him "are there medical conditions that would cause his BG to go low other than an insulinoma tumour because I'm assuming we would not be unlucky enough to have had 2 cats with the rare insulinoma tumours". His answer was "just an insulinoma :( or remission:)".

Where do I find kelp powder for the liver shake?

Thank you to everyone who has commented, sent vines, and offered suggestions! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
+3 77
I offered salmon & shrimp ff (that's what he ate this morning). Not interested.
I put some beef ff on the same plate. He's never liked this and turned his nose up at it, sniffed the salmon & shrimp, and started eating the salmon & shrimp:rolleyes: He ate about half the small serving. He's back on his desk now and I've put his leftovers with him.
 
His BG may be lower than usual simply because he's not eating enough. I do agree that further testing is a good idea at this point. Another thing you can ask Dr Larry about is the possibility of acid reflux. Kitties can develop that as they get older, and it certainly causes havoc with appies.

I know how stressful it is that he won't eat. Continued appy vines and prayers....eat, Boomer, eat!
 
So it's almost +5. Boomer had been napping on his desk and periodically looking out the window. I had left the +3 snack (both the beef and the remainder of the shrimp) on the desk with him. I passed the room a minute ago and noticed Boomer standing....and he had eaten most of what was on the plate......so a full small serving of the disliked beef and a 1/2 serving of the shrimp!!!

I hate the thought of him not eating at +3 because he onsets between +2 and +3 and I like to stop the drop at +3 with food. But maybe he's just not hungry then.
 
images
 
One other thing I forgot to mention: I can’t remember if you were members when Trix went into remission, but it was a case of pancreatitis that caused her to go into remission after being on the juice for 3+ years. It’s not common, but also not unheard of. So it still could be low grade p-titis that is causing both the low BGs and crappy appy.

When Trix had p-titis, we treated her with bupe, cerenia, ondansetron, fluids, and Pepcid... just a little more info to discuss with Dr Larry.
 
150 ml fluids given at 1:00 +6
And he's eating
One other thing I forgot to mention: I can’t remember if you were members when Trix went into remission, but it was a case of pancreatitis that caused her to go into remission after being on the juice for 3+ years. It’s not common, but also not unheard of. So it still could be low grade p-titis that is causing both the low BGs and crappy appy.

When Trix had p-titis, we treated her with bupe, cerenia, ondansetron, fluids, and Pepcid... just a little more info to discuss with Dr Larry.
Hi Amy.....p'titis causes remission?
 
150 ml fluids given at 1:00 +6
And he's eating

Hi Amy.....p'titis causes remission?
In most cases, probably not. But in Trixie's case, it did. ECID and all that jazz....her BGs went quite low when she had p-titis. She wasn't eating well because of the p-titis, so between the poor appy and the low BGs, I stopped shooting. I was thinking it would be very temporary, until her appy got back on track. But, she never needed insulin again after that. (She was also a stress-dropper, too...vetty visits always resulted in low BGs, not high BGs.)

So basically....anything is possible. If Boomer has low-grade or chronic p-titis going on, it could be causing the lower numbers, too. If I remember correctly, he had a spell of appy issues earlier this year, too, right? How were his BGs during that time period?
 
her BGs went quite low when she had p-titis. She wasn't eating well because of the p-titis, so between the poor appy and the low BGs, I stopped shooting. I was thinking it would be very temporary, until her appy got back on track. But, she never needed insulin again after that.
This is exactly what we're going through and although I'm still shooting, I've been tempted to stop many times. But I'm trying to follow the protocol although if I see too many numbers in the 40s or low 50s I reduce regardless of whether he has actually met the criteria.
 
I certainly hope that Boomer improves with his appetite soon...I'm sorry to see that he's just turning up his nose at all the food...I know you're trying everything...and in spite of it all...those great BG's...one thing to be happy about...another to be sad about...

Hang in there Judy...sending you a hug!:bighug:
 
This is so bitter sweet...beautiful bg numbers and yet not eating is worrisome.
Sending you a ton of healing and appy vines to pass along to Boomer. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Let us know how he's doing after the fluids. :bighug:
 
Where do I find kelp powder for the liver shake?
I used Spirulina like Nancy (@JoyBee&Ravan) but GNC had both. Both were about $10 for the bottle and they were capsules. I think it was 5 capsules for the required amount for the liver shake.

You can freeze what you don't use in ice trays for future use. I froze the remainder after two days.
 
:( That was my next suggestion. Sometimes cats get into a funk when they don’t get enough food into them making it counterproductive. Can you try some CN by Purina? I know it has by products in it but it’s worth a shot. 9% carbs and Charlotte would only eat that in the beginning of her insulin treatment. It’s a script but if your vet has it, I’d try that too with mirtazipine.
 
Back
Top