12/15 Cassius AMPS 93 PMPS 106 Where did these #'s come from?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Have a vet appointment tomorrow. He's not a happy kitty. Just hiding the majority of the day in the cubby and rarely comes out. He is eating so that's good. Yesterday he started spitting up. He does a sort of gag/cough and then just spits up. No food, no bile. Just spit. I am not sure if there is a tooth issue going on. Animal control just noted mild tatar and gingivitis. I have not noticed how his teeth look inside. I don't see inflammation when he yawns. Anyway, I started giving him a compound antibiotic that I rub on his ear. I used it for 2 of my other cats with teeth issues. Figure worse case at least if he needs a dental he's already on the ABX.
 
I'm wondering if you're getting some wonky numbers because of the dose changing. My thought is that if you can hold the dose steady his numbers would be flatter.

What's the antibiotic for his ear? I haven't heard of one that's applied that way that would work on dental issues, but that's an interesting idea.

Good luck at the vet's! Let us know how it goes.
 
I'm not confident enough to keep the steady dose. I still feel like I don't know him well enough. I mean his overall character, let alone the diabetic issue. I'm too nervous to shoot the 1.75u when he is low. I wasn't home Saturday to test him and now he's hiding a lot during the day both yesterday and today. I try to coerce him out of the cubby and nothing is working. I'm going to have to take them away somehow to get him to the vet tomorrow. There is no way I could pull him out. He already bit Marc and did a pretty good job. I mean it broke the skin. Not like the biting my other cats do that barely leave a mark.

It's a compound antibiotic. I used it on my cat with stomatitis (so far she's had 2 dentals and meds and has not had to have ANY teeth taken out. She had one dental last year and one this. I had another cat with an abcess in her mouth/chin area it burst and then came back. As soon as I saw her chin getting puffy I gave her the compound ABX on her ear and it went away. Now Cassius I'm trying it with. It's from a pharmacy that compounds. It's C-Azithromcin lipoderm. 40mg. I rub 0.1ml into the pinea of the ear. Much easier than trying to pill them.
 
hmm, interesting on the AB.

Perhaps you want to decrease the 1.75u then - say back to 1.5u and see if that gives you numbers you feel ok shooting twice a day. Just a thought - it's up to you.
 
I"m not sure what to do. 2 days of 1u and he's the lowest he's been consistently. This same thing happened to Doodle and then he got sick. UGH!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top