12.15 Ovie PMPS:185,+1:151,+3:51,+3.5:72,+4:75,+5:76

Status
Not open for further replies.
The Reduction is going well so far. His +2 and +3 readings were the same number. Is that common? I guess with the mini meals he isn't dropping?
 
Yay good. He seems tired today's has been napping a lot. I figure maybe it's from all the action last night.
 
It looks like Ov is bouncing:D:cool:.. that normally happens after a reduction right?
No, I don't think bounce normally happens after a reduction, if anything, after an increase that would put them in to lower numbers. It's a bit too soon to say what exactly is going on, but that PMPS is not unlike others you've had. I think it could be lack of duration, a bounce from the lows in the pm cycle last night, or his numbers could be skewing up because of the reduction (as in it's not enough insulin). I wouldn't worry about the last one at all, it's just a possibility. You should know enough in a few hours to rule in or out the first two.
 
Just to clarify, a bounce could happen after a reduction, if the reduction is earned from going too low, but the reduction itself isn't what causes the bouncing, the low numbers are. Also, not all reductions are earned by going below 50.
 
No, I don't think bounce normally happens after a reduction, if anything, after an increase that would put them in to lower numbers. It's a bit too soon to say what exactly is going on, but that PMPS is not unlike others you've had. I think it could be lack of duration, a bounce from the lows in the pm cycle last night, or his numbers could be skewing up because of the reduction (as in it's not enough insulin). I wouldn't worry about the last one at all, it's just a possibility. You should know enough in a few hours to rule in or out the first two.
He was having what seemed like duration problems the cycles following up to the low numbers last night. That's why it was such a surprise to see the low numbers. He surfed wonderfully in the 70s for much of the day today.

I took a +1 and he was 151.
 
I stalled for 30 minutes and shot at 94.
:D
Why? :p:p:p:p Once you learn how to shoot green, you have to be a little careful about stalling if you get a very shootable number. The reason is, sometimes they keep dropping to the point where you are thinking “oh, I can’t shoot because he’s dropping so much” and then the next thing you know, he’s in the 40s and you have to skip a shot.

If you shoot that lovely higher green number, you can feed him and let the numbers start to rise.
It looks like Ov is bouncing:D:cool:.. that normally happens after a reduction right?
Depends on the cat. If the cat got lower than the body likes, really low, or dropped fast, it can easily bounce after a reduction. That’s why we wait for the bounce to clear before we decide if the reduction failed. Some cats, where the “switch has flipped” and they are loving green and blue, don’t bounce after a reduction.

Looks to me like he had a normal Lantus cycle. He also looks headed south!! :D
 
Why? :p:p:p:p Once you learn how to shoot green, you have to be a little careful about stalling if you get a very shootable number. The reason is, sometimes they keep dropping to the point where you are thinking “oh, I can’t shoot because he’s dropping so much” and then the next thing you know, he’s in the 40s and you have to skip a shot.

If you shoot that lovely higher green number, you can feed him and let the numbers start to rise.

Depends on the cat. If the cat got lower than the body likes, really low, or dropped fast, it can easily bounce after a reduction. That’s why we wait for the bounce to clear before we decide if the reduction failed. Some cats, where the “switch has flipped” and they are loving green and blue, don’t bounce after a reduction.

Looks to me like he had a normal Lantus cycle. He also looks headed south!! :D
You think I should have shot the first number I got? Instead of the 94? I remember now you telling me before that that could happen with stalling? Right? I'm so tired, I'm not sure I'm reading correctly:joyful:

He did make his way back down. He was 51 at +3 but I accidentally fell asleep for his +2 meal and he missed it :(.
 
You think I should have shot the first number I got? Instead of the 94? I remember now you telling me before that that could happen with stalling? Right? I'm so tired, I'm not sure I'm reading correctly:joyful:

He did make his way back down. He was 51 at +3 but I accidentally fell asleep for his +2 meal and he missed it :(.
Yes, exactly. I do understand how exhausted you have to be and it’s hard to remember stuff like that when you haven’t done it over and over to the point that it’s second nature.
 
