12/15 Tink AMPS 275, PMPS 239 - Up to 3.75u

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129308

Wow... it's been longer than I thought since I've posted! Oops!

We increased to 3.5 and had very little to show for it. Now we're at dose 9 on 3.75u and finally have 3 yellow preshots in a row. I'll take it! We were in BOUNCE CITY for awhile. I started upping the food early in the cycle and that seemed to help. Interested to see what happens the rest of this week if I can keep him from bouncing... but I think another increase to 4u (all time high) is likely in store for this weekend.

I was really starting to worry there for a bit... we were spending a LOT of time in black/red/pink. No trace of ketones though, so that was good - but I was holding my breath every time I tested for them!

In other news... we've added a new kitten (though Tink hasn't met him yet). Poor little thing showed up under my neighbor's porch during a really cold stretch where we were dipping into the teens overnight and not getting above freezing during the day. He looked to be 7-8 weeks old based on size, but the vet says he's more like 16weeks (based on teeth)... so I think he's had it rough. He was barely over 2lb. Little orange tabby. Goopy eyes and horrible diarrhea so he's been in quarantine. Vet told my daughter that the KMR (2nd step) was giving him diarrhea. That, and round worms. SO treated for those and stopped the KMR (despite my knowing that wasn't what was causing it). It's been nearly a week and he's still dealing with the diarrhea. So, she's gonna call the clinic again in the morning and see what they suggest. They did a fecal, but didn't say what they looked for. I could have TOLD them it wasn't the KMR because he had the diarrhea when we got him, and he obviously wasn't getting KMR under a porch. Poor thing was skin and bones so I felt he needed the boost. Anyway... he's much better condition wise... and eyes look better... but still nasty diarrhea (can't keep himself clean so he's getting daily baths which he does NOT love). Poor little behind is so swollen and looks so sore. :( I hope they offer up some other suggestions. We're torn between using the cheap clinic, or going to my regular vet which costs 3X as much (and this is very strictly my DAUGHTERS cat - I had no intention on keeping it and will not assume the costs). I'm in over my head with my current feline and canine children. She's got the money - she works p/t and has no bills... but still, we like to be frugal where we can. I really figured the clinic would have seen enough kittens with diarrhea to know the common things to test for (I'm assuming coccidia, or some of the other common kitten ailments that shelters see). In the meantime, we're keeping him in the spare room and washing our hands after handling him. Just wish we could get the runny poo cleared up so he can come out into the house and meet everyone. He's been tested for FIV/FeLV and at this point he should be past quarantine time for distemper, etc. Aside from the runs, he seems healthy.
 
Nice cycle for Tink today- sometimes a flat yellow an precede a drop down to green. Hope you survived our Thanksgiving Big Chill- oh and congrats on getting the new kitten- poor little baby, I am sorry somebody abandoned him during the coldspell- some people! :-x Hope your vet can figure out what is making him so sick.
 
Jen

He's doing some pretty big drops which are likely causing these bounces. I know it's difficult to do especially at night, but on cycles when he's coming down, if there is any way to grab one more test at some point after mid-cycle to see how low he is getting, that would be helpful. I'm thinking it's the drops that might be causing the bouncing but it could also be the blue numbers.

Bless you and your daughter for taking in the little kitten. I hope they figure out his diarrhea soon. Tobey had horrible diarrhea when we got him and although his tests were negative for coccidia and giardia, it's some times tough to actually catch these with a positive test. My vet treated him first for coccidia and when that didn't work, for giardia and he responded to that treatment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top