12/14 Zeus AMPS 87 +5.75 334 PMPS 296

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
12/13 Condo

Wow, when I got up for a +8 last night, Zeus was in the blues. I didn't think he would go much lower, but he still went down more than 100 points in the last 4 hours. Now I don't know if I should shoot this morning or not. I have a busy day at work, not sure if i will be able to sneak out for a test until lunch time which is +7. Stalling... He wants his breffis. He is giving me "the look"
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69... Wow... Stalling

+30 min 64... I don't know what to do... I don't want to skip a shot, bot not comfortable shooting this low when I am not here to monitor.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Kathie,
Wish i could help. Dyana is out walking J.D. otherwise i'm sure she'd be here for you. Hang in there. (congrats on the green tho)
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I would feed him up before you leave (if you can) to avoid another 33 or something.

I don't see this shot having any bearing on todays (before lunch) numbers one way or the other since it's Levemir.

I would shoot it, but if you are not comfortable I can totally see that.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Thanks Mary,

I am hanging in there... Zeus is not happy with the extra tests and no breffis yet. We are an hour late now, and still sliding a bit. I did shoot into an 83 and a 90, and Zeus went down to 57 on the 90 and then 33 on the 83. But I was here to monitor... But, it was at 1.75 not the 1.5 that I am giving now. Still not comfortable shooting this low.

I don't like these mornings. :cry:
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Dale, should I give HC? Is that what you mean by feed him up?
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

If that is what it normally takes.

If you can get him up to 75 or 80 before you leave he should be fine.

Perhaps the HC + LC like you did the other times.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

When I am worried when I have to leave for the day, I leave out lots of bowls of food in all the places I know my cat hangs out (including on top of my bed :roll: ), and I might leave out some topping on some and a little MC or HC doppled on top. How are you doing? He seems to be surfing.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Still sliding... 53 at +13.25. I just fed him a mix of LC & HC and will test again in 15 min
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I totally agree with Dyana, I would leave out plenty of food no matter what.

Even if you skip, today's surf is likely already baked in the mix.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

If you already fed him, then the next test will be influenced by the food, and you won't know whether he would still be going down without food or not.

Next time you stall, please remember to stall the food, too.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I have to leave, I'm sorry. Now that you fed, you will not know whether Zeus would still be going down without food.
Normally, we do not recommend both stalling and a BCS all in the same cycle, but since we are now faced with the unknown, I would give a BCS of whatever you are comfortable with shooting, and leave out extra food, and get as many tests in as you can.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I know (on stalling the food too, i mean) but I have to leave for work in a few minutes. Up to 61... He only started eating about 15 min ago.
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

How long til you leave? I would give a BCS shot also but up to you. Definetly leave out a bunch of food, what time can you come home and test?
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I would shoot the full shot since it's Levemir but that's just me.

You stopped the slide, he should be fine until lunch if you leave out plenty of food
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

I am out the door... Just tested again 87. I gave a shot of 1.25ish. Have left out extra foods, But Zeus isn't waiting. He has already cleaned his dish, and Smokeys, and has sampled the others as well. He is a happy purry boy, totally unaware that he is giving his momma a breakdown.

Thanks so much everyone, you all rock! You are just so wonderful, words can't express how much I appreciate your help, and the patience, words of advice, etc.

Will post again later, thanks again. HUGS. Hope you all have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Woo hoo nice going on the shot! I am sure Zeus will be fine! Relax and try to have a good day at work. Will be looking for your update later! Go girl!!!
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Great job Kathie.

Sounds like Zeus is enjoying it now.

We will await the lunch report. :smile:
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 69 Stalling +30 min 64 +45 min 62

Nice job Kathie - those stressful morning are really hard, especially when you are doing it yourself! Be a good boy Zeus and surf - good on eating the fuds!
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 87

I did sneak out today for a +3 = 262... Can't do it every day, and probably shouldn't have today either but I was worried.... Good thing i live really close to work. And now it is lunch time, approx +5.75 = 334. Zeus ate really well today, he loved the HC drops, and made sure to sample each dish while I was gone. I will be surprised if he is hungry tonight... And I will expect to see a red... But Zeus if you want to do the opposite, I am ok with that ;-)

Thanks again to everyone for stopping by today. I greatly appreciate it! Will post again later tonight. Maybe Zeus will behave this afternoon. :lol:
 
Re: 12/14 Zeus AMPS 87 +5.75 334

Hi everyone... 296 at PMPS. Woo hoo, happy dance! :dizcat I had expected to see a much higher number (antijinx) with the low numbers and the HC food this morning. Definitely ok with this yellow :smile: hopefully Zeus will stay here or maybe decide to come down into the blues overnight.