Yes, exactly. I do understand how exhausted you have to be and it’s hard to remember stuff like that when you haven’t done it over and over to the point that it’s second nature.
I should have went for it this morning. I needed that pep talk though.:) Thank you. Ovie is very reactive to carbs which makes it a bit easier to bring him back up from lower numbers.

:joyful:I was like a zombie all day today.

FD is very mathematical to me and I struggle in the math department.:confused:

I'm glad I have you guys to help me out along the way.:bighug:
 
I should have went for it this morning. I needed that pep talk though.:) Thank you. Ovie is very reactive to carbs which makes it a bit easier to bring him back up from lower numbers.

:joyful:I was like a zombie all day today.

FD is very mathematical to me and I struggle in the math department.:confused:

I'm glad I have you guys to help me out along the way.:bighug:
Please know I wasn’t criticizing at all and I apologize if I came off that way. Back in time a bit, they called me the Borg Queen .....”resistance is futile” :nailbiting: because I was always “encouraging” members who had shot green a few times to not stall if it wasn’t needed. Actually, the two wonderful ladies (@Anne & Zener GA) that gave me that moniker are dear friends and were Tobey's and Gracie’s Godmommies......and now Tobey’s and Livia’s. We got a lot of chuckles out of that and members were always posting pictures of the Borg Queen on Gracie’s condos. :smuggrin::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just so you know it wasn’t aimed at you personally.....it’s what I do. ;);)
latest


Thankfully, I don’t really look like this :joyful::joyful::joyful::p
 
Ha! :joyful:

I was always “encouraging” members who had shot green a few times to not stall if it wasn’t needed.

When is it needed to stall vs not needed? I had that issue the other day. If you are waiting to see if they will come up, and they are fasting, wouldn't they not come up because of the lack of food?
 
Ha! :joyful:
When is it needed to stall vs not needed? I had that issue the other day. If you are waiting to see if they will come up, and they are fasting, wouldn't they not come up because of the lack of food?
You would stall if kitty is below 40. If you were fairly new to shooting green (newer than Katie) and you thought it was a hugely dropping number, you might want to stall.

ETA: for an experienced member, if kitty was close to 50 and you couldn’t monitor closely for the cycle, you might want to stall a bit for safety but you risk numbers continuing to drop and having to skip. That’s where “know thy cat” and knowing your availability and ability to test come in to play.

For a lot of cats, the numbers will come up because it’s the end of the cycle. But if they are clearing a bounce, if they’ve got some great duration, etc, they might keep dropping. I think I only stalled once for more than 30 minutes and it was because Gracie wouldn’t come out of the 40s for two hours even with a little LC on board. I had to skip and feed her a solid meal.
 
Last edited:
Please know I wasn’t criticizing at all and I apologize if I came off that way. Back in time a bit, they called me the Borg Queen .....”resistance is futile” :nailbiting: because I was always “encouraging” members who had shot green a few times to not stall if it wasn’t needed. Actually, the two wonderful ladies (@Anne & Zener GA) that gave me that moniker are dear friends and were Tobey's and Gracie’s Godmommies......and now Tobey’s and Livia’s. We got a lot of chuckles out of that and members were always posting pictures of the Borg Queen on Gracie’s condos. :smuggrin::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just so you know it wasn’t aimed at you personally.....it’s what I do. ;);)
latest


Thankfully, I don’t really look like this :joyful::joyful::joyful::p
Oh no! I didn't take offense. :) I really needed the pep talk. With a sugar kitty and a 3 year old + lack of sleep. I appreciate you telling me. :bighug:

I am happy for any advice you give. I'm a little over a month in on managing Ovie's diabetes. And I couldn't have gotten this far without the support of you guys. :bighug:

:)I love the nickname! :joyful: I will keep your words in the back of my head next time I second guess shooting. Lol!
 
You would stall if kitty is below 40. If you were fairly new to shooting green (newer than Katie) and you thought it was a hugely dropping number, you might want to stall.

