12/15 12/15 TIKI - PMPS 281, +7 199!!!! BLUE BLUE BLUE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
May have had a bounce this morning. Would I continue to increase his dose by .25 tomorrow? Would that change anything?
 
Re: 12/15 Tiki AMPS 339 (bounce???), +3 272, PMPS 281,

Looks like this morning's high number came in for a quick landing throughout the rest of the day.
 
Re: 12/15 Tiki AMPS 339 (bounce???), +3 272, PMPS 281,

I don't think this was a bounce. There really wasn't a low or a fast drop to have initiated a bounce. Tiki tends to like pink in the morning! (FWIW, the AMPS is often the last number to come down.) Unless there's a surprise this evening, I think you're fine to increase.
 
Re: 12/15 TIKI - PMPS 281, Question re: Traveling with FD

Sorry but is FWIW???

Also just curious about travel and it's effects on blood numbers....I am heading home to MA from DC for the Xmas holiday and will likely also travel from there to VT. Tiki has been a trouper in the past and while not happy about it seems to adjust quickly (I am blessed that he is a very laid back cat, he is even chilled out at the vet's). Should I be on the look out for anything in particular with regards to his numbers while I am traveling? Just curious if anyone else has had to travel with FD as the newest companion while on the road.
 
Re: 12/15 12/15 TIKI - PMPS 281, Question re: Traveling with

Hi Tonya and Tiki,

If Tiki is usually a good traveler, I don't think you have anything to worry about on your trip. On long car trips we give the insulin shot and breakfast as usual the day of the trip. We carry a small cooler for the insulin (wrapped in paper and bubble wrap to keep it from getting too cold from the cold blocks). We also carry another small cooler containing a dish with lid of wet food and put it out for Rusty to eat whenever we make a rest stop (we set the food and a dish of water on a cardboard box lid). We carry the litterbox in the back of the car. Lots of newspaper, plastic bags, paper towels, extra water, etc.
We don't test for bg during the trip, but do a test about an hour after reaching our destination.
Trips tend to raise Rusty's bg for a day or so afterwards, but it always goes back to normal.
Here is a link to traveling and camping with diabetic cats written by Patty (Merlin). It has lots of good info.:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1gMwbpx3Lnrq5KDiKk0lhyQIRZylEmhztYhxZCpNcDqM/edit?hl=en_US

Have a good trip and Happy Holidays,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/15 12/15 TIKI - PMPS 281, Question re: Traveling with

Unbelievable! Tiki would probably be one of those cats too as he is very laid back. ME, however, I have gone camping ONCE and that was one too many times. Now my idea of camping is staying at a Motel 6 and sleeping next to an open window! LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top