12-15-19 Salem PMPS 101

Why has it dropped so much in two hours ? I tested twice to make sure it was right ? Got 68 and 65 so i guess its right ?
 
Last edited:
I gave him more food when i saw 68 low carb food. I make sure he has food all day to eat when he wants except those two hours before shooting .
 
I'm trying to understand why you reduced in the first place? He did not go under 50 . You are doing TR and using a human meter so you would wait till under 50 to reduce.

Awesome that he is still in some greens after the reduction. It could be that he is still under the influence of the 2 unit dose since this is only cycle 3 after the reduction. It can take 4 cycles for the depot to drain some from the higher dose.

If he continues to hit the greens after tonight's cycle, I would say Yippee and that the reduction was successful! And that he is starting to require less insulin. But, if he starts to trend upwards after tonight's cycle, I would take him back to the 2 units.
 
He was going under and close to 50 he was food influenced i keep him from going under 50 . He was just out of the hospital i didnt want him to have to go back . Hes dka he can not skip his insulin . The real numbers without food influence was under 50 . This is why i reduced he keep doing this for several days .he was at two units for over ten cycles .
 
:rolleyes:I was having to fed high carb food constantly to keep him from going under so much that i decided its time to reduce its food influence i had to buy hc food so much to keep him from going under that i decided it was safer to reduce now . The hc food was at a point it wasnt bringing him up that much . He was still in low blues with hc food fed all day . i rechecked the sticky notes and i was following in all the rules to reduce that it just made sense to reduce instead of constantly worrying about him going into a comma or having to worry about not giving insulin which i was told do not skip his insulin . Hes preshot numbers had gotten low enough that i didnt want to risk anything . I test alot on a regular bases cause i worry so much i was using over 100 strips in one week close to 200 . It all just made sense to reduce ? :oops::smuggrin::rolleyes::)
 
Last edited:
Tina, I think you're going to have to hold off on that HC food...you're there with him and you're testing...if he goes under, then he truly earns a reduction.

At some point you're going to have to try letting him - with close supervision - surf along without feeding him those HC foods. Better to know what he's going to do while you're home and closely monitoring than for him to push through sometime when you're not.

I applaud your testing - but I think it's time to loosen the reigns a little and let's see what he's trying to do.

If you're concerned about the number of strips - you could look into the OneDrop system - I order 300 strips at a time - and they are unlimited for $49.95 a month - I never worry about how many strips I'm going thru...I used to be terrified that I was going to run out and would go back to the store anytime I had less than 200 on hand...I felt like that's all I ever did...run to the store...

He's actually looking quite fabulous today - surfing those nice green numbers!
 
Yeah i know it just worries me to death to see him go under 50 .. i know i will try to stop the hc food lol i just dnt want to see him get sick again like he did before he went to the hospital , he was terrible . If i hold off say he goes under 50 say i see 40 i will then hit the hc food . I Just get nervous if he does hit 40 what if hes hit 40 and i didnt see it in time enough and he goes down thats what bothers me . I guess when they go under 50 it takes awhile for them to go down right ?
 
Looking great up to 101 pmps no hc food since amps at 11am +4=58 only gave 2 tsbs.
No more hc food only if he hits under 50 mgs . Letting him do it on his own to see how he holds out but will be watching closely to catch early . I checked out the one drop website looks very nice and make lots of sense ti not run our of strips . Im paying already $37 for 200 strips .
 
Hes holding Pretty good on his own . Just got a little low so i gave him the hc food so he wouldnt go under 50 . i know mommie needs to not hold hes paws so much now and let him fly on his own ... ;)
im learning to let go .... its hard . Lol just like my daughter my oldest got married august 31 this year it was hard to let go i wanted and knew she needed to go but it was hard ... :(
 
Does anyone else around here have spouses or others that tell you you are watching your cat too much !! I cnt get people around here to understand what it is im doing to help salem ! They think i should give him his insulin and test him maybe a few times a day . Say maybe 4 times a day ! I know im testing probably a little too much but they think im should give him his shot and maybe test him once in the morning maybe twice in the evening . They think im stupid setting my alarm to check i him at night while we sleep . They are telling me im going crazy im making it too hard ! Hes ok tina leave the cat alone ! You worry too much! your mamas abscessing so much about that cat that shes setting alarms to check him in the middle of the night while she should be sleeping ! They dnt understand what im doing ? They think im crazy ! Hes gained almost all his weight back hes sugar is starting to hold its own where it needs to be they dnt understand the process to teaching his body to get use to the insulin and hold its own . And figuring out his dosage?
 