For a lot of cats, the numbers will come up because it’s the end of the cycle. But if they are clearing a bounce, if they’ve got some great duration, etc, they might keep dropping. I think I only stalled once for more than 30 minutes and it was because Gracie wouldn’t come out of the 40s for two hours even with a little LC on board. I had to skip and feed her a solid meal.
Ah ok.:cat:
 
You say ah, ok, I just say aaahhhhhh! There should be a very special award for shooting a 40 and I don't think I'd earn it anytime soon, if ever! :joyful: If Asia started doing the flat cycle thing and responded better to food, maybe that wouldn't sound so off for me. Something tells me Ovie would do just fine though. He really is impressive, I can't believe that vet thought he was a lost cause! :rolleyes:
 
You say ah, ok, I just say aaahhhhhh! There should be a very special award for shooting a 40 and I don't think I'd earn it anytime soon, if ever! :joyful: If Asia started doing the flat cycle thing and responded better to food, maybe that wouldn't sound so off for me. Something tells me Ovie would do just fine though. He really is impressive, I can't believe that vet thought he was a lost cause! :rolleyes:
Hold the phone there, Jelly Bean. We don’t shoot below 50. By stalling for kitty below 40, that means you stall until they are above 50 and then you can shoot.

Here’s the award for shooting below 50
2B6C3823-17E0-4DF0-8769-E393132E19DE.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • A90997CE-84DC-481C-876D-EDFD456CA42C.jpeg
    A90997CE-84DC-481C-876D-EDFD456CA42C.jpeg
    116.7 KB · Views: 47
You say ah, ok, I just say aaahhhhhh! There should be a very special award for shooting a 40 and I don't think I'd earn it anytime soon, if ever! :joyful: If Asia started doing the flat cycle thing and responded better to food, maybe that wouldn't sound so off for me. Something tells me Ovie would do just fine though. He really is impressive, I can't believe that vet thought he was a lost cause! :rolleyes:
:joyful: You know what I would probably freaking out too.

I know. He is doing really well. I feel for the kitties before him who were put down because of FD when it's so treatable.:(
 
Hold the phone there, Jelly Bean. We don’t shoot below 50. By stalling for kitty below 40, that means you stall until they are above 50 and then you can shoot.
Okay, I thought that was a head scratcher. So you would stall if below 50 then? Or is there some different tactic between 40-49?

I don't want that award, as cute as it is! ;)
 
Okay, I thought that was a head scratcher. So you would stall if below 50 then? Or is there some different tactic between 40-49?

I don't want that award, as cute as it is! ;)
If you test at PS and get a number in the 40s, stall without feeding, and retest in 20 minutes. If the numbers are still in the 40s, feed one tsp LC, and retest in 30 mins. If the BG is above 50, shooooooootttttt! If the number is not above 50,
retest in 20 mins. Lather, rinse, repeat and shoot as soon as the number is above 50.

However, if you stall two hours and numbers done come out f the 40s, it’s best to just skip and feed.

Here’s a great post on Dealing with Low Preshots. It has lots more info in it so I won’t reinvent the wheel.

Hahaha! It’s true! @Marje and Gracie is the Borg Queen! And she is as cute as her kitties! :cat: :cat: :cat:
Liz
You are too sweet, my lovely friend! And darn it! I forgot to give you your flashlight that Georgia left here
72DDEA76-F950-4948-B635-7F72086F7652.gif
72DDEA76-F950-4948-B635-7F72086F7652.gif
 
If you test at PS and get a number in the 40s, stall without feeding, and retest in 20 minutes. If the numbers are still in the 40s, feed one tsp LC, and retest in 30 mins. If the BG is above 50, shooooooootttttt! If the number is not above 50,
retest in 20 mins. Lather, rinse, repeat and shoot as soon as the number is above 50.

However, if you stall two hours and numbers done come out f the 40s, it’s best to just skip and feed.

Here’s a great post on Dealing with Low Preshots. It has lots more info in it so I won’t reinvent the wheel.


You are too sweet, my lovely friend! And darn it! I forgot to give you your flashlight that Georgia left here View attachment 32778View attachment 32778
Thank you for the info Marje.:cat::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top