12/15 , Oreo AMPS 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

oreosmom

Member Since 2012
Hello All,

Just sending an update...Oreo is feeling better~ he is playing , friskier and looks good! His numbers are dropping too...can't beat that!!! His numbers are slowly dropping so we decreased the Lantus to 1.5 units. We are really not sure if we are aiming for OTJ , since he's on prednisilone. So I made an appointment with the big guy...Oreo's oncologist. I will show him the spreadsheet and go from there.

His BG dropped to 87 last night. It was at 10:30 pm, and we gave him his shot at 5:30. Is the NADIR six hours after the shot? After the six hours, can we expect the numbers to increase? I wasn't completely clear on this so I re-tested him at 11:30 and 12:30. I'd like to know the predictability of the Nadir and Lantus so I can go to bed and not worry.
Again, thanks for your guidance!

Carol , Oreo's Mom
 
Hello

I wish the nadir was predictable , in theory for an ideal cat it's at +6 but there is no such thing as a perfect cat and it seems to vary between cats, and even in the same cat. Especially if they are bouncing. Over time with testing you can get a rough idea of what your cat is likely to do a lot of the time.

Reducing the dose can take a little while to see if it sticks due to the depot effect. Would like to see his numbers for today.. We don't normally reduce unless they go under 50.
 
Carol

His low number the other night after you reduced was probably due to the 1.75u dose.

As Wendy said, nadirs move around and sometimes from cycle to cycle. If numbers are running lower at night, I usually recommend you have two, rising, no food influenced numbers before you call it a night. You can, of course, sleep/test.

Glad he's doing well.
 
Thanks Marje and Wendy,

There is so much to learn! I will keep you posted on what the oncologist says. If he thinks we can go into the "green zone" then I won't feel so afraid of giving him the full dose.
See, our vet told us that 100-200 was the best we might ever expect for Oreo. So 100 has been my bottom line ...then I sort of freak and think he might be going "hypo".

Again thanks,

Carol and Oreo
 
Carol --

Take a look at several of our SSs. Most of us have had cats drop into much lower green numbers.

Vets will tell most of their clients to keep their cats in numbers over 100. There's a very practical reason for this; most people don't home test. The vet does not want to have the liability for having a cat drop into low numbers since most vets aren't available 24/7 to help you steer the numbers. Our goal, with any of the dosing protocols, is to have a cat spend as much time in normal numbers (50 - 120) so the pancreas has the most opportunity to heal.

With regard to the pred, there's no way to know if Oreo will be able to go OTJ while on a steroid. Some cats have a very marked response to steroids; some don't. Regardless of the kind of response that Oreo has, you can still adjust your insulin dose so your cat is in green numbers
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top