12/16 Big Boy PMPS 108, stalled +1 104 - Decided to skip dose

The Libre often gives a lower bg than a hand held. Next time if possible do an ear prick to confirm.
 
The Libre often gives a lower bg than a hand held. Next time if possible do an ear prick to confirm.
The lowest number last night of 63 was measured on the Verio (handheld) with an ear prick. The verio actually was measuring lower than the Libre. Anytime I get a number in the 60-70 range on the Libre, I plan on testing on the handheld to confirm. Is the goal with TR to get his number below 50, so we can reduce the insulin? At what number should I start to worry and feed him a medium carb snack? I keep getting worried around 60 and feed him medium carbs, which doesn't allow him to drop lower. He is currently sitting at 72 on the libre and it says the numbers are currently decreasing. Trying to get a handle on how I should handle when he drops into the 50-70 range.
 
It’s good you checked with the hand held. A reduction is earned if the bg falls under 50 or 7 days green bg. I’ll link a post for you. If early in the cycle I’d give mc if in 60’s and if the next test is dropping a little hc. Do what’s needed to keep him surfing in healing blue and green. You did that well. Would you update the ss please? The 72 is when?
 
I very much appreciate you taking the time to responed and provide guidance. Is a reduction earned if bg is always green for 7 days or is it just the Nadir that needs to be green for 7 days? I have updated the SS for the 72. I checked bg on the handheld at +2 and he's at 83. Will keep a close eye on him :cat:
 
I very much appreciate you taking the time to responed and provide guidance. Is a reduction earned if bg is always green for 7 days or is it just the Nadir that needs to be green for 7 days? I have updated the SS for the 72. I checked bg on the handheld at +2 and he's at 83. Will keep a close eye on him :cat:

It’s not just nadirs. Here’s the sticky on earning reductions.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
Per Libre has been increasing since +9 90,+10 106, +11 148, PMPS 171. However PMPS on handheld is 108. stalling currently. Waiting to see if his numbers keep increasing on Libre and will test manually again in 15 min.
 
Last edited:
Have stalled for an hour now with no food, and handheld number has gone down a bit to 104. Libre has stayed the same. Calling the vet now for advice.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jasmin, you did really well and asked for support when needed. Great job! Big Boy is lucky to have you as his advocate! This is hard to learn and you’re doing great!
The Libre will be off from your handheld meter. Try to use it as a tool to tell you where he’s headed and confirm when you get to lower numbers with your handheld meter to confirm.
That’s what I do.

Keep posting and asking questions:)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Jasmin, you did really well and asked for support when needed. Great job! Big Boy is lucky to have you as his advocate! This is hard to learn and you’re doing great!
The Libre will be off from your handheld meter. Try to use it as a tool to tell you where he’s headed and confirm when you get to lower numbers with your handheld meter to confirm.
That’s what I do.

Keep posting and asking questions:)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for the suggestion. I have now started doing that.
 
Back
Top