12/15 Zener PMPS 215;+1 347;+3 375'+5.5 406 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
12/14/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 389, 1st cycle @s1.5u, 1.7oz 8%
+1 518, 0.7oz 8%
+2.5 434, 0.6oz 8%
+3 .15mL Bupe, 1PP with Clavamox AB & FDCK
+4.5 449, 1/3PP with 2.5mg pepcid ac, not hungry
+5.5 negative ketones
+6.5 FDCK
PMPS 367, s1.5u, 2nd cycle @s1.5, 1.6oz 8%
+1 346, 0.8oz 8%
+3 353, 1PP with Clavamox & 1/3PP with 2.5mg pepcid
+4 FDCK
+5 360, Bupe, 0.65oz 11%

12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%

Zener is feeling a little better this morning. He was demanding his breakfast, which was nice to see. He did have a soft poo. That could be left over from the Clindamycin. Does Clamavox cause that? In all the commotion, I almost forgot Tillie outside! OK, I did forget Tillie outside. :roll: I had turned off the light, locked the door and closed the curtains. Then I started looking for her in the house... oops. She was fine and had only wondered why the light was off. :lol: :lol: Thinking of ailing kitties and beans today, Shanga and Pallid, Tawny and Desi (donations needed, 2-to-1 match! this is her blog page), Violet's daughter Charlotte who was just diagnosed with pneumonia and a respiratory infection, Jill and DH and others.
Liz
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341 A Trak

Zener is starting a bit lower this morning. I'm glad his appy to heathy. He must be coming to terms with his altered mouthscape. Are you giving him any probiotics, like FortiFlora? That would help get his poo back to normal after the ABs.

Oops on Tillie! We won't tell her.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286 A Trak

12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%
+1.5 286, 0.75oz 11%

We have yellow! I gave him some MC since that is a substantial drop from PS. We have been putting extra fortiflora on his food since we started the ABs, thanks for the suggestion, Linda.
Liz
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341 A Trak

Morning!! Yes the AB's do cause some liquipoo, and the Fortiflora does help--Some vets have it or it is available on line... I am so glad he is feeling better--It also helps a lot to give a bit of food before you give the ab's, like some freeze dried chichken or whatever--Just like peeps, cats need something in their tummy before ab's--
Happy to hear improvement-Know he will be better & Better--Numbers will probably improve a lot too!
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286 A Trak

Come on down Zener! It won't take him long to get back in those pretty blues. Great to hear that he is demanding his fuds! That is a great sign that he is feeling better.

I don't know if Clavamox causes soft poo. Tarragon usually has the pukies with it.

Oh Tille! Glad you figured it out quick and she wasn't upset. I bet she got a few extra kisses though. :-D

Hope Anne is feeling better after her dental!! :YMHUG: Have a great day you guys!!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204 A Trak

Wow, it's blue!
Today
12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%
+1.5 286, 0.75oz 11%
+3 204, 1.1oz 17%
+3.5 1PP with Clavamox; 0.1mL Bupe with FDCK

@Roni - thanks for the details on the fortiflora. We are using it with him on each mini meal while on the ABs. We often use it on his food to help with his finicky appy and it usually gets him to eat. We've ordered it from two places - Amazon and Pet Food Direct, about the same price both places. We've also been giving him the ABs shortly after one of his mini meals and inside pieces of pill pockets. We've also given him freeze dried chicken with that and also after his liquid Bupe. And his numbers ARE better today! :-D

@Melissa - and he's dipping his paddy paws in the blue bayou! :razz: We love it when he pops his head up and squalls for food, what a wonderful sound! The clindamycin pre-dental gave Zener pudding poo, so the soft poo is an improvement. Fortunately, no pukies! ;-) Zener is much quicker to forgive us than Tillie, the Queen of Everything! I am feeling better from my dental - 3 filings and a numb upper lip all day. I dribbled on myself all day yesterday when I would try to drink anything, a straw solved that problem, and all is back to normal today.

Thanks for the good wishes to us all!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204 A Trak

Hi Anne and Liz

Sorry TBP had me missing condos yesterday but I read Zener's from 12/14 and am glad he's feeling much better today and his numbers are coming down. Also happy you are giving him Fortiflora as I was going to suggest some
acidophilus or some other type of probiotic to help with the bacterial destruction the ABs do.

Hope the liquipoo becomes solidpoo. Looking forward to Liz's visit next week!!!

