12/15 Buddha pm bg +13 42

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Last condo 11/12

I haven't updated my spreadsheet today. I'll get to that in a minute. PM BG at +12 was 49. I held off feeding and tested again at +13. BG at +13 is 42.

I don't want to skip tonight's shot, and I don't want to be an hour or two off schedule tomorrow. Can I give a 1/2 dose tonight and return to normal time tomorrow (assuming a that we'll probably seee bgs in the 3 or 4 hundreds by amps?) Do I have any good choices at this point?

I've got a cat to feed, groceries to bring in, and then I'll check back and get that ss updated for today. AMPS were around 330 and +2 was 268ish. I'll be more precise in a few.

Thanks!
 
Re: 12/15 Buddha pm bg +13 42 -- advice please

Donna, if you can't stall, then you can't shoot. You just can't shoot a 42....even a half dose. Especially a dropping 42. You will either need to skip the shot, or stall and be off schedule and work your way back a little at a time.

Even if you stall for half an hour, and Buddha rises enough to shoot then, AND he bounces, you will only be able to move the shot back by an hour, so you will not be back on schedule tomorrow.

If you are going to stall, I would give him a tsp of LC food now, you need to feed a dropping 40 a bit.
 
Thanks Laurie. Grrrrr. This always happens. And I almost anticipated it. Buddha's been bugging me for food for a few hours. I meant to get in another afternoon test and let him have a snack but with one thing or another the time slipped away and I decided to wait til pmps.

Would he have been better off with an afternoon snack? I need to learn the pattern and head off these low pmps numbers.
 
Re: 12/15 Buddha pm bg +13 42 -- advice please

I try not to feed after +6, except when I know he is having a slidage cycle (numbers decreasing throughout the cycle). If you are testing and see him continuing to slide down, then a snack by +10 may help to head off the low PMPS.
 
Re: 12/15 Buddha pm bg +13 42 -- advice please

I try to feed at the 2hr cutoff - I don't see the point in taking food away for several hours because small evenly spaced meals and snacks may give you better and level numbers. Giving a snack at +10 is still within the rules and it may be just enough to calm down the cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top