? 12/15 Silver AMPS 347 PMPS 326 DAY 3 since bounce - is this no longer bouncing and blues history?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am wondering if there was movement mid cycle today that was not caught.

Can take some kitties awhile to clear a bounce.

You may want to post for some dosage advice tomorrow..not sure if she may need a slight bump up or not???
 
I think you'll know more when you do your curve this weekend. And some cats can take several cycles to clear a bounce as Tracey said. Frustrating, I know. Asia's bouncing right now too, but with a little time, you'll take a bounce as the gift that it is: a little more freedom to do things besides worry about and poke your cat! ;)
 
I am wondering if there was movement mid cycle today that was not caught.

Can take some kitties awhile to clear a bounce.

You may want to post for some dosage advice tomorrow..not sure if she may need a slight bump up or not???
Thanks. I don’t think I want to change his dose right now until this bounce clears. He was down at 8 that I caught and they was only at +4 with another two hours still to drop so am pretty sure he would have gone below 5.
 
I think you'll know more when you do your curve this weekend. And some cats can take several cycles to clear a bounce as Tracey said. Frustrating, I know. Asia's bouncing right now too, but with a little time, you'll take a bounce as the gift that it is: a little more freedom to do things besides worry about and poke your cat! ;)
I’ll do my best to do a curve but i have to be out part of the morning. I’ll get a preshot then not another test until +5 unfortunately so not a proper curve. Is there much point doing one if he is bouncing tho? He will be high all day.
 
I’ll do my best to do a curve but i have to be out part of the morning. I’ll get a preshot then not another test until +5 unfortunately so not a proper curve. Is there much point doing one if he is bouncing tho? He will be high all day.
+5 is a good one, you have to do what you can. Hopefully he will clear the bounce for you in time to see what's going on in between the am shots. ;)
 
+5 is a good one, you have to do what you can. Hopefully he will clear the bounce for you in time to see what's going on in between the am shots. ;)
I’ll get a +5, 6 and 7 as I’m really hoping to catch his nadir. He’s been so affectionate tonight. Rubbing his head on mine. And I think I need to remember the good stuff and how much I love him to bits and not the needles and testing and numbers. He’s more than the numbers.
 
I’ll get a +5, 6 and 7 as I’m really hoping to catch his nadir. He’s been so affectionate tonight. Rubbing his head on mine. And I think I need to remember the good stuff and how much I love him to bits and not the needles and testing and numbers. He’s more than the numbers.
That is so true, they are not their numbers, but it's easy to get bogged down because we just want them to feel better, fast. It was my experience that Asia started to feel better before her numbers started consistently looking all that great. It must be a relief to them not to be so hungry and thirsty and drinking and peeing all the time and it's probably a gradual thing. All the confirmation I needed was she started to ask me for her shots! :joyful: I don't give treats or anything with shots either, so the only conclusion I could make is that she has correlated these shots to her feeling better. :cat:
 
@Chris & China what do you think is going on? I was expecting Silver very likely may have shown a high green on Tuesday evening and I wish I could have stayed up to find out - but IF he had - he'd be due a dose reduction on SLGS. But look what's happened since. Surely this cant still be a bounce? I will get in a as many tests as I can tomorrow around the errands I need to run but if he starts the day off high - pattern is that he stays high - at least that's what all the previous curves seem to show. So disappointing to be back in pinks after those blues.
 
Silver very likely may have shown a high green on Tuesday evening

I seriously doubt it....he just wasn't dropping that fast....I suspect he probably didn't go too much lower

Surely this cant still be a bounce?

No, I don't think so.....bounces usually only take up to 3 days to clear....he's done with his bounce.....I think he needs to go up to 1.75 next and since it's the weekend, now's a good time to go ahead and increase while you can test more often
 
I seriously doubt it....he just wasn't dropping that fast....I suspect he probably didn't go too much lower



No, I don't think so.....bounces usually only take up to 3 days to clear....he's done with his bounce.....I think he needs to go up to 1.75 next and since it's the weekend, now's a good time to go ahead and increase while you can test more often
Bummer I’m so disappointed. Where did those blues come from then if the insulin isn’t working? Yup. Its exactly three days so back to pinks it is :arghh::arghh:
 
Question re the depot. I thought the insulin he uses today is what I gave him the day before and that what I give today is topping up the depot? Or am I totally misunderstanding the depot?
 
Where did those blues come from then if the insulin isn’t working?

Those blues prove the insulin IS working!! He didn't get there on his own...LOL

Cat's insulin needs can change.....also, something called "glucose toxicity" can be a problem too.....even though he's getting it, it's not enough so his body gets "used to" living in pink even with insulin

To beat glucose toxicity you want to increase as often as safely possible.

Or am I totally misunderstanding the depot?

The depot is a hard concept to understand. Let's see if this helps:

You have a garden that you need to water. You have a large funnel on one end of a hose and a long hose that's slowly releasing the water into the garden. If you put too much water in the funnel, it spills out....when you first start filling the funnel, the garden isn't getting the required amount of water yet.....but if you keep the funnel full, the hose releases the right amount of water to the garden without spilling over.

The funnel is the "depot"....each time you give a shot, it's like adding water to the funnel.....for the next several days, the hose is dripping more and more water onto the garden.

Once the funnel is full and the hose is releasing the same amount every day, we can see if the garden is actually getting enough water, or if we need a bigger funnel (increase the dose)
 
So I shouldn’t expect to see the results of an increase tomorrow then?

If I’m to increase as often as safely possible to beat glucose toxicity should I be trying TR? Makes me nervous tho as you see how often I’m able to test.
 
Oh I guess I can’t. Just read this in the sticky:

  • Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
    More monitoring may be needed.
  • It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
 
So I shouldn’t expect to see the results of an increase tomorrow then?

Probably not.....(remember, we're talking cats here though....they don't like to play by the "rules")

Generally though, the first cycle or two of an increase you won't see much difference.....a lot of times they go even higher! (we call it New Dose Wonkiness)

By the 3rd or 4th cycle, you should begin to see some effects, but it takes at least 6 cycles to "top off" the funnel and really see what the dose is going to do

BUT....sometimes they surprise us and react to that first dose increase!...they wouldn't be cats if they made it easy!!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top