Have a great day and glad Tillie is warm and safe in the house!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204;+5 187 A Trak

Oh my goodness, could it be a blue surf? {{anti-jinx}}
Today
12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%
+1.5 286, 0.75oz 11%
+3 204, 1.1oz 17%
+3.5 1PP with Clavamox; 0.1mL Bupe with FDCK
+5 187, 0.85oz 8%

Zener is definitely feeling better today. Not quite as good as the night of his dental when he was still feeling no pain from the anesthesia, but much better than yesterday! :-D

@Marje - we understand completely about the crazy times! And we appreciate you dropping in whenever you are able! We are slacking on condo visits this week because of our focus on Zener's dental and trying to put this semester to bed. Thanks for the info on fortiflora and ABs. If it wasn't for the advice we got here in LL about fortiflora and pepcid, we're not sure we could have ever transitioned Zener to wet food! :thumbup We started adding fortiflora to all of his meals when we started the pre-dental clindamycin, and then he had pudding poo. Now, it's soft but not pudding, so that's progress! We are supposed to keep him on the Clamavox for 7 days. Then back for a check on his healing. Tillie, the Queen of Everything - otherwise known as QOE - is happily snuggled into her heating pad. Occasionally, she will lift her head and give me the Queen's eye that means - "forget me will you, off with your head"!

Hope everyone is staying warm in LL (those of you in the northern hemisphere) and cool (for those in the southern hemisphere)! Our final storm total was 1 1/2 feet and our high today is 32F. With the sun out, it's practically balmy!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204;+5 187 A Trak

Nice to see pretty numbers and an appetite! Sure sign that Zener is feeling better. :-D

Anne & or Liz, a question (pre-dental in my world!)
- Where did you buy the Fortiflora?
- The AlphaTrak reads an average of about 30 points HIGHER than human meters, right? My vet thinks it's the other way around. I thought I would check before I insist I'm right. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204;+5 187 A Trak

Kathy and Kitty said:
Nice to see pretty numbers and an appetite! Sure sign that Zener is feeling better. :-D
Thanks Kathy, we are delighted with both. Not eating worries us more than numbers. :-D

Kathy and Kitty said:
Anne & or Liz, a question (pre-dental in my world!)
- Where did you buy the Fortiflora?
We understand completely about pre-dental world! We've ordered the fortiflora online at both Amazon and PetFoodDirect.
From Amazon, about $20 and you can get it fairly quickly.
http://www.amazon.com/FortiFlora-Feline ... 184&sr=8-1

At PetFoodDirect, about $23, free shipping
http://www.petfooddirect.com/search/fortiflora-cats

Some vets will carry it too, but we've found online a little cheaper.


Kathy and Kitty said:
The AlphaTrak reads an average of about 30 points HIGHER than human meters, right? My vet thinks it's the other way around. I thought I would check before I insist I'm right. :mrgreen:

You are correct! There is a sticky for the tight regulation protocol that shows a chart for both the AT and human meters. It's in pdf format so you may want to email it or take it in to your vet so the vet can see what you are going by and that it is in the research. ;-)

For example - Zener's value at +5 was 187 and on a human meter it would be 157. Also, if Zener goes below 80 on the AT, that's an earned reduction and you will see that below 50 on the human meter is an earned reduction.

I'll copy and post to your condo, just in case you don't get back here today. We are sending heaps of healing wishes for Kitty's dental.
 
Re: 12/15 Zener AMPS 341;~2 286;+3 204;+5 187;+6 167 A Trak

Surf it, Zener! Woohoo! :lol:

All antibiotics can cause some liquipoo, how much depends on the drug and the individual. Sounds like Zener handles the Clavamox a little better at least. Clavamox is the kitty version of Augmentin, which is notorious for causing diarrhea in humans! I hope he continues to eat well (love the image of him squalling for his breffis!) and maybe these numbers are a sign of good things to come! ((anti-jinx))
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215 A Trak

And still blue (barely) at PMPS!
Today
12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%
+1.5 286, 0.75oz 11%
+3 204, 1.1oz 17%
+3.5 1PP with Clavamox; 0.1mL Bupe with FDCK
+5 187, 0.85oz 8%
+6 167, 0.35oz 11%
+9 182, 1PP with 3mg Zobaline & 2.5mg pepcid
PMPS 215, 4th cycle @s1.5u, 1.3oz 8%

Well, we haven't seen many blue pre-shots lately! Zener has had a pretty darn good day, considering it's day 2 post dental. :-D

We are still on ABs, so he is dealing with pudding poo and sometimes the hersey squirts but no nausea, thank goodness. He had one dose of bupe this morning and seems to be doing pretty good with eating and to not be in much pain, as much as we can tell. He is sleeping and hanging out in his usual places today and no longer in his "I don't feel good, don't bug me" spots. We may give him another dose of bupe before bedtime, depending on how well he eats this cycle. We have enough for another day.

