12/15 Star Cat AMPS 88, +1.5~93 +3~115, +4~116

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/15 Star Cat AMPS 45 Dose advice

You can't shoot a 45. The general rule is "feed the 40s." I'd suggest giving a teaspoon of LC and retesting in 20 - 30 min.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat AMPS 45

Yikes that is a very green number. I am going to assume since you are asking for advice you did not shoot this. So nobody falls off their chair reading this and thinking you did shoot could you change the subject to say +12 45. It is only AMPS if you shoot.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

She's begging for food...LC now... thanks wise ones!
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45~ 56 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

nice catch and decision for Star Cat; maybe she's on a mission!
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45~ 56 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Hopefully, not. Right now, you're stalling so you can get a number that's in a shootable range. The 56 is probably food induced. Test in another 20 - 30 min. but don't feed.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45~ 56 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Ok. Thanks! I'm so glad I'm finally home for one of these low green days. She's snuggling now. Seems very happy! :)
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45~ 56 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

I don't know about others but it depends on how late you are and how flexible your schedule may be.
If you normally shoot at 6am and you are still waiting by +2 for a safe number, you need to decide if you are going to shoot and if you can manage the new 12/12.
If you shoot at 8am, that's your new amps and your pmps would be at 8pm.
It's up to you but when I am still waiting for a shootable number by +14, I usually say forget it, skip the shot, let the shed drain a bit and then pick up where we left off with the next shot.

Where are you right now? How late is the shot? How flexible is your shot schedule?

Whenever you give a wee bit of foods, you will likely see the next number a wee bit higher. That's the reason it's said to hold food because you want to see a pure rising number that has not possibly been affected by foods.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12 ~ 45~ 56 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Hi Gayle,

Here are my answers:

We are about at 13 right now. I have time this evening, but tomorrow morning I will have to leave at 12, no matter what, so I will be behind slightly by then.

I am home all day today, in and out this afternoon, and out for a long time around shot time tonight (Daughter in the Nutcracker Ballet, had rehearsals last night, which made us late and has rehearsals tonight, will be on time with where we are now) So I will come home right at the 12 and test, and have to shoot because it will be getting late.

BUSY time of year for a DANCE MOM! I promise you! :)

I will be happy to shoot a BCS and monitor closely this morning, if need be. I really don't want to loose the shed completely.

Going to test again in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Yes, I would shoot now. You could shoot 0.25u if you want. If you stall longer you will have to skip.

Get a +1 and +2 to start.

Whoa, if you need to go back by an hour by tomorrow, no, don't shoot....I misread.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

I'm going to see if I can get my mom to shoot tomorrow.
I'm giving her .25 now. she's up to 88
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Ok, gave her the .25.

Actually it will be good if I stay on this late schedule, due to us being out late all the rest of the nights this week through Saturday night. I will have my mom shoot her on this later 12/12 tomorrow and Friday.

Thank goodness for back up!

I will still check her before I leave for work so we can determine the dose for mom to give.

I'm so glad I thought of that!

Star is grooming now. :) PUUUURRRRRRR!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Laurie, just saw your question.

With mom's help it will be 12/12s.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Ok, if you can get your mom to shoot, that's good. Can you teach her to test?

Rebecca, I'm looking at your SS, and I see that you shot a F0.5u last night and 2 days ago. It's really important not to change the dose frequently like that, Lantus likes consistency. I know it's tempting to boost the dose when you don't see the numbers you want, but it's really counterproductive with Lantus to dose hop, it leads to wonky numbers. So please, pick a dose and stick with it, ok? Since you are so busy right now, I would stick with the 0.5u if I were you.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

I hope the .25u shot is OK. It's always important to look ahead at the times of future shots to be sure you can work back to your normal shot times slowly, Lantus and Lev work best if you keep to the 12/12 plan as best as possible, and don't make dose changes up and down without letting each change settle.
The time you gave the shot this morning is your new +0 and your pm shot will be 12hrs after this morn's shot.
I hope all goes nicely with the ballet rehearsals.
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~83 Dose advice ~ did not shoot

Ok. I will try to stay with the .50

I had no idea the "fat" would make such big difference. I never know what to expect with her. :oops:

She is 93 now at the +1.5

I am not concerned about getting back to a 12/12 after this weekend, as I am off for 2 weeks vacation and can slowly move her back over a period of many days. It's actually a blessing in disguise that we moved her this morning, because I will be late all the nights for next 5 days. I have been very aware of the 12/12 and trying to keep as close as possible to this schedule. Some times it's a challenge, but so far I've been able to manage it ok.

Mom used to work at a shelter, she will be fine with testing/poking. She's only here for a week though. :(

I plan to teach her everything this afternoon.

Star cat has 5P's this morning and is really very happy!

I will keep close watch on her today.


Thank you so much for the guidance.

RR
 
Re: 12/15 Star Cat +12~45~56~AMPS 88, +1.5~93 half dose toda

I know she free feeds, but I would make sure she eats something now, if you can. She's approaching onset and you may need to work to manage her curve today. It's good that she's holding her numbers up at this point, but you will need to monitor her closely.

I know you reduced her dose, but sometimes the shed will make up for the reduction and the action may be similar to a full dose, so be aware of that, ok?
 
OUCH!!!

First time ever she scratched the heck out of me! Did not want her ear pricked anymore today!

Grrr. Be nice to mommy girl!

+4 is a 116
 
Star Cat, be nice to your bean, she's trying to keep you safe and healthy! :shock:

Her numbers look good so far Rebecca. She may keep surfing there, but there's no way to be sure without testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top