12/15 Cole Switched to Human Meter AMPS 81/+2 79/+4 70/+6 77/PMPS 77/+2 77

Question on dosing - we moved to a human meter and Cole is consistently in the lagoon. I suspect that the consistent blue levels we have seen for the last week on the AT would probably be green on this meter as well.

I tried pushing him up to .75u around cycle 9 last time, and pretty quickly earned a reduction back to .5u.

What is the dosing reduction suggested if he stays flat and green at .5u? Do I reduce again and when? Is this what I follow?
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

thanks!
 
I personally would start the 7 day count withe the day you started with the human meter. He will earn a reduction by dropping under 50 if he really needs it.
 
Last edited:
What is the dosing reduction suggested if he stays flat and green at .5u? Do I reduce again and when? Is this what I follow?
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
That’s it. :cool:
The first time my BK reduced by virtue of BGs between 50-100 for a week felt really strange to me. For us it happened on the way down from 1.25u to 1u. After that all remaining reductions (1.25 —> 1 —>0 .75 —> 0.50 —> 0.25 —> 0.10 —> 00 ) happened not because of dipping below 50 but by virtue of maintaining normal BGs. It took 2 months to go all the way to his OTJ trial. After that he went to the falls where he remained for the rest of his life (6.5 years) :D
 
Back
Top