Re: 12/15 Pumbaa AMPS/116 +2/129 +4.5/70 +6/62 +7/56 +9.25/4
"I'll take 'Dose Reductions' for $300, Alex." ;-)
I know that some people will say that the dose increase to 3.25U last night could
not possibly have affected Pumbaa this quickly, on only his second cycle, because of the time it takes the shed to fill. I also know that some people will think that I am absolutely crazy for taking a dose reduction when Pumbaa had only been on that dose for 2 cycles.
But...this is the second dose increase in a row where Pumbaa went below 50 within the first 2 cycles. And it's entirely within the realm of possibility that he did on 12/1 as well.
I wonder how low he would have gone today had I not been here to give him small portions of 9% carbs food to try and slow this down? It was interesting at AM +8, when I didn't give him any 9% food, and he dropped from 69 to 44 in one hour. I am now a firm believer that, while Pumbaa didn't appear to be sensitive to the difference between 4%, 5% and 7% carbs food (which he is normally fed), he is sensitive to the extra boost of the 9% carbs. And tonight, since his PMPS was 100, he and Larry were fed 9% carbs food for the evening cycle. I do have at least one can of HC food on hand, as well as honey, but hope that I won't have to break either out. I also pray that Pumbaa doesn't bounce big after that 44 this afternoon. nailbite_smile
Sheila has been trying for ages now convince me that Pumbaa is very insulin sensitive. I still haven't figured out what she has been seeing that I haven't, until just recently...as in the last couple of dose increases.
The good news in all of this is that Pumbaa loves his greens, and had many bursts of juvenile delinquent energy during the AM cycle. *LOL* And I also like the fact that the higher carbed food doesn't fill his belly as much as it would take with lower carbed food, and that he did a good job grazing on the higher carbed food when I gave it to him.
I don't know if Pumbaa will stay low tonight, or bounce. I hope he doesn't bounce, and I'm ready for his staying low as, since my cell phone stopped playing any alert sounds Thursday night, I borrowed two travel alarms from my mom so that I can still try and nap on the sofa and actually have an alarm to wake me up at testing time. I've relied on a cell phone alarm since Pumbaa was diagnosed, and not having this is really a bummer, and I can't afford to hire a percussionist to sit in my living room for 8 hours at night and hit the cymbals repeatedly when I need to wake up and test the little guy. *LOL* That would be perfect, though! (Addendum: My new phone should be here on Wednesday, thankfully!)
Right now I am re-reading this very interesting thread explaining "
the shed".
Suze