Does anyone else around here have spouses or others that tell you you are watching your cat too much !!
My husband just says there's no way he could do it. But, the think is you love Salem and IMO it doesn't matter what anyone thinks. I love Blackie and can and will do anything in my power to help . And that's exactly what you're doing . :bighug:
 
Thanks ! Thats what im trying to tell them but they keep saying im abscessing about it . Salem almost died with dka . I might not have him but 1-5 more years with him and i keep thinking about that night they tried to tell me to prepare myself he might not make it over night . It devastated me ! I cried so hard i wanted to die too ! Hes such a sweet kitty hes been there for me when i had 7-9 weeks in the bed hurting after my back surgery he knew i went thru hell ... he was there for me laying by my side the whole time . Im there for him no matter what too !
 
Everytime i learn something new i have to work hard at it . Im not stupid but its harder for me to understand things if i dnt study it . I have to read over the material and study it over a few times to understand it completely . I just try harder too when its really important to me and i know it depends on me to do it right or bad things are going to happen . I cant help it . Its just who i am lol . Salems important to me and hes helpless i got to do what i can ....he depends on me .
 
If a cat eats after a preshot he will go up the first two hours correct? If he doesnt he goes down after the preshot ? Is this correct ? Is this why sometimes he goes up after a preshot and sometimes he doesnt . Is this always true ? And onset is usually +3 after preshot . Or does it sometimes depend if hes balanced ? Trying to understand more about salems data . @Sue and Luci thanks ! @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Or is Salem going up cause hes 4th cycle is coming from the decrease ? Someone mentioned cnt remember who that the 3rd cycle he could be still be in the greens from the 2 units when the depot was draining from the 2 units ? Is the decrease failing ?
 
Tina, I think you're going to have to hold off on that HC food...you're there with him and you're testing...if he goes under, then he truly earns a reduction.

At some point you're going to have to try letting him - with close supervision - surf along without feeding him those HC foods. Better to know what he's going to do while you're home and closely monitoring than for him to push through sometime when you're not.

I applaud your testing - but I think it's time to loosen the reigns a little and let's see what he's trying to do.

If you're concerned about the number of strips - you could look into the OneDrop system - I order 300 strips at a time - and they are unlimited for $49.95 a month - I never worry about how many strips I'm going thru...I used to be terrified that I was going to run out and would go back to the store anytime I had less than 200 on hand...I felt like that's all I ever did...run to the store...

He's actually looking quite fabulous today - surfing those nice green numbers!

i ordered the one drop got it 10 percent off i went and got the unlimited subscription . I like the package they had for a new meter every year but that was the 3 month prescription. So i got the ten percent and they had a bonus you get an extra meter kit for free . Your right it makes sense to never be out of strips plus it looks like its a nice kit with very little blood to test with . Does it put the date and time on the meter on the results i didnt see it on the pictures but imagine with the app that comes with it it probably records the date and time of the test . Thanks for letting me know about it . I saw another sight once that had something like that before but i didnt pay much attention to it .
 
Last edited:
i ordered the one drop got it 10 percent off i went and got the unlimited subscription . I likevthe package they had for a new meter every year but that was the 3 month prescription. So i got the ten percent and they had a bonus you get an extra meter kit for free . Your right it makes sense to never be out of strips plus it looks like its a nice kit with very little blood to test with . Does it put the date and time on the meter on the results i didnt see it on the pictures but imagine with the app that comes with it it probably records the date and time of the test . Thanks for letting me know about it . I saw another sight once that had something like that before but i didnt pay much attention to it .
After you test, you remove the strip and you can press the little button on it and it will display all of the previous dates, times and bg results...
 
Back
Top