12/14 Willie AMPS 354, PMPS 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

That's more like it. Yesterday's 501 had me more than a little nervous, but it seems like it was either off (I really hate this 20% business) or something. We're going to the vet on Friday to have Willie's skin checked and to discuss his numbers. At that point, he'll have been on the juice for 10 days. I'm going to talk to the vet about upping his dose at that point. This weekend is the last weekend I'll be able to get a meaningful curve for awhile. We are traveling to my parents for Christmas, which is 5+ hours in the car each way. Willie does NOT like cars! Which means his numbers will likely be high that day. If he's in his usual range, I may try a curve Saturday or Sunday, but it will depend on if we're just hanging around or not. Right now, I'm driving back Sunday afternoon or Monday morning depending on the weather and what plans my mom's made.

The following weekend, I'm out of town from Thursday morning to Sunday night. I have thankfully found a sitter that is very experienced with diabetic kitties and who will be able to do his testing and insulin. But they are just coming by twice a day. I may see if my sister can come by and just do an ear prick or two on him (I need her to learn for emergencies anyway), but I know she's not up for doing a curve.

Things are continuing to go like clock work. I think I even heard a bit of a purr last night when doing his earprick, though Willie says I was just confused. LOL

We did have a milestone yesterday... he pooed in the litter box for the first time in forever! you have NO idea how excited I was. I've switched him over to the precious cat senior litter with some litter attract put in every day. It is definitely working. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that though the litter is definitely pricey, it appears that a single bag is going to last me much longer than a bag of pine, so I should end up saving money. Which, given all the other costs (running to walmart over lunch today to pick up some half unit syringes for any future dosage changes), is definitely welcome.

Hope everyone is having a good Tuesday!

ETA: I know he'll probably be fluctuating a lot as we get started, but seeing his numbers go down sure makes me happy.
 
WOW! Poo in the litter box is certainly worth a dance :-D dancing_cat
Milestone indeed !

I bet it means he is feeling better on his insulin -- especially when you add in the purr (even if he doesn't want to cop to it ) :-D

Fantastic WCR

as for those numbers...... let's see tomorrow(wed) is day 9. Definitely looks like it's time to increase his dose.
1u. is not going to do the trick. You'll get there--- and those 1/2 u marked syringes will sure help.
Can you get more +6 BG checks? Since we don't have numbers at his nadir, it is hard to say how much to increase via the lantus protocol. Full curves are great. But right now finding his nadir ( usu bwt +6-+8) is key. I would try to focus on getting more tests during that time period.

( oh and I offer a tip -- you don't have to curve all in one day. you can do it over a weekend and get the numbers over a couple/few cycles )
Have you read all the stickies at the top of the page?

oh time for more Poo in the box dancing dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
Winnie had constipation issues and I certainly appreciate a good LB day :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top