12/15 Errol AMPS 5.3 [95] +2 4.1 [74]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Errol

Member Since 2013
I am hoping this week will be quieter & I'll be able to be at home for 24hrs straight to do a BG curve. I wanted to ask, is there a lower dose than .25 that Errol would go on if his numbers drop much lower, or how would I handle it?

Oh, and this morning he played with his wand! He is not the kind to play with toys much, never has been. I've noticed he's put some weight on - from losing a little when he was off his food he's put some on on now - and he's not eating a lot of food either. I do worry that he won't get all the necessary minerals and vitamins he needs if he doesn't eat ''enough'' but also worried about him being overweight. I wish going outdoors was an option but with the ferals and wild animals it's not.. Though when he goes out when I'm with him, he just nibbles grass and sunbathes - not much exercise there :lol:
 
Hi there:) There are smaller doses to use like 0.1 or 1 drop etc...I was trying to find the links to some posts on microdosing for you, here are the ones I found that have pictures, hope this helps:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424#p360982

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...8&p=1061725&hilit=syringes+half+unit#p1061725

There is one or two posts somewhere about using calipers to measure too. There is a protocol that says when to go down in dose somewhere. I ended up doing the drop counting or pushing the plunger hard then pulling in one drop when I did it :-D It's good to hear that Errol is playing and putting some weight on. Hope you have a great day!
 
Wonderful to hear that Errol is starting to feel like his old self again. :mrgreen: He is giving you some beautiful numbers.

The part of the protocol sticky you might be interested in is - I've bolded the relevant parts:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Besides going under 2.8 (50), the other way that Errol can earn a deduction is if he spends 7 days or 14 cycles mostly in normal numbers (50-120).

If you look at Twice's SS, you'll see a kitty that's now earning his deductions that way.
 
I'm glad Errol is feeling playful and doing so well. If Errol was eating a lot when he was first diagnosed, it was probably due to the diabetes. Once I got Furball on insulin and in some good numbers, she wasn't as hungry and didn't eat as much. Once they get used to normal numbers, their bodies use food more efficiently and they don't need to eat as much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top