Even with the extra food today, Zeus was still ready to eat at the normal time tonight.... Who said animals can't tell time? :lol: he was so not happy when I made him wait since I had to wait on his shot. We were an hour and 1/2 late this morning, now I have to work it backwards - so glad that it's the weekend. :smile:

Hope everyone is having a great night. Hugs, prayers and healing vines to all,
Kathie
 
Hi Kathie,

Just catching up on Zeus' day!! Good job. It's always difficult to know just what to do, because circumstances change. FD can be totally unpredictable. I agree with Dale that you could have given your shot at the usual time. Lev. takes 4 hours or so to "kick in". But since you were not able to be home, you played it very safe.
Not such a bad bounce!! Have a good evening and a fine weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Kathie, you did a really good job this morning with Zeus, considering the stress levels!

I feel so very fortunate to work at home, and don't know how people with hour-long commutes each way deal with FD cats, when they can't "pop in" during the day to test. You are so lucky you could pop in today and test Zeus! Even though I work at home, I get so engrossed in my work that I forget to test. Or I'm so exhausted at night due to tight deadlines and life in general, I can't wake up and test as often as I would like.

Question for you, considering all of Zeus' high numbers. Could he be getting into Smokey's kibble more often than you know about?

I have two cats and one dog. Both cats were taken off of dry food the minute I found out that Pumbaa had FD. About a month later, I stopped feeding Beck (the drooler) kibble, so that I wouldn't have to take her food away if she hadn't finished, and didn't have to worry that Pumbaa would get into Beck's dry food. By changing Beck's diet from kibble as well, she has lost necessary extra poundage, is more active again, and doesn't show any more signs of arthritis, even though she is nearing 11 years old.

Major changes in my house after Pumbaa was diagnosed, that's for sure!

If only I was eating as healthily as my animals, I might have dropped some excess poundage, too! :roll:

Suze
 
Hey Kathie,
Nice day for Zeus! I'm glad he got to eat all those yummy fuds and still a nice yellow pmps! YEAH ZEUS.. you are THE MAN!!!
have a good night...see you in the a.m.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Pumbaa said:
Question for you, considering all of Zeus' high numbers. Could he be getting into Smokey's kibble more often than you know about?

Short answer - Yes. Please don't beat me up about this, I struggle with it, but I do the best that I can for both Zeus and Smokey.

Smokey is a funny, stubborn old girl. I inherited her a couple of years ago, she was my Aunt's cat, and very set in her ways. She is 16+ and was always free fed dry all of her life, never liked the wet food, except for the gravy - but only the gravy, she won't eat the bits of food in it. When Zeus was dx, I tried really hard to switch her over to wet food, but she wasn't having it. She had always been a little overweight, and started to lose some.... and then too much. Nothing that I did worked for her. She was stubborn and would only drink the juice from the wet food (I added water to the pate to make it soupy/gravy like). And then she started having some health issues - a heart murmur, which is getting worse on the scale, and just recently hyper-T.

The good news is that I don't leave a bowl of food out. Smokey eats kibble from a treat ball that she has to push around to get the kibble out. Given the choice, she will go to the treat ball to eat versus a bowl of the kibble. She also won't eat a whole lot at one time, so even if I give her only the bowl, she'll eat a bite or two and that's it. She is more of a grazer. The good thing is that Zeus doesn't play with ANY toys, so I knew he wouldn't push it to get the kibble. Anyway, She usually eats all of the pieces (I know this only from my experience with watching it at night and on the weekends... who knows what she does when I'm at work), but I do occasionally find a stray piece here or there.... so is he eating some if I'm finding the stray pieces? Could there be more that I don't find that he does? Probably. I have thought about setting up a spy cam/nanny cam to see what happens during the day when I'm not here. What can I do? I have to work and Smokey has to eat too. But, when Smokey's time comes (I'm not hoping for it to happen any time soon), I won't have any dry food in the house either.
 
Kathie:

No beating up from me! You tried with Smokey, but you've got to do what you've got to do so she still gets her nourishment. I think the treat ball for her dry food was a wonderful idea, instead of leaving food out in a bowl! Very smart thinking! :thumbup

I consider myself very, very lucky that my animals were easy to transition off of dry food. I think it's partly because the cats always saw their canned food in the morning as a treat, and then just ate the dry food the rest of the day because that is what was out there for them. Mine probably would have preferred all canned food from day one, but the dry food was so much more convenient to leave out, a trap that most of us fell into.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top