@Melissa & Bailey - thanks for the info on ABs and liquipoo in general. I'm not sure which one is worse for his poo situation - clindamycin or clamavox. Both seem to be having about the same effect. We will keep putting the fortiflora on his meals as long as he is on the ABs. We are supposed to give it to him 2x/day for 7 days. We have paws crossed for even better numbers to come! :razz:
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215 A Trak

What a nice day for Zener post dental day 2. It makes a difference with the numbers. Have a good night, Anne.
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215 A Trak

Hi guys,
ABs mess with the whole system. Zener will be fine once he has finished his course of ABs. Does he eat yogurt? Greek-style plain yogurt with active cultures works well when taking antibiotics, but not all cats will eat it.

Anne, glad to hear that your dental went well.

Zener, keep those numbers coming down!

Liz, Can't you send some of that snow east? It's been 45 degrees and RAINING all day!! All of the ski areas are hurting.

Enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215;+1 347 A Trak

Ah well, it was nice while it lasted! :roll:
Today
12/15/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 341, 3rd cycle @s1.5u, 1.15oz 8%
+1.5 286, 0.75oz 11%
+3 204, 1.1oz 17%
+3.5 1PP with Clavamox; 0.1mL Bupe with FDCK
+5 187, 0.85oz 8%
+6 167, 0.35oz 11%
+9 182, 1PP with 3mg Zobaline & 2.5mg pepcid
PMPS 215, 4th cycle @s1.5u, 1.3oz 8%
+1 347, 0.75oz 8%, 0.1mL Bupe

@Linda - thanks for stopping by and lending your support!

@Ann - yes, we are hopeful we will get similar good results post-dental as we've seen Gabby have recently! Glad to know Maggie has had the same. :-D

@Ella - thanks for the info on ABs wonking the whole system. We won't worry too much until he finishes - his last day of ABs will be Tuesday. Zener won't eat yogurt, but our civvie, Tillie loves it, especially Greek-style plain! We will keep using the fortiflora probiotics with Zener on his food. We are hoping our latest storms come your way and bring you some snow!

Not sure what caused such a big jump @ +1 - a bounce off his big drops early in his AM cycle? His ABs? Pain? And probably a dozen other possible factors. :lol: We decided to give a little of the bupe, just in case it is pain related. Will see what his numbers are @+3.
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215;+1 347;+3 375 A Trak

Well drat, not the direction we want to go. :roll:
PMPS 215, 4th cycle @s1.5u, 1.3oz 8%
+1 347, 0.75oz 8%, 0.1mL Bupe
+3 375, 1PP with clavamox, 0.7oz 8%

Despite the crummy numbers, Zener seems to be feeling better tonight. He is eating better today and resting comfortably, even made a few short trips in his backyard despite the snow. I got a couple of pictures of him in his maze of shoveled paths, will post tomorrow. We'll get one more before bed check.

Hope everyone has a good night in LL!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215;+1 347;+3 375 A Trak

A little late visit, a short one. but it was nice to see some blue today. Too bad though on the return to the pinks... It is good tough to read that Zener is feeling good today. YAY!
 
Re: 12/15 Zener PMPS 215;+1 347;+3 375 A Trak

Thanks for stopping by Michelle, short & sweet is good with us! It was very nice to see some blues and we are hoping for even more as the big guy recovers from the dental! Hope you and the Manster have a good evening! :-D

Ni ni LL! I-)
 
Aaargh, wrong way. Wondering if it is a bounce off today's drops into blue, or if perhaps I didn't get in a good shot tonight. :sad:
PMPS 215, 4th cycle @s1.5u, 1.3oz 8%
+1 347, 0.75oz 8%, 0.1mL Bupe
+3 375, 1PP with clavamox, 1.0 oz 8%
+5.5 406, 1.0oz 8%

Now I really AM off to bed! Tomorrow is another